We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Svata Klara

Svata Klara
U Trojskeho Zamku 35/9, Prague, Czech Republic
+420 233 540 173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 4,504 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: French, International, European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Taken by Fiance for dinner,Followed traditional fixed price czech menu. Ended up being 7 courses with wine selected for each course to compliment. Meal took over 3 hours and staff fantastic. Worth every penny and the time spent. a remarkable cave with fabulous food and superb service attentive and not intrusive. Would recommend to anyone who like great service and great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    32
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in an unusual setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A wonderful atmosphere if not somewhat off the beaten track but well worth the taxi journey. A great selection of wines - we chose an award winning Merlot to go with our ‘sous-vide’ beef which were both excellent choices. A nice touch was the chef coming out at the end of the meal to meet and chat with us (one of the waiters had to translate) and to give us some of his homemade bonbons. The only slight negative is that we thought the glass of champagne aperitif was very expensive and we didn’t seem to get a full glass, but otherwise no complaints, excellent food and service – in short, a highly recommended restaurant in a very unusual setting and we would definitely go again when next in Prague.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taganrog, Russia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Romantic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place is very romantic and autentic. Its an old cellar now is working as a restaurant and delight visitors. Staff are very classic and complaisant. Food is just teriffic ...not less !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Surely recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Svata Klara is a restaurant in the natural cave located out of the centre about 10 minutes' drive from Wenceslas Square where we had our hotel. It isn’t visible from the road.
Here we celebrated Catholic Christmas in December 2012. We booked a table in advance. As an exception, the restaurant staff kindly consented to assign us a table without any prepayment. Festive dinners in Svata Klara are usually booked with a 50% deposit paid by bank transfer minimum 14 days in advance. We communicated only our contact details and the name of the hotel we booked.
The Christmas dinner was according to a fixed menu of 7 courses (if I'm not mistaken). Drinks weren’t included in the price. A dinner for two with two portions of grappa cost us about 5500 CZK. It isn’t too cheap, but the place is really unusual and worth it. Besides, holiday prices are often too high and this is normal.
Dishes at the dinner were from the category of haute cuisine not similar to what is called the Czech cuisine. We appreciated not all of them. Behind the complexity of the most part of dishes didn’t hide anything special. But maybe (I suppose) other days they have a good traditional Czech menu. We didn’t see their daily menu. As I remember, we liked 3 dishes. 2 main courses and 1 dessert. But, unfortunately, I don’t remember exactly which dishes they were.
There weren’t a lot of guests at Christmas dinner. Contrary to our expectations there were even vacant tables. And it didn’t favour Christmas merriment. But I think this is the concept of the celebrations in this restaurant. I'm just comparing it with New Year's Eve which I celebrated in a restaurant in Milan, where the staff entertained guests and there were toasts and festive fun.
The staff in Svata Klara was very polite. Perhaps only a hostess received us a bit coldly. But in general we were pleased with the service.
We were last guests to leave the restaurant, because we had some problems with a taxi. The waiter named Otakar called us another taxi, which arrived very quickly, and brightened up our time while we were waiting. It was very kind of him, because the restaurant was already closed and he was the only employee. In addition to English, he also spoke Russian quite well.

Despite some minor drawbacks connected with my personal perception, in general the impression of the restaurant is great! It should be surely visited if you are in Prague.

Thanks to the restaurant staff for their friendliness and willingness to help!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The perfect birthday dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is truly a special restaurant in Prague. I was looking for something unique for my friend's 30th birthday, and this was perfect. The setting is very cool, an underground cave with rough walls, all offset with incredibly ornate decor - and it really works. We were seated in a little alcove which had our dining table and also a little couch, which was perfect for relaxing with our after-dinner drinks. Service was impeccable - very much matched the atmosphere of the place, which is to say formal and professional, but with warmth and personality as well. Our lovely hostess checked in on us continually, as well as the helpful manager/sommelier and our charming waiter. To eat, we chose from the a la carte menu. I had the foie gras, King's soup, saddle of red deer, and cheese to finish. My friend had the veal tartare, chicken consommé, lobster tail, and almond cake to finish. Everything was really excellent. I think the standout dishes were the veal tartare (tender, flavorful, and with a really pleasing acidity that made it easy to keep eating it), the Kings soup, the lobster, the deer, and the almond cake. So... almost everything. The sommelier also recommended a wonderfuk Czech wine, very unique and perfectly matched to the meal. Although the restaurant wasn't crowded (I believe it's low season in Prague right now), everything was very fresh, and every detail was spot on. And when it was time for dessert, that brought out the cake with a huge sparkler in it for my friend's birthday. She was surprised and delighted. This was such a nice touch.

We also had the restaurant arrange a car for us, which worked out perfectly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone for a special experience in Prague. I will certainly return again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Svata Klara also viewed

 

Been to Svata Klara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svata Klara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.