We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms have A/C? Really?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trida Kpt Jarose 27, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 55 hotels in Brno
DFW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rooms have A/C? Really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My A/C unit wasn't blowing cold air, so I asked to have it examined. On my return later in the afternoon, the situation had been "fixed" by blocking the window open with a towel. I asked for a different room and was told that "they were all like that."

Other than that, the hotel is actually a step above the typical, cramped three-star hotels found in many parts of the continent. The rooms are larger, more stylish, and cleaner than many. Good breakfast.

I could be tempted to give this property a 4-rating (very good), but not in warm weather!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    72
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
63
21
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Surly reception at check in.

A/c broken on 83 degree day.

Very clean, but small "superior" room.

Noisy bathroom fan than turns on and of when it wants to.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gradivo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Really a lovely hotel, immaculately clean, with large French windows that open onto the tree-lined street. The building and rooms are much nicer than the art on the walls, which is pretty awful. Comfortable bed, high ceilings, free wifi, elevator. Breakfast is ample with a mix of fresh baked goods, hot food and fresh fruit. There are several pleasant open air restaurants on this street that make for a convenient dinner and a beer after a long day of sightseeing. As other posters have said, it's a ten minute walk to the center, but even better, it's a 15 minute walk to Villa Tugendhat, the absolute must-see in Brno.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a two night stay here. Overall the place is nice although we didnt see much art there. The room we had was 103 and was a very pleasant room with a nice bathroom, high ceilings, comfy bed etc They were good when we asked for more pillows and an extra sheet and the bedding was replaced after our first night. The place was only around a 7 minute walk from the centre so we never used the tram system during our stay.
One gripe would be that the cafe area in the lobby is reguarly smoked in (probably by staff) and that you had to smell smoke each time you left or arrived.
Otherwise this place is perfectly nice.

Room Tip: Room 103 was a good room with nice views over the street and not the car park which other people had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_europa_staff, Staff of hotel EUROPA at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for spending your time to write your lovely review.
It is always nice to read something like this.

We are pleased to welcome you again and we hope you will be satisfied to continue.

Best regards

Staff of hotel EUROPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stopped for two nights in the Europa as a couple - 18th & 19th April 2012.
When we booked we asked the hotel if they could organize a taxi transfer - they said no - but that there were plenty of taxis at the airport - this seemed to sum up the lack of care at the Europa - we took the bus from the airport - was very easy!
The room was on the fourth floor with no proper windows - only velux rooflights - you had to stand on the bed to close the blinds! - and very noisy when it rained!
Room was very clean and spacious - bathroom was a let down - the bath wasn't wide enough to lay down in - and the shower head was on a hook only 12inches above the bath - so no use as a shower!
Breakfast was good!
Overall poor - would I return - nope!

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor only have rooflights - no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_europa_staff, Staff of hotel EUROPA at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear guests,
thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are sorry that our hotel did not suit you well. About the taxi it must have been misunderstanding because hotel's reception usually gets the taxi for guests. About the room equipment we try to comply with guest’s wishes. You can put your request to your reservation or ask our staff directly in the hotel.
Just in case you change your mind, please let us know your requests at your reservation.

Best regards

Staff of hotel Europa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. The Hotel is in a convenient location just a 15 minute walk from the main centre squares. We could not fault the hotel itself, the room we were given was excellent as was the bathroom. However, we could only use the bathroom for half of our stay as the Hotel hot water system failed. No showers for 2 days and no attempts by staff to at least enquire as to whether we were coping. Complete indifference of attitude to this problem by most of the staff - seems that there were no plumbers in Brno, we finally got hot water the night before we checked out.

Breakfast was the usual kind - buffet style and was fine, the same every day though - scrambled eggs would have been nice. One problem was you had to listen to Abba's Greatest Hits constantly, EVERY morning. Can I suggest maybe some Erk Satie piano such as Gymnopedie can be very relaxing first thing rather than Mama Mia or Money Money Money!

Friendly staff, but customer relations could be better (see Hot Water issue). Through Hotels.Com with whom we booked, we have received an apology and eventually a resolution (thankyou and the reason for 3 stars rather than 2). Had it not been for our problem I would have given 4 rating - very good. It was a nice Hotel, strangely deserted which may unfortunately expain why nobody tried to fix the water, (have I mentioned this?)

Come on Europa - this is 2012, what would Vaclav Havel have said?

Room Tip: Enquire as to whether hot water is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_europa_staff, Staff of hotel EUROPA at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you for writing a nice review of our hotel. We appreciate it very much in spite of the part of critical meaning. We understand your unpleasant situation and please accept our apology again. We had a complicated breakdown in our hotel system providing of water. In spite of our great efforts we were not able to replace a main component, the pump, during weekend. We have solved the problem immediately in the Monday.

One more thank you and maybe next time in our hotel under better circumstances.

Best regards

Staff of hotel EUROPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Brno is not all that interesting and I ended up here for just one night, you know they say the best thing about Brno is the road to Prague...that's true. The hotel was fine, they allow smoking in the lobby....CZ is like America was in the 70's....smoking is still OK in many places. Anyway the hotel had a vibe that was trying to be boutique Euro chic, but the rooms said Super 8 Omaha.

Staff was kind and helpful, they seemed genuinely interested in helping. Room was very clean and had interesting skylights. Also this hotel has a very bizarre art collection, there was a picture of what looked like a murder scene outside my room, with the lights that didn't turn on until you step into the hallway I did not appreciate this. I got up too late to have a shot at breakfast and they called me a cab to the train station, I was very happy to get on my way to Vienna!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_europa_staff, Staff of hotel Europa at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing several words about our hotel. We really appreciate it very much.
Hope your journey was good and we may see you again for one or two nights in our hotel.

Staff of hotel Europa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Trida Kpt Jarose 27, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 hotels in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Europa was opened in 2009 and provides its guests with 15 private internal parking lots and 45 spacious rooms divided over 4 floors of a wonderful building in the art Nouveau style. Every room of the hotel is peaceful, bright and equipped with all the amenities to satisfy the modern traveler's every need: high speed internet connection, satellite TV, air conditioning, minibar and telephone service.In 2010, 30 contemporary artists, of Czech and Italian nationality, were invited to enjoy the experience of cohabitation inside the hotel and reflect upon the subject of hospitality. As a result, the hotel is transformed into a great artwork and becomes a unique meeting point for art and tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.