We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Brno Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Brno Palace to your Saves list
Barcelo Brno Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Silingrovo Namesti 2, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City experience
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Brno
Nottinghamshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this amazing hotel whilst I was away on business. The hotel is right in the heart of the city and its amenities were more than adequate. The spa looked amazing even though I didn't get to try it out. The breakfast was of a very good standard as was the room I slept in. The tram outside the window never made me stir from my sleep so overall I can say it was a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    87
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
38
117
10
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Barcelo Brno Palace last week on a stopover between Prague and Vienna on June 1, 2013. We chose a junior suite and were given room 215. The room had been recently renovated and everything appeared relatively new. To enter the room you needed to use the electronic key and then give a sharp shoulder shove to get the door to open. The room was large, well decorated and looked very nice. We attempted to get into the bathroom and it was apparent that their very cheap door had experienced significant water damage over time. It had swollen and split all along the bottom and would only open about 18 inches before getting stuck on the floor. The door itself would not close all the way without a good shoulder nudge. Every few minutes the room would shake as room 215 faces the street corner where trolleys pass often. They run less often at night but there is still significant road noise heard in this room.

A week prior to coming to the hotel, I had booked a reservation at the hotel's Palazzo Restaurant for 7:00 p.m. the night we arrived. I received an email confirmation from the manager and quite looked forward to the dinner as TripAdvisor rated the restaurant very highly. At the appointed time we headed for dinner and were told that they were closed until 8:00 or maybe 8:30 as they had hosted a wedding party that afternoon. It was a cold and rainy Saturday night and we were faced with finding an alternative. The desk clerk phoned around, found another restaurant, gave us umbrellas and sent us on our way.

I know that both the hotel and restaurant are very highly rated by TripAdvisor readers, but based on our experience I would not recommend the town, the hotel or the Palazzo Restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The building is beautiful, the ambiance touches you when you enter: modern, but still relaxing. The standard room was nothing special, clean comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, also Spanish cuts.
I stayed one night only, but definitely would go back again.

Room Tip: try to prevent the rooms facing to the tram-line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for 4 days at this location in the 1st week of May. Everything from the external decor to the room is top class!

The breakfast served was fantastic, and so was the hotel crew. The hotel itself is a bit pricy for Brno, but the money is well spent. If you stayed here, you definitely wouldn't regret it, with easy access to shops and eating options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wädenswil
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great city hotel within historic walls. The architecture as such is well kept. The rooms are somewhat standard but certainly suitable for one or two nights. It is located in walking distance to a number of nearby restaurants. People are dry-friendly but not overwhelming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very beautiful hotel in a former palace from the late 19th century. Nice rooms. Perfect service. Very friendly staff. Don't get put off by the brothel-style furniture in the lobby, the rooms are MUCH better. The breakfast buffet is of a high standard, but could definitely be better.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This really is a fabulous hotel. The foyer atrium is a work of art in itself -- the four very tall walls have been given a glass roof, and the loftiness of the space is offset by wondrous oversized sliver, black, white and gold furnishings and lighting. Our split-level room was amazing, too, with huge arches defining the space and a colour scheme that matched that of the foyer. The bed was very comfortable and there was a good shower room, with an extractor system that was powerful enough to demist the shaving mirror even while the shower was in use. The staff were friendly, professional and attentive to the smallest thing. The fresh mint tea was delicious, and breakfasts were excellent, with every taste and food preference catered for including gluten-free bread.

But we had a couple of niggles. One was that although there was a comfortable armchiar in the bedroom, and although there was an electric plug nearby, there was no light anywhere near it, so in order to be able to read, one either had to lie on the bed or go downstairs to the foyer. We eventually manhandled the heavy armchair over to the opposite side of the room where there was a standard lamp, having tried (and failed) to move the standard lamp over to the armchair (possible, but then the flex wouldn't reach the plug)..............We mentioned this to the staff at reception and they said it was a design fault common to all bedrooms. But if this problem is common to all the bedroooms, why not try to do something about it?

Our other niggle was the restaurant, where the a la carte menu for two people -- a starter, a main course and a bottle of one of the cheapest wines available -- came to over £100.00. The food was boring and mediocre, the plates and food cold, and the perfectly friendly staff apparently more intent on having a (very audible and prolonged) laugh in the kitchen than paying attention to diners. We mentioned this to the staff at reception, and to do them credit, they were shocked.

So on balance, a fine hotel and you will have a very comfortable stay there. But don't expect to be able to read in comfort -- and you'll probably eat better somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Brno Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Brno Palace

Address: Silingrovo Namesti 2, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Brno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Brno Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Barceló Brno Palace**** Superior is ideally located in the city centre of Brno, the capital of the South Moravian Region. All major sightseeing attractions like fortress of Špilberk castle, Cathedral of Sts. Peter and Paul, City Hall, Náměstí Svobody and Zelný trh are withing a walking distance. The hotel has in total 119 luxury rooms, all af them with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, minibar, safety box and bathroom amenities. All hotel guests have also free access to our fitness and sauna. You can enjoy some culinary delights either in our a la carte Pallazzo restaurant or Lobby bar B-Lounge. Building of hotel Barceló Brno Palace**** Superior was built in the middle of 19ᵗʰ century according to the designs of architect Franz Fröhlich. The original concept was to create a residential building with different sized rooms and a sophisticated system of staircases. The palatial façade contrasts with the Romantic style of the interior design which makes it an ideal choice whether visiting Brno for business or leisure. The strategic geographic position within Central Europe offers an easy transport accesibility from Brno and Wiena International airports and highways. You are just five minutes by car from Brno´s International Trade Fairs and exhibitions (BVV), or Villa Tugendhat which is inscribed on the UNESCO. Brno is also an important centre for industry and business and we will be pleased to host your event at our hotel. You are also just few minutes away from your meetings at offices of companies like Honeywell, Siemens, Alstom, ABB, TYCO and many others. City of Brno is considered to be a great place to share knowledge and wisdom in well known universities such as Masaryk University, Brno University of Technology and Mendel University in Brno. Each year, the Brno Racing Circuit hosts a MotoGP Grand Prix of the Czech republic as a part of FIM Road Racing World Championship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Brno Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comsa Brno Palace Hotel Brno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Brno Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.