We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Kroka

U Kroka
Vratislavova 12 | Praha 2, Prague 12800, Czech Republic
+420 775 905 022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,848 restaurants in Prague
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are non-smoking small family restaurant focused mainly on Czech cuisine. All of our meals are made without any glutamate, dyes, condiments and other preservatives. To flavor dishes we use just salt, pepper and fresh herbs. Come and Taste!
ValinhosSP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We´ve been on U Kroka for on a Tuesday night... It´s kind of hidden, on the skirts of Prague dowtown - not hard to reach, a 15 min walk from Karlovo náměstí metro station on B line (not a big deal except during winter). It´s an adorable place, small and cozy: there was only one table available, and this on low season (table reservation seems recommended). The house offers a small but nice selection Czech food: I had duck with dumplings, and my wife ordered rabbit (both delicious). Service was impecable - friendly, polite and fast (and the waiters speak very good English). I absolutely recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    836
    283
    50
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Ate here twice in two nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

After seeing reviews of TA we found this to be right next to our hotel (The Park Inn) and visited on our first night in Prague.
The starter of mixed sausages was delicious. A great sized starter. The beef Goulash and Rabbit with creamy spinach were superb and all for a great price of less than 500 (this was with two beers).
We enjoyed it so much we returned on our second night. We did not book and so had to wait a short while at the bar (as it was very busy) with drinks but we were more than willing to do so. The place has a great atmosphere with lovely staff and I would highly recommend the duck.

Thank you for the wonderful experience and scrummy local food. 5 stars!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My friend had found good reviews about this restaurant on trip advisor so we decided to go one evening and I'm so glad we did! The staff were very friendly, there was an excellent choice of food on the menu, service was quick and the meal was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Czech cuisine ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Next time my friends from abroad ask me what's the Czech cuisine Like I can simply send them here. No need for explanations anymore. Simply perfect - seasonal menus, great service, incredible atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As advertised! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This will be our first stop next time we are in Prague. The food is high-end restaurant quality, with amazing prices. Family run with a modern touch. Five starts for U Kroka! Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Kroka also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to U Kroka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Kroka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.