We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, terrific experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel General to your Saves list
Hotel General
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Svornosti 1143 / 10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #10 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Courtice, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, terrific experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was my third trip to Prague and by far was my best experience with accomodations.

The Hotel General made us feel welcome immediately upon arrival with a welcome drink and a smile. Dasha was exceptionally nice and helpful. She provided us maps and tips on where things were near by. Vicky was the other hostess near the end of our stay and was also very good.

Free slippers and robe in the room too!

The breakfast and food overall was incredible (not your typical eastern european hotel food!). The food was fresh, delicious and made quickly.

The serving staff was also very friendly and knowledgeable. Inparticular Ibrahim and Rommey went above and beyond to make us feel at home. They chatted with us in the beautiful wine bar, were prompt with service and recommended some excellent drink and food combinations. They were one of the highlights of our trip, they love what they do and it shows.

The hotel also arranged the driving service for us, which was timely, safe and convenient. It is close to the city center and all tourist areas. Some great food and drink spots right around the hotel too.

If you are going to Prague do yourself a favor and stay at the Hotel General. It is clean, the rooms are elegant, and the staff is amazing. 11 out of 10. Will absolutely be back.

Thanks to Martin as well who was a big help in organizing our trip from Toronto and making sure everything ran smoothly.

- Andy from Toronto

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor in the General Marshall junior suite. Fantastic room, comfortable beds, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Andy,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you that you have chosen our hotel for your 3rd stay in Prague.
We were delighted to see your nice comments concerning our staff (Dasha, Rommey), rooms and services and moreover we are glad to know that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With warm regards and looking forward for your next visit

Hotel General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    85
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
105
623
35
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is located about twenty minutes walking distance from the Old Town, along the river. It is a very elegant place even though the rooms are not too spacious. The staff is very, very helpful and extremely polite - receptionists, waiters and bellboys. The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfasts are acceptable but, unfortunately the dinner menu is not satisfactory. We would definitely recommend the hotel for a stay but not for dining.

Room Tip: Noise proof windows, quiet AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear aniaandrzej,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review.
Your opinion is very important for us as a source of further possible improvement therefore we thank you for your comments concerning the dining menu, that I personally handled to the person responsible for the restaurant implementations.
Once more I would like to thank you for your review and kind words towards our hotel and our staff.

With kind regards from Prague and the General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Service - The service at this hotel is the best I have come across in over 45 years of travelling abroad as an adult. Wherever you were in the hotel the staff were on hand to 'serve' you whether it was to open doors, give advice on Prague, book taxis, cook your meals or share a joke to make you feel comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble.

Room - We stayed in a twin room on the third floor overlooking the main road. It was a busy road but due to sound proofing heard nothing, so together with the comfortable beds and choice of pillows, we were able to sleep well each night. There were plenty of toilettries throughout our stay and the towels were plentiful and beautifully soft. Tea and coffee making facilities were welcome as was the complimentary water replenished on a daily basis. A negative would be the size of the table in the room if you were to decide on taking advantage of room service - it wasn't possible for two people to eat at this table.

Location and Amenities - The hotel is in the business district away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre and the tourists but what an added bonus that is. It is very near the river which you can follow to take a picturesque walk into the centre. However if walking isn't your thing the hotel is very near a metro station and tram stop. Really recommend you get a three day transport pass which we got from the Information Centre in the Metro Station. Take the leaflet entitled Getting Around Prague and you are set to see the sights as this illustrates how to access all the popular tourist attractions. If you want to 'stay local' at any point in your trip then this district has plenty of shops, a large shopping mall and bars/cafes/restaurants too.

Liked Best - The service from all the staff at the hotel. It was my sister-in-law's birthday while on holiday at the General and they made it special and made it last the whole holiday as they popped a bottle of wine into the room on the day of her birthday, the next day made the towels into two swans and on the third day added a vase of roses to the room as well as the waiters making sure we started each day as a celebration with a glass or two of Bucks Fizz at breakfast. We enjoyed the selection of foods at breakfast and took advantage of the 'In Addition' dishes such as scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and pancakes with fresh fruit as well as the Weekly Special meal offered in the restaurant where each course was cooked to order.

