We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terezin

Terezin
Komenskeho 411 | 1 hour north of Prague, Terezin, Czech Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$34*
and up
Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour Including...
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Terezin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Unfortunately our tour company did not do this place justice. What we did see was incredibly good and we got a lot of information and background. It was particularly interesting to see the cells that prisoners were kept in. It was easy to imagine what conditions must have been like. Lots of good information in the various parts of the museum. Very informative and well worth half a day out if not more.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    131
    23
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
angmering, sussex, uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Haunting, but something you must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We went there today with our Sandemans guide, Karel. Karel was an excellent Guide, and kept the tone just perfect for the place. We got there by train from Prague, about an hour, then a short bus ride.

We started at the small fortress, which is where political prisoners were held. The place is very harsh, and the solitary confinement cells were very disturbing, as were the execution grounds. After a short walk, we entered the Ghetto, which is weirdly mixed in with the town of Terezin today, and there were houses and shops mixed in amongst the museum areas.

We could have spent much longer looking at the exhibits, including the music, literary and drama areas. The concept of the place gradually sinks in as you read the stories and listen to the Guide telling you the history and details of this strange place.

All in all a very worthwhile visit, and an important thing to do if you are visiting Prague and want to see a piece of recent European history first hand. Thanks Karel, for making our visit extremely informative.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“heartbreaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I'd never even heard of this place before we landed in Prague and it was recommended to us through one of the members of staff at the hotel. It was a really hot day when we went, and like the guide said, it highlighted how hot and unbearable it could be inside the buildings when it was only thirty of us well-spaced out, compared to the hundred or so prisoners that would be expected to share the bunkers. There were horrors on horrors here. One room we were taken in was, we were later told, where Nazi doctors would experiment on prisoners. We were led into another room with these four big, black what looked like ovens, which we were then told was incinerators for when the prisoners died. It's a place that leaves you often choked with emotion and a lot of the time, disbelieving. How could humans do this to one another? How could this happen in the middle of Europe for years without it being disrupted??? It's a very harrowing, sobering experience that really does stay with you but it's worth a visit whether you're into history or not. It shouldn't be something forgotten, and sites like this need to be maintained so it's impossible for them to be forgotten.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
287 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Moving, informative experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Terezin was a transit camp the Nazis used on the route to Aushwitz and other camps. The camp sites are interspersed within a still functioning town. You start at either the small fortress on the edge of town or at the museum which is on the main square. The museum and bunkhouse site are very informative and you learn a lot about the atrocities commited here and in all of Europe by the Nazis. The ticket is not expensive and the sites are very interesting. Although not a happy tour, it is important to visit and I would recommend day tripping here from Prague if you have the time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small, well organized site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Although difficult to review sites such as this, it is a place of atrocities that is worth a visit. The original fortress/later prison Is a relatively small site, well explained by the guides that work there. For those into the history of WWII it is worth the short drive outside Prague. And it was easier to observe and learn because the number taking a tour in English was only about 10. The small town which became a ghetto for Jews is slightly separated from the fortress/prison area, so be sure that either your personal guide or bus tour takes you to it. The Germans called it Theresienstadt and used the site as propaganda, trying to picture the place as just a Jewish settlement town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terezin also viewed

Terezin, Usti nad Labem Region
Terezin, Usti nad Labem Region
 

Been to Terezin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terezin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.