We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in prague” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel General to your Saves list
Hotel General
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #8 of 662 Hotels in Prague
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time in prague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My brother and I met in Prague to hang out for a week. We were greeted when we got there with a Pilsner Urquell, and a great tour guide. It was actually just the girl working the desk, but she was the best help that we could've had to navigate Prague. After talking to her for about 30mins we were fine for the rest of the trip. My bro lives in Europe, so that's an advantage, but it was a pretty easy city to get around. When we come back to Prague we are sure we'll be staying at the Hotel General again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Andrea G,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you and your brother for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing your impressions with other travelers on the TripAdvisor.

With warm regards from hotel team,

RIngaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    94
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
125
687
38
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bubion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I would certainly recommend this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights, the hotel staff were sooo helpful, friendly, ready to offer information and advice about the city, restaurants, sights. The Hotel is impeccably clean, wonderful white cotton linen. We were there in freezing Feb and the Hotel wonderfully warm, very much appreciated!Everything worked. It really is a great location, easy walk to the river, to the sights,to restaurants even to an amazing shopping center just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Kabubion,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for your stay and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

With warm regards from the hotel team

Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you have read any of my reviews you will know I like only the best. I've never been to Prague but I'm returning to this hotel for my 50th over New York. I visited in February and my partner had a broken ankle, this meant we couldn't explore.

One thing that definitely made us return was this hotel. I cannot fault the staff they are helpful, friendly and cannot do enough to help so thank you to them all.

The food they serve is delicious, the rooms impeccable. Not in the centre but believe me I'd stay here rather than be in a huge hotel where you are just a number.

We are returning and want to thank the staff for their kindness and helpfulness and friendliness while we were there.

Room Tip: I'd go for a suite as you have a separate lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear funnigirld,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for staying with us and for your warm and kind review.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would come back to visit us again. Such words and promise to return is the best reward for our teams work and we thank you for that.

With warm regards from Prague and the General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel General with friends and had an absolutely fabulous time. We chose the Hotel General after reading great reviews on Trip Advisor and the hotel did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic and sooo accommodating, we were welcomed with champagne and a really helpful introduction to what we should see and do whilst in Prague. The interior of the hotel was beautiful and our room was really lovely especially the bathroom. The gowns and slippers and a lovely hot bubble bath helped us relax when we got back from long days walking around the city.
The staff in the dining room and bar were outstanding and could not have been more helpful. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy with everything. The quality of the food in the dining room both breakfast and dinner was fantastic. The variety of food, both hot and cold, available for breakfast was great and always full.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk away from Old Town Square but this was a really nice walk along the river and allowed us to take in more of the city than we would have otherwise.
We went on two of the tours that the hotel gave us information about and really enjoyed both of them and learnt a lot about the city.
Prague is a great city, we had a really fantastic time and would recommend the Hotel General to anyone travelling there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear LW2857,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you and your friends for choosing our hotel for your stay and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet all your expectations towards the services and you have truly enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your kind and supportive review and hope to welcome you back at the hotel General whenever your travel plans will bring you to Prague.

Sincerely,

Ringaile Radojevic and hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed on business, and needed to hold a series of meetings with suppliers in the hotel. The staff could not have been more attentive and considerate, and made the whole business of receiving business guests feel most professional.

Everything else about the place is great; comfortable and clean. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front will be a bit noisy if you like to throw open windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear lordcranny,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting such positive evaluation of our provided services.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel General and we are so pleased that we chose to stay here after reading the previous reviews on Trip Advisor. The interior of the Hotel is beautiful with crystal chandeliers, marble and gold everywhere and our room was large, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We received a lovely welcome (with champagne!) on arrival and from that moment on all of the staff could not have been more helpful or charming - especially the waiters in the dining room and bar who took great delight in creating fabulous cocktails for us and were genuinely concerned that everything was to our liking. The breakfasts were fantastic - such a range of hot dishes and cold buffet that is really quite difficult to not gorge yourself and we used the hotel Limo to take us to and from the opera which was very convenient and reasonably priced.

Overall Prague is a beautiful city with so much to see and our trip was made even more romantic by deep snow (although it was still easy to get around - we would recommend some yak tracks or similar snow grips in the winter to stop you slipping.) Although the hotel is a little way from the old town the trams and buses are clean, modern and easy to use. However, we chose to walk everywhere in order to burn off the vast quantity of Goulash, Dumplings and local champagne (which is very good incidentally) which we had consumed during our stay!

Prague is a fabulous destination for a holiday - the most beautiful city I have been to and if you do decide to visit make sure you stay at the Hotel General - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Chirocat80,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you and your boyfriend for choosing our hotel for your stay in Prague and for posting such detailed and warm review on our hotel.
We are glad to know that you've found the previous review on TripAdvisor to be true and have enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you once more for your kind and supportive words and hope to welcome you back at the General any time soon.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel General last week for 5 nights. To say I was impressed is an understatement, I am one of those people who expects first class service and if i don't get it I complain. I was SO IMPRESSED with the service, the staff, the hotel, the room, I would willingly without question recommend this hotel as a place to stay in Prague. It is about 15minutes walk from the Old Town but that is actually a bonus I think because it is away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel is small which adds to the very personal attention we received; we are so impressed we booked to return in December after Christmas. the hotel is very clean and our room was very spacious. The complimentary dressing gowns and slippers where very welcome after a day of sightseeing! The hotel even arranged for a car to collect us from the airport. The staff spoke very good english and were very helpful and attentive. The breakfast was great, wide choice of food and personalised cooked omelettes etc. we took a guided tour on day 1 which lasted all day; this gave us an insight into where we were and what to see. The following days we ventured out on our own.We bought a three day ticket for travel and enjoyed tram, train and funicular use for 310kr (about £10) the trams are very regular and can reach all over the city. All in All a fantastic holiday, fantastic hotel and i would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Prague.

Room Tip: We ha a Junior suite which overlooked the street - there was no noise from outside as the windows ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear scarletflt,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet all your expectations and that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your kind words and look forward for your next visit in December.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#14 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#4 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,798 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#10 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#7 Family Hotel in Prague
#8 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#17 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel General, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.