We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steaks and carpaccio EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Staryho Billa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
U Staryho Billa
Kudelova 7, Brno, Czech Republic
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 635 restaurants in Brno
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best steaks and carpaccio EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are from Prague and we are going to Brno already for almost 10 years to eat in this restaurant.

1.) Service is absolutely perfect - Mr. Zbynek already knows us and I'm always lookin forward to talk to him after some time not coming to Brno. (He is also best in serving Carpaccio)
2.) They have pretty good chef and all steaks are so great! Our favorites are French and Chilli
3.) Their Carpaccio is best I have ever eaten and I am carpaccio maniac. We already brought so many people who didn't know what this is meal is, but when they tried, everyone loved.

I can definitely recommend this restaurant as this is my MOST favorite restaurant ever!

Thank you Bill for making us happy for so many years!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    10
    9
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse in Brno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great steakhouse. A little bit price for locals but considering the quality of the food, the prices are fair. Extensive menu with steaks from USA, Argentina and other countries. One of the best selections of wine, tequila and rum in Brno. Good customer service. The restaurant to go if you are feeling like having a delicious steak.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Better than average quality meals, great reputation for steaks, book in advance, the service may be slower because it's busy there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good steak house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This is a surprisingly good steak house. Great choice of meet and wines, friendly staff, if you like a "country style" restaurant, this is the right place to go. You won´t regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good steak, but for Brno rather high price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I had a nice steak (beef) with herb butter, with some french fries. The steak was really good, made exactly as ordered. French fries also really good, looked like self-cut which I like.
One thing I didn't like: before my visit, I looked at the menu on the restaurant website. The prices in the restaurant where much higher (about +30%) than on the menu on the internet! I don't know if this was done by error, just an old menu, or intentionally...
Not so many people there on Sunday evening. The place is a bit below ground-level, nothing special but also not bad either.
If you stay in the nearby hotel Europe, this restaurant is very close. Not cheap, but good food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Staryho Billa also viewed

Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 

Been to U Staryho Billa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Staryho Billa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.