We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have no expectations at all, then stay here.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Assenzio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Assenzio to your Saves list
Assenzio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wenzigova 1870/3, Prague 1200, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #287 of 662 Hotels in Prague
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you have no expectations at all, then stay here.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I am not a fussy person however do expect certain etiquette to be followed. First we were greeted by a receptionist that looked like she needed sleep. We were not allowed to check in as we were too early which was understandable, however the receptionist simply said no no no we can't allow it. Afterwards another member of staff very kindly stated that there was someone already in the room and they were waiting to clean it out for us. If only the tired receptionist had stated that to us initially. We had specific dietary requirements which were not adhered to; these were reminded to the receptionist when we checked in (eventually) and in a previous email to a few days before travelling. We went for breakfast and the only food we could eat was beans and some flavored bread. We then went back and told the receptionist and she said well you have to speak to the chef. She was not at all bothered about our requirements. We spoke to the guy (who told us about our room) about our requirements and he said he would make sure there was adequate food for us. The following day we went for breakfast and within 5 minutes we had some nice tasty food as I would have initially expected. I did say to my husband that they prepared this rather fast. The following day we were checking out so when we went down for breakfast the lady bought our food to us within seconds. The food was not freshly prepared. Rather they put it in a plate, cooked it, then simply heated it and then served. We would rather fresh food than prompt food.

Overall, people were ok, no smiles, no general banter. Only one member of staff shone out and that was the guy that helped us.

I do understand and appreciate you only get what you pay for, however simple etiquette and manners should be in all.

Room Tip: If you dont mind service, the staff, how you are treated then stay here. Do not go for a delux room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    107
    42
    13
    10
See reviews for
36
88
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Rooms clean and basic, as most European hotels no tea making facilities. No hot water on first night, food average and expensive, fridge in room. Breakfast OK, wifi free only on ground floor. Any issues raise with Gen Manager. Did Kutna Hora tour, got picked up from hotel, tour was good but a bit rushed even though it was 90mins each way, good comfortable minibus, although dropped in Wenceslas sq rather than hotel. In general hotel is situated approx 8 mins from metro. ADVICE : get the 2 day pass as it is very cheap and covers metro, tram and bus and two pairs of good walking shoes, as lots of cobble paving. Happy holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Firstly can I point out that its an Italian hotel that mainly is catered for the italians from the food to the TV channels. There is no english channel at all. The staff is a hit and miss. Some of them are helpful and esp the night receptionist just says no to everything you ask her. There is only one iron for the whole hotel and none in the room and you end up ironing on the floor as there is no board. We were there in August and it was boiling even with the air conditioning on for the whole day. We got a room with a skylight which we did not like as it was dark and you could not look out at all.
However It is very clean and the manager is helpful but lots more to improve on and I have come across many, many better hotels that is cheaper.
Location is not bad and close to Wencales Sq.

Room Tip: ask for one without skyligt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Conveniently located not far from the centre, the rooms are comfortable and very clean. Hotel staff are helpful and the hotel interior is charming.

The bar served an excellent Absinth which is a superb way to kick start a night on the tiles in Prague.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you are a ceoliac then this is the place for you. The breakfast was brilliant. Home made croissants and bread.What a delight!.
The hotel it self,was in quite a good location.It was clean and welcoming.
Free wifi, albeit in the lobby area only.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A good hotel, intimate, discreet. Modern, tasteful, equipped with bar, wi-fi. Bath and her modern, but needs some work intretinerela detail. Breakfast was good quality, served by waiters and the job available. I had problems with parking, though it was reserved, we could not enjoy it, the only consolation was the hostess apologized. A little distance from the subway, and from the closest parking, which in turn I was very expensive, as well as toateparcarile in Prague. Hard to find night, not properly signaled for a 4-star hotel. In conclusion I can say that the stay was pleasant, but the hotel maybe more. The price / service (offer price was) was good, so I had, generally speaking, a pleasant stay. If there were little surprises, everything was just great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We booked this hotel because of good price/quality relation. Location is convenient - only 300 meters from I.P.Pavlova metro station. Hotel building is a beautiful itself. We asked for a highest possible floor, as i knew there rooms often have roof window, and we got one. Room itself may feel a little bit dark - and some style improvement may be done, for example, on my opinion sofas are totally meaningless in the room - they can change them for a pair of arm-chairs with table. Bathroom was clean, very important issue for me. King size bed was not soft - just i wanted it to be to have a quality sleep time. Morning breakfast: basic, tasty. Only issue was they tended to lose a control over a situation when morning rush hour began at the breakfast room - lot of dishes empty, but situation improved after 10 of 15 minutes. One thing which might be better - they could invest into tv-system: more channels and newer tv-sets.

Room Tip: If you wanna get a roof window, choose top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Assenzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assenzio

Address: Wenzigova 1870/3, Prague 1200, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Assenzio 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These are the origins of Assenzio Hotel in Prague: the careful restoration of this XIX-century palace was carried out by expert architects who were able to retain the original outer structure realized according to Prague’s traditional architectural style.Some inner patterns – such as the travertine staircase, the stuccoes which embellish both the hall and the ground floor and the brick cellar – are the most representative landmarks of this outstanding combination of ancient and modern architectural elements.Utmost passion and professionalism contributed to turn this Neoclassical building into a wonderful four-star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Assenzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Assenzio Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assenzio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.