Great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Judith C,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting such warm review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to receive such nice evaluation on our services and facilities and we are glad to know that you and your sister-in-law have enjoyed her birthday and stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and detailed descriptions of our services, staff and location and we do hope that you will visit us again.

With warm regards from Prague,

Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We enjoyed every moment of our stay in Prague. The city is stunning, the people friendly and the food and hospitality are all first class. This hotel is a microcosm of all that. Hotel General does a first class job of providing all the usual things you'd expect. The rooms are clean and tidy, well decorated and have all the necessary extras (fridge, safe, air con). The beds are comfy and the showers are fantastic. The hotel breakfasts are delicious and cooked fresh to order. Where Hotel General goes above and beyond though, its with its staff. They are friendly, helpful and make you feel completely at home. Nothing is too much trouble and as other reviewers have mentioned, we even got great advice on places to visit when we first arrived (alongside a very welcome cold Czech beer!).
The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the centre, but we didn't even use the frequent nearby public transport, as the short walk was perfect for familiarising ourselves better with the city (and takes you along the river, to boot).
There is nothing to fault here. If you insist on being slap bang in the centre of Prague then don't book. Otherwise, don't even bother looking elsewhere. This hotel is superb!

Room Tip: If you like sleeping with the window open, ask for a courtyard facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Vickitay,

On the behalf of our hotel team I would like to thank you for your stay and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you would visit us again.

With warm regards from the General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfriston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic hotel. Made so by wonderful staff in all roles. Always a genuine smile and a kind word from them all. They really make you feel at home and like a valued guest. The hotel is clean and well fitted with enormous comfy beds and spacious beautiful bathrooms. I didn't think the website photos do the rooms justice. Do yourself a favour and book the General Suite - worth the extra!! It is a bit further out but we loved the 20 mins walk along either side of the river to reach the historic centre and you can easily get the tram or tube if you prefer. Excellent breakfas too. Will be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Wentthereandback_11,

ON the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with other travelers.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that our staff was able to make your stay more comfortable and you have felt home away from home.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to see you soon at the General.

With warm regards from Prague and the General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked this holiday through Travelzoo, which was a great deal. Only read about this Hotel after the booking and hoped it lived up to its excellent Tripadvisor reviews, it did, we were definitely impressed with all aspects of the Hotel. The reception staff, Dasha and Vicky, could not be more attentive, nothing was too much trouble and made you feel genuinely welcome. Our room was immaculately presented and spotlessly clean, the little touches like the towel swans and rose petals on our second night was a pleasant surprise. The hotel has a very peaceful and relaxing enviroment. We were offered a welcome drink on arrival which we decided to take in the bar at the end of the evening, here we met Ibrahim the barman, who mixed us various cocktails over our long weekend stay. At breakfast we were presented with a delicious hot and cold buffet selection all washed down with a glass of sparkling wine, all thanks to Mustufa and Rumi. Sorry if we have not mentioned you by name but all staff are a credit to Hotel General. Our long weekend in Prague and Hotel General exceeded all expectation, even the weather was great, we are already recommending to friends and will definitely return, sooner rather than later. It's a lovely 20 minute walk to town along the river.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Adrian G,

On the behalf of the hotel General team (incl. all the mentioned persons) I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your warm review.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able not only to meet but even exceed your expectations and you have really enjoyed your stay with us. I also thank you for your kind words towards our personnel - Dasha, Vicky, Ibrahim, Mustafa, Rumi and the others - as your kind words are the best reward for their work.

With best regards from hotel staff and looking forward to welcome you back at the General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Came to Prague for a weekend city visit. Hotel is about 20min walk from old town. Good hotel friendly and clean with great staff always happy to help with reservations and advise. We asked for places to eat and drink and enjoyed all we tried. Great breakfast choices with optional complimentary sparkling wine. Hotel was quiet and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Tipster23,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143 / 10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Prague
#9 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#9 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#16 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel General, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.