We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel General to your Saves list
Hotel General
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #8 of 662 Hotels in Prague
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful small hotel with beautiful rooms and lovely tasting food. What makes this hotel so amazing is it's staff. All of the staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful. Ibrahim particularly, who serves in the restaurant and the wine bar was extremely friendly. Prague is a beautiful city and we are delighted to have come and when we return again, we will definitely be returning to the Hotel General.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear David O,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the others.
Your kind words towards our hotel staff are the best reward for their hard every day word and we thank you for them.

With best regards for the New Year
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    94
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
125
686
38
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleroi, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

A wonderful hotel with a great character.
From the arrival we were advised and very nicely received with a glass of champaign. With many thanks to Vicky (who speaks perfectly English) and the team who is very attentious (opening doors, carrying luggage,...).
The service in the breakfast/restaurant room was excellent and we would like to thank especially Ibrahim and his team for the 'VIP' treatment :)
The rooms are very spatious and accommodated with luxury equipment (digital tv, beautiful bathroom,...)
Also the cleaning team payed special attention to details (nicely folded towels, a present and a bottle of wine at the last day of our stay)

We really recommend this hotel to all the people who want to spend a great time in Prague.

We had the best vacation ever!

Patrick and Natacha from Belgium.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear PatrickNatacha,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.
It gives us a great pleasure to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With best wishes for the upcoming New Year
Ringaile Radojevic and hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I knew that it was special the time we walked out of our shuttle bus at the front door of Hotel General. The bellhop walked straight to our shuttle bus to help us to carry the luggage. This was certainly expected for a 5-star hotel. What's special was that he looked into the inner of our shuttle bus to make sure we did not leave our cell phones/wallets/other items (we were the last passengers on the shuttle bus and we were the only ones getting off at Hotel General). This shows attention to details and we really appreciated it.

The next - receptionist. The receptionist, who was a lady namely Vicky, was very nice. She always talked with a beautiful smile. Apart from being nice and did the ordinary check-in routine, she asked if it was the first time we came to Prague. We said yes. She then led us to sit down at a table, pulled out a city map, and introduced the city to us. She informed us about the tram numbers which ran between the Hotel and major sightseeing spots. This was enormously useful indeed because although I have found the info about metro on the Internet, info about trams (which was the preferred choice), on the other hand, is not readily available.

The breakfast which was included in the room price, was exceptional. Not only there was a self-served buffet (ordinary stuff) but we could order additional hot dishes from a menu which was indeed delicious. The ham and cheese omelet was the best omelet my wife and I have ever tasted. There was no exaggeration. You should try it. The 2 restaurant crews were very polite and willing to serve.

Truly excellent experience. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Hung L,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting such warm and beautiful review.
Your opinion and comments are very important to us as a guidance for our possible further improvement therefore we are very grateful for all the points that you have mentioned and glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your kind words and wish all the best for the upcoming New Year.

On the behalf of the hotel General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights at General (on Christmas). It was a perfect choice for us. Lovely room, very professional stuff, paying attention to details from the very first minute of our arrrival throughtout the time spent at General. Excellent courtesy of staff at reception, restaurant. All show care.
The hotel is well located, you'll need up to 20 min. of walk time to get to Karlov bridge, very convenient.
I'll recommend General to my friends planning to visit Prague.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Igor F,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you and your family have enjoyed your Christmas stay to the fullest.

With best wishes for the upcoming New Year
Hotel General team and Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We did a great deal of research before deciding to stay at the Hotel General. We knew very few people who had been to Prague so we relied on the Trip Advisor community for the most part.

This hotel turned out to be an excellent choice and after walking around and seeing other hotels in the city we were glad we stayed here.

Prague is on the cusp of becoming (just) another European city and could lose some of its old world charm in the process. My husband and I hope that hotels like this one can keep the culture and the traditions alive and thriving.

1. Very large, quiet and well appointed rooms
2. Exceptional service - the front desk, the dining room, the cleaning staff. A+ every one of them.
3. Atmosphere- yes we were paying tourists but it was really nice to be treated more like guests in a very grand and luxurious establishment. The staff at the Hotel General did an amazing job of making us feel like we were welcome but they did not fawn all over us or make us feel uncomfortable. The hotel staff gave us our space, yet somehow always knew when we needed something.
4. The hotel carries on the traditions of the Czech Republic but we did not feel like it was a show just for us. The ambience felt genuine.
5.Modern conveniences - yes they have strong wifi, lots of plugs, well appointed bathrooms with great water pressure, comfortable beds, and so on. For all my talk of old world charm - when traveling if I can't get things done and/or feel like I am 'doing without' just to fit in- then I am really not that interested.

The location of the hotel is the only potential downside, which some visitors may see as an upside. It is relatively far from the tourist area and although an easy enough/pleasant walk and close to transportation - it may be a consideration for some.

Also the neighborhood ambience is just ok. Hard to describe; but to us it seemed like it is in the middle of trying to figure out what it is. Part local shops (not the quaint kinds more like mini markets aka what we call 7-11 types in the U.S.) and part residential with industrial type apartments. But all we had to was walk a few blocks to the river and the myraid of bridges.

As seasoned travelers we highly recommend the Hotel General!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear kristinehanna,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting such detailed and warm review on our hotel and its services.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that after such long consideration on hotel choice in Prague, you have chosen our hotel and we have proved to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your kind words towards our personnel and detailed description of hotel amenities and hope to welcome you back at the General on your next visit to Prague.

With best wishes for the upcoming New Year
Hotel General team and Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This Hotel is very well kept. The breakfast was very nice and filling with lots of options. The building is older and the rooms are small but that was expected. For My business trip the hotel was only a 5 min walk from my office and about 20 min to the City Center. For a vacation trip i would have wanted to be on the east side of the river but for my business this place was perfect. Bigger rooms and you get a 5 of 5.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Nick B,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
You review is very important to us and we thank you for the all the points you have mentioned and opinion that you have expressed.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The staff all talked with us, very friendly & helpful. We were immediately greeted upon arrival with a staff person offering us cappuccino or whatever, while explaining details of the hotel & neighborhood. The buffet is extremely generous, excellent fresh fruit & vegetables, cereals, cheeses, yogurts, deluxe pastries... And then the choice of an extra dish like French toast, omelette, etc. The neighborhood is quiet, seems safe, but is a bit out of the way of the main goings-on. The rooms are spacious, all facilities upgraded. Watch out for some of the inner rooms on top floor, as the roof slants down & one has to hunch in order to go to or from that side of the bed. An excellent overall experience.

Room Tip: Watch out for some of the inner rooms on top floor, as the roof slants down & one has to hunch i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear scout51,

On the behalf of the General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for posting this review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great pleasure to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With warm regards and best wishes for Christmas and New Year

Hotel General team and Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#14 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#4 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,798 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#10 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#7 Family Hotel in Prague
#8 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#17 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel General, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.