We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel General to your Saves list
Hotel General
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Western Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Everything was terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in February and this was a wonderful hotel. The rooms were clean, although it was hard to turn down the heat. The staff were faultless and went out of their way to help you. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear 19flights,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General and for sharing your impressions with other travelers.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel General team

Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    92
    11
    0
    4
See reviews for
116
654
37
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Me and my wife spent three nights during January 2013. From begining we felt like home. the receiption was friendly and invisting. Altough the room wasnot ready yet, they found another room available. The rooms is conveinient and well equiped with all necessary. Breakfest is wonderful and so personal. because the hotel is reletively small, you feel like everyone is serving you. each day there is a different surprise. white wine during breakfast or very romantic shaping of your towels like ducks... The price value for what is givven is enormous.

The hotel is two blocks from the underground and in a very quiet area. The personnel in the reception, do their outmost to provide tips and instruction for restaurants etc.

We will defenetially return to this hotel and will recommend it to everyone we know.

R & M, Israel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear R & M,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay in Prague and hotel General to the fullest.

We thank you for sharing your kind words and hope that you will visit us again.

With kind regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year, Everything the reviews say is true. Fantastic staff, lovely room - we had a General suite which was larger with a bathroom and separate shower room plus sitting area with second TV and computer - substantial breakfast with plenty of choice including oysters wih smoked salmon! There is a nice bar in the basement which was always quiet and just right for a quiet drink before heading out for the evening.
The hotel arranged transport to and from the airport which was comfortable, inexpensive and convenient.
We had some lovely meals especially Suteren on the other side of the river towards the Charles Bridge - we also went to a floating restaurant (Botel) just behind the hotel on our first night - it was raining and cold so we did not venture far, the food was very good and reasonably priced - beware, though that smoking is still allowed in some restaurants.
Prague is a lovely and interesting town for a city break and we would definitely recommend Hotel General. We will return next time we visit Prague (when it is a bit warmer!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear BADGEREssex_UK,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your News Year's celebration stay and for sharing your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor.
It gives us great pleasure to know that we were able to meet all your expectations and you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you once again for your warm and detailed review and hope to welcome you back in hotel General whenever your travel plans will bring you to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I visited Prague at the beginning and end of a trip at Christmas/New Year's to Prague and Austria. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. They remembered who we were and what we liked from day to day; and made sure any concern we had was corrected on our return visit. The breakfast was spectacular and the restaurant fabulous. It's a block or so from the tram and underground, making it convenient to many sites offered. I will definitely stay again when in Prague!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear UKBarbara2012,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking some time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest and that hotel General has become a part of your Prague experience.
We thank you for visiting us and hope that you will visit us again whenever your travels will bring you back to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

this is my type of hotel ,elegant quality, staff were very attentive nothing was a problem they make you as a customer feel important.i would go back here and recommend anyone that likes quality all round service to stay here all the best to all et general hotel. MR H .Solihull warks U.K

Room Tip: Always check your room on arrival for satisfaction
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear MR H .Solihull,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for staying at The General and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you won't hesitate to visit us again.

With warm regards from hotel General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast NSW
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is the best hotel we had on out trip around Europe in the winter of 2012/13. We had the General Suite which has separate bedroom, sitting room and 2 spacious bathrooms. A computer is provided in the room but as well the room has free WiFi. Hotel staff are very friendly and always pleased to help. Breakfast was great with special omelet orders available.
Hotel is on the Lesser side of the river but easy access to the old sector is available on the trams.
Would definitely stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear mbuckland007,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you won't hesitate to visit us again whenever your travels will bring you back to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We are from Buenos Aires, and arrived in Prague from Spain, where we have relatives.
It was our first time in Prague.
In Argentina and Spain we were told about concerns regarding the quality of hotels in Prague.
What we can say, according to our first hand experience is that not only this hotel but its staff too, are first class.
The room was nice and large, warm and very comfortable.
And, although it faced the street, we heard no noises, neither from the outside nor from inside the hotel.
The hotel is a bit away from the points of interest, but a metro station is a few blocks away, so, you can reach every place in a few minutes.
And, for those fond of beer, Staropramen and its Visitor's Centre is at five minutes walk.
The staff was very kind and helpfull, from the very beginning of our stay to the last moment.
They gave us all the information we requested, places to go, to eat, etc.
In a few words, a beautiful city, excellent hotel and superb staff.
Of course, we strongly recommend it, and hope will return.

Marilé and José María

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Marilé and José María,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for staying at the hotel General and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
It gives a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and that you have truly enjoyed your stay in Prague and hotel General.
We thank you for your kind words towards our hotel and team and hope that you will visit us again.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#9 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#12 Family Hotel in Prague
#19 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel General, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.