We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel General to your Saves list
Hotel General
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this lovely hotel as part of our trip to several European cities. We can only add to the chorus of positive feedback about the hotel and the service offered here. We are travelling with our 5 year old son and stayed in a Junior suite which was very spacious with a king size bed and a rollaway bed for our son. We found the bed very comfortable and the rollaway was fine for our son. Even though our room was facing the street, it was very quiet. As we booked our room several months in advance we received avery competitive rate.

Although the hotel is away from the main tourist centres it is a short walk to the Andel metro station and tram stops with quick, cheap links to the old town,castle and other sites. There are also many places to eat/drink in this area and a large shopping mall.

As many other travellers have mentioned, we found the staff to be extremely courteous and helpful. Everyone was lovely to our son, in particular the wait staff in the restaurant and wine bar (thanks Abraham) and the room attendant, Olga. Nothing was too much trouble and the service was friendly and attentive. The reception staff were excellent and went the extra mile for us, especially with trying to get dinner reservations for us at avery busy time of year and recommending a self-service laundry/cafe about 15 minutes walk from the hotel where we were able to wash and dry our clothes (and enjoy the excellent Czech beer while we waited). On our final day as our flight was not until 5pm, they arranged for us to have late checkout which saved us from having to go out in the rain. We also used the hotel's airport transfer service which was very convenient.

All in all we would recommend the Hotel General as it provides a warm welcome, great service and very good value for travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Shelljor,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General and for posting such warm and detailed review. We thank you for mentioning the details not only towards our staffs work, but on hotel and its location also. Moreover it gives us a great pleasure to know that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again if your travel plans will lead you back to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    92
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
118
660
38
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The customer service was exceptional. The hotel is beautiful, and had a great atmosphere, our room was well equipped, a good size and very clean. We loved the smiling faces that welcomed us each morning at breakfast, and the food was good also.
We had dinner at the restaurant which was great value and beautifully presented. Make sure you also visit the wine bar on the bottom floor. The hotel is not located in the main tourist area of Prague, but is within an easy walk, and is also close to public transport. There is a shopping mall close by to pick up any necessities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Liane N,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet all your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your kind words and hope that you will visit us again whenever your travels will bring you to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Room was elegant, cosy and spotless as was the whole hotel. Bed very comfortable and a very nice bathroom. Free WiFi and free access to a laptop. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast lovely. Close to local transport and a lovely restaurant round the corner (admiral general boat). For my husband's birthday they set out complimentary champagne and roses without us even telling them it was his birthday. Cheap hotel bar and reasonably priced mini bar in room. Nice little extras e.g. use of robes and slippers, ironing board, hair dryer etc in room. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sasha L,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your special occasion even more special and memorable.
We thank you for your kind words and hope that you will visit us again whenever your travel will bring you back to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

November 2012 we spent 3 nights in Prague which we found to be a wonderful city but what made our stay extra special was the Hotel General. We arrived around lunch time and were greeted by a very welcoming receptionist and offered drinks whilst registering. The rooms are beautiful, clean, comfortable, quiet, and very well appointed. The breakfast is extensive and beautifully presented in a splendid dining room. We found the hotel to be ideally located with the nearby Andel centre, bars and restaurants. Frequent trams into the Old Town are close by, if preferred a pleasant walk by the river takes 20 -30 minutes. Staff in the hotel spoke English; nothing appeared to be too much trouble and were very helpful on a variety of topics. The hotel was the icing on the cake for our stay, we have already recommended it to friends and look forward to return visit to Prague staying at the Hotel General

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear David P,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest and our team was able to make you stay in Prague "the icing on the cake". We thank you for such kind words and hope to welcome you back any time you will be visiting Prague.

With best regards from Prague and General
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you're looking for an attractive and clean hotel with extremely attentive staff than this hotel is certainly it! The staff cannot do enough to help you and they make it seem effortless. They make you feel like it is a pleasure to be of assistance for you. Close enough to all of the major places you need to go and to the tram service, it's location is in a quieter area than some in the main town. They helped us to book restaurants, get ballet tickets in the national theatre (An absolute highlight!!!!) and generally made our stay much more pleasurable. The small wine bar down stairs is really quite quaint and cosy, the only down side is that it is empty most evenings. Their prices for wine & cocktails etc are certainly on the high side, which is why I feel it is so quiet, as it is certainly much cheaper elsewhere. Such a shame as it could be quite a hive of activity. Don't let it put you off though, as all in all it is a perfect place to stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Amy-and-Rich72,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your thoughts and experience with the others.
It gives us a great joy to know that you were delighted with your stay and that our personnel was able to make it more comfortable and enjoyable.
We thank you for your supporting words and comments towards further possible improvement and hope that you will visit us again on you next trip to Prague.

Sincerely,

On the behalf of the hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My partner and I booked the Hotel General because of its high ratings on Tripadvisor and we feel it certainly merited them. The attentive level of sevice has a very personal touch. We had arrived in Prague a little underprepared so we were extremley grateful for the "Welcome to Prague" intro we received (with complimentary drink) where all the major sites and restaurant recommendations were detailed to us. On our last night, a complimentary bottle of wine was brought to our room.

I would recommend to most, but my one caveat would be that whilst the service, breakfast and staff are high quality, the decor (with portraits of renowned military leaders, throughout the hotel - and above ones bed) isn't conduscive to achieving the most romantic experience. But that aside A+++

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear TS1983_12,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and for posting a review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and that you were satisfied with your stay.
We thank you for sharing your experience and for kind words towards our personnel.

With warm regards from Prague

Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#9 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#17 Family Hotel in Prague
#23 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel General, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.