We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay For Us Canadians!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel General to your Saves list
Hotel General
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay For Us Canadians!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Hotel General in Prague was a fabulous place to stay and booking on Trip Advisor will save you a few bucks. You are treated like royalty from the moment we were were picked up at the bus station till we left.

Vicky at the front office was very good at explaining all the hotel amenities and also other aspects of the surrounding area. The location is walking distance to most attractions.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear VEJY1404,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your impressions with the other travelers.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic - DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    92
    11
    0
    4
See reviews for
116
654
37
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend at the Hotel General and we just couldn't fault it. From the time we arrived everything was just perfect. The staff, from the doorman who greeted us, Vicky the receptionist, barman (Ibrahim) who also helped serve us a delicious breakfast, could not do enough to help us.
The bedroom had everything you could wish for, fresh flowers, dressing gown, slippers, hair dryer which all helped to make us feel at home.
The hotel is situated away from the city centre which was fine as it was only a short tram ride into the centre itself. The trams run every few minutes from just around the corner.
There was good local food and drink only a few minutes walk away from the hotel. Would love to return and would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Prague.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear CamelStgang,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were not only to meet your expectations towards the quality of the services but our staff was also able to make your stay in Prague a truly memorable experience.
We thank you for your warm words and hope to welcome you back at the General during your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marston Magna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay. Hotel was excellent, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly and were keen to help in any way they could. It was nice to have a welcome drink and a brief explanation of the main points of interest, together with information leaflets and a map when we first arrived. Being in the business part of the city, it was an easy tram ride into the centre. There was a good selection for breakfast and the coffee was particularly delicious, all served by the very attentive and friendly waiter, Ibrahim, and his colleagues, who also served in the cosy cellar bar. Definitely would stay there again and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear colinmc1960,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Prague and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to see that our hotel team was able to meet your expectations towards the quality of the services and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your review and look forward for your next visit to the lovely city of Prague.

With best regards from the hotel team (incl. the restaurant team)
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have just stayed for three nights - we arrived at 10 30 am and were made very welcome, offered a drink and given lots of useful information by Vicki. Despite the advertised check in being 2pm our rooms were ready - the room was on the top floor and although a little small due to the sloping roof was excellently furnished.

The hotel is a short distance from Old Town and is a 25 minute walk along the riverside to Charles Bridge. Being just outside the main tourist area has advantages including many excellent restaurants nearby offering much better quality and value than many located more centrally.

The breakfasts were excellent with choices cooked to order in addition to the buffet.

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and willing to spend time talking to you and giving advice.

All in all an excellent hotel that offers incredible value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear David C,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for your stay and for taking your time to post this detailed review.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet your expectations towards the quality of the services offered and that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your review once more and hope to welcome you back at the General during your future trips to Prague.

With best regards from the General team
Ringaile Radojevic - DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It started with a perfect welcome, with coffee and a broad explanation of all the sigthseeing in Prague and a wonderfull small map.
The decoration of the hotel and rooms are very cosy and the music outside creates a phantastic atmosfere. The breakfast buffet is very complete and you can order additional, freshly prepared food, like pancakes and scrambled eggs. The staff was very helpful.
The beds are OK, with separate sheets, and double pillows.

The personal 'extra's' provided by the staff makes the stay really perfect and we will defenitely stay again in hotel General when we visit Prague again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Marco V,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Prague and for sharing your impressions with other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your warm and kind words of support and look forward to welcome you back at the General.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It´s our sixth visit to Prague and it is our new favourite of hotel´s in Prague...
It´s would be nice if the hotel would have an own spa and wellness area with a masseur.
The Hotel is appropriate for guests who stay mostly outside. We were thankful to get a room with a bath tub after long long tours during prague city every day...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Martin H,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere warm!
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a lovely hotel outside of the immediate touristy center of town. For us, the location was a plus, as the throngs of tourists were a little overwhelming and the hotel offered a nice respite. We explored the neighboorhood around the hotel, and some areas tend toward the seedier if you wander more than a few blocks away, but we always felt safe around the hotel itself. The decor is "historic", so it is definitely not for you if that's not what you are looking for.

Negatives: bed was soft, rooms were quite small, air conditioning very loud

Positives: service was wonderful, the included breakfast was delicious, the turndown service on our last evening was so sweet and unexpected--complete with complimentary half bottle of wine and swan towels ;)

For me, the positives outweighed the negatives and I would definitely stay here again if I were to visit Prague again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear travelbug199,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

Your review is very important to us as a source of the further possible improvements therefore we highly appreciate all the points that you have mentioned in your review. I would also like to assure you that your comments concerning the beds and air conditioning were passed to the person responsible for the further revision and implementation.

We thank you for your review once more and hope for your next possible visit.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#9 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#12 Family Hotel in Prague
#21 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel General, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.