We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food with Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Epoque

La Belle Epoque
Krizovnicka 8, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
+420222321926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,483 of 4,249 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food with Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The place is a little rustic, a little southwest (Arizona). The waiters that we had were excellent and very attentive. The food was great. Will definitely be back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    11
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It´a place to avoid in Prague. Service is excessively fast and your steak is not how you order it.

We went in La Belle Epoque Restaurant with a voucher including a menu. We got 2 glasses of Prosecco. Less than 3mn after, the waitress came with red wine. Then directly with starters. And the best is that we hadn´t start to eat the starter when the main course was on the table.
In less than 15mn, aperitive, wine, starter and main course arrived... Incredible!
Moreover, we have ordered medium steacks and we got well done ones!
For a romantic dinner it was a disaster!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A little quirky, but good steak for the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stumbled upon this place with a colleague on a business trip after trying to get into another(steak) restaurant which had been booked out for a Christmas party.

The (Mexican / Texan) décor was a litte strange for a French-named restaurant, but the service was friendly and we weren't rushed (although the place wasn't exactly packed).

Food-wise, the Caprese salad to start was perfectly serviceable, if not amazing. Similarly, our steaks were generously sized for the price and served with a hearty portion of potatoes with bacon and green beans. The wine list had local and foreign offerings across a range of prices.

All in all: probably somewhere to come with a business colleague / friend if you want a good feed and aren't concerned about fine dining for that special occasion.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praha
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We come here for a good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have been to this place several times over the last few years, this is where we go when we want to eat some pretty good beef. We have always had a great experience here, last night the staff was extremely good but it was the owner working in the restaurant. Unfortunately staff in this town can have a poor attitude to service but we have been well treated her, the meat was perfectly done the way I ordered, drinks came within less than a minute. Almost seems they read the previous review, fired the staff.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the worst experience in Prague”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

i ordered a well done steak with grilled vegetables and green salad.Salad was not clean i asked the waiters to change it,they refused, they said not their fault Waiters are rude and insolent,no manager in the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Epoque also viewed

 

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.