We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and modest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Restaurant

Tulip Restaurant
Trida Kpt. Jarose 10, Brno 60200, Czech Republic
+420 773 302 021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 651 Restaurants in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
BRNO
Level Contributor
240 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Modern and modest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Enter, go downstairs and sit down. Disciplined staff explaines what could be interesting and they do not forget to mention wide selection of wines. Every week they promote a selected menu for a reasonable price. Tulip can be a pleasant surprice not only for those who like gardening.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tulip Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

One of the best restaurants in Brno. Attractively designed cellar in interesting park-filled area in the north of the city. Great service and good selection of Moravian wine. Good value for what you get.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had recommendation from Hotel Arte, and to be honest, was super choice. Food was tasty and the staff was more than helpful. Big plus.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food and good service in Brno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by the nearby Hotel Europa. Slightly skeptical initially, we were won over by the very friendly and efficient staff, and again by the extremely good food, expertly and efficiently served. The style, judging by our visits, is Italian with other influences, amply augmented by local wines and beer. Well worth a visit, and we shall certainly go again when in Brno!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Great Service, Amazingly Affordable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Having found this restaurant on trip advisor, we thought we knew what to expect. However, it was MUCH better than we could have ever imagined.

The staff was VERY friendly (George was our waiter) and spoke English and there was even an English Menu. He suggested a great red wine (they only had local wines which made it even better).

We divided a starter (gnocchi) and it was great! (my wife and I were raised in Italy and both cook, so we have high standards for our italian food, and it was still great!)

Then the best part of the meal! We both ordered steak. I had a pork steak with dumplings and a sweet barbecue style sauce. Simply amazing! My wife ordered the Bull Steak and they even flambe'd it right in front of us. It was served on a glass plate giving it a very fancy look. They used a Porto to marinate it in the Flambe' and she said it "Was the best steak I have ever had in my entire life!" I also couldn't resist tasting it, and yes, it was simply fantastic.

Then since it was my wife's birthday, the two waiters were so nice to arrange a slice of chocolate fondant' cake with a candle on it. They even sung happy birthday to her as well. Very friendly staff, environment, and decor.

We would actually come back to Brno just to eat at the Tulip. It was a 30 second walk from our hotel and the best of all was that the entire meal only cost us a little over 55 Euro! This was including 1 bottle of wine (not the cheapest one on the menu either), one starter, two main courses (we both had steaks, and my wife one of the most expenisve ones on the menu) a bottle of water, and a desert.

You will not be let disapointed in the quality and freshness of this food. I would highly recommend it and I really hope the ratings of this restaurant get higher than it is, because it truly deserves it. It was absolutely the highlight of our trip in Brno!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulip Restaurant also viewed

Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 

Been to Tulip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.