We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely day in Kromeriz” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gardens and Castle at Kromeriz

Gardens and Castle at Kromeriz
Snemovni Namesti 1, 767 01 , Czech Republic
573 502 011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 538 things to do in Moravia
Attraction details
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A lovely day in Kromeriz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The castle and the gardens were nothing impressive or extremely beautiful. The Flower garden was also under reconstruction and the visit was not as rewarding. But Kromeriz is a beautiful picturesque and the visit is still enjoyable. We had coffee in a cafe next to the Radnice (Town hall). The cafe was called U Radnice I think. The coffee there was delicious (I had a coffee with honey and cinnamon which was very good)!! The ice cream was not good quality.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kvetna zahrada/Floral Grarden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The garden is being reconstructed, so that it is free of charge. The entrance to the roof of the colonnade is a bit hidden - head for the right end. The garden is open throughout the whole year.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great garden, you must spend som hours there. I really recomend everybody to take the sightseeing-train around the park.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRNO
Level Contributor
236 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Have a relax in green culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The city of Kromeriz celebrates 750th anniversary this year, part of the town is mentioned on the list of UNESCO treasures, so why not to see it as the spring is so juicy and vibrant. April loves jokes so we did not get angry as we were told the guided tours in Kvetna Garden – although announced on the web – are not to happen, OK. One of the two greenhouses in the same place is under reconstruction, the other is a skladiště of plants – do not go there. Definitely spend your time in Podzamecka Garden to feel nature forces gently combined with human spirit. Your mind deserve this pleasure and I am sure you will be grateful to those who were ready to
employ architects, technicians and artists to unify their skills and talents to create a breathtaking beauty with philosophical dimension.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, and not over-run with tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was surprised at the dearth of tourists in this pretty town, especially after being in Prague. I was taking in the beautiful views at the castle tower for a good 15 minutes completely alone... it was lovely. Note that there is no elevator to the top -- they even have a little sign that tells you you are about to climb 206 steps :)

The baroque "Pleasure garden" is about a 10 minute walk from the palace (there is signage to direct you there -- look for "kvetna zahrada") and is definitely worth a visit. Make sure you don't miss the postcard views from the colonnade.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardens and Castle at Kromeriz also viewed

Brno, South Moravian Region
 

Been to Gardens and Castle at Kromeriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardens and Castle at Kromeriz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.