We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Opera

State Opera
Legerova 75 | 110 00 Praha 1, Prague, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
+ 420 296 117 111
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #23 of 1,345 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
163 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We attended an Italian Opera that was playing there. The views are simply spectacular. The acoustics are good. The facility is not very far from the tram stop and good inexpensive restaurants. You can grab a bite and see a good show.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    256
    45
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste Marie Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dont forget your camera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hall was very grand and beautiful. We found the operas are very affordable--unfortunately we didnt decide to go earlier in the week and ended up seeing Mde Butterfly which would not of been our first choice but it was still worth while. We enjoyed the evening. The opera is very easy to get to by subway and we felt quite safe coiming home in the evening----good thing to do.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Old World Opera experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The ticket prices are a real bargain and the production low key. The performers are great although the stage and costume are very basic. There's a tele-prompter that translates into both Czech and English. Access is very easy in and out without too much stress. it's best to pre-arrange a round trip transfer and to buy your tickets at the ticket office in town near the clock tower square to avoid commissions. Credit cards accepted..

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

we went to this building but saw a ballet, not opera. the building is truly stunning and the performance we saw was great. they don't open doors until about 25 mins before the start and there is a small but functional bar inside. def worth a visit

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“WOW.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Not a ballet fan but saw Swan Lake here, the building itself is worth the admission. So beautiful. A real work of art.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Opera also viewed

 

Been to State Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.