We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent taste and services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Cicala

Trattoria Cicala
Zitna 43, Prague, Czech Republic
+420 222 210 375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 4,249 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cicala Trattoria - Back in 1997 a unique opportunity started to present itself in the centre of Prague - an opportunity to taste the real Italian cuisine flourishing under the baton of the culinary maestro Aldo Cicala. Today it has already been fifteen years since the restaurant opened for the first time and over these years it has won renown for its cosy family atmosphere, received numerous prestigious awards and welcomed many famous personalities. The restaurant owes its success first and foremost to its rich homemade Italian cuisine served with great attention to detail under the supervision of the talented chef David Cicala and to its emphasis on the quality of traditional ingredients. The restaurant also earned its high reputation thanks to the always friendly and accommodating staff who are also members of the Cicala family and create a genuine family atmosphere.
2 reviews
“Excellent taste and services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We went there by advice from a french guide book to eat risottos ! It was awesome, frech cooked and the waiters were really kind.
Therefore, only 2 tables were occupied so it was very quite for a saturday evening !
Anyway we recommand highly this restaurant not very expensive to eat excellent italian food (different than pizzas !) ! You turn bon appetit !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    66
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A great little restaraunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We ate here 17.4.2013. 1 minute walk from Archibald City hotel were we were staying at.
We had arrived earlier that afternoon. Tired from the day we did not want to go to far for dinner.
We seen the Recommended by Trip Advisor sticker on the window so we went in.

Really typical Italian Trattoria. Owner on ground floor with friends in all talking loudly. We were shown down stairs into the cellar. Many of the buildings in Prague are built over these cellars. Stunning brick work and timber on display.

Menu was all simple Itallian food. I had Muscles and my wife had Lasagne. They were incredible.
Service was great, really friendly and attentive but not in your face.

Couple of beers and a few glasses of wine, we left very happy.

Cant recommend this restaurant enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing little find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Amazing traditional Italian. Resturant was full so they made extra room for us in a private smaller room. Very homely. Superb service and the best risotto I have ever eaten. A must visit and highly recommended

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

From the (cheap) cutlery to the (chipped) plates, to the (dusty) ceiling and the (mismatched) glassware this restaurant is dire. Service was woeful; staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. The quality of the food was as poor as the selection on the menu. The two, different, meals we ordered were in fact the same meal garnished with different leaves - the menu insists one of the mains was seasoned with rosemary. I remain sceptical. The chicken breast was cooked in what appeared to be a mix of vegetable oil and cheap instant gravