We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Botanic

Botanic
Olbrachtova 54, Prague 14000, Czech Republic (Praha 4)
241 440 504
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #333 of 4,242 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Praha 4
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Doesn't matter whether you go there for a lunch and choose from the lunch menu or in the evening and choose À la carte, everything is really good.
I like choice of wine (e.g. Czech (well, Moravian), Austrian or German wines), I also like their menu as it is not long as newspaper. Just a few meals of each "type".
Just once i ordered tuna steak and this should be rare in the middle. It is not my preference, it's just a fact. And this was well done.
Any other visits there were great. Atmosphere is calm, waiters are professionals and sommelier knows his job.
You will enjoy it there!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not overly exciting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was the first place we ate when we arrived in Prague. We got there without a booking and was shown to a table. Being British we are used to everywhere being non smoking now and it was not obvious immediately where the smoking area was in this place. It seemed there was no non smoking area as there were smokers all around us. The food was nicely prepared and cooked but vary salty and fatty. Side vegetables unnecessarily soaked in oil. The waitress didn't understand the word 'Beer' and brought me some fruit juice instead. That was easily rectified. The room is in two levels and it is quite unusually dark inside for a restaurant. More expensive than some of the other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Avoid - overpriced, below-average food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

First visit to this restaurant and it ended up with disappointment.
Construction work was in progress at the entrance during opening hours (quite unusual for this class of restaurant), no one apologized for that. Door were left open so it was rather cold inside. Occassionally we were deafened by pneumatic drill...
This peaceful atmosphere was interrupted by pair of waitresses who came to take an order like 7 times in 20 minutes, felt like in fastfood. Both steaks we ordered as medium but delivered as rare, but that can happen. Potatoes as a side dish were undercooked. Pasta was not tasty as well. Starter was decent though.
The only positives are the interior, which is beautiful and convenient location close to underground station.
We will not return, as this is heavily overpriced restaurant according to our experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzbuhel, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food at reasonable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

eating lunch at the restaurant was a pleasant experience. The food was excellent and the price is reasonable. The service was very pleasant and friendly. Also it meets the requirements for a business lunch that has to be short and good. I can imagine to eat here in the evening as well.I recommend this place for both lunch and dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I'll come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We visited this restaurant for the first time. We didnt expected nothing special. But we were surprised. We expected small portion so we took soups and both was amazing. Tomato soup was like fresh chopped tomato and mashroom soup was so creamy and delicate.
Then we got fresh sandwich on a plate full of potatoe crips and my friend got steak with cheese sauce and potatoes. Maybe just the steak could be more well done but it wasnt big problem for him. And the portion were big. We get out absolutely sated. ;o)
The menu is not full of craps but full of many delicious things and i think the menu depends on a season which is plus for me. It is easy to choice.
Price is not so high and for that money it is very good quality.
Certainly we will come back again.
I found just one disadvantage, the space between the tables is very narrow, but still the place looks chic.;o)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanic also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Botanic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botanic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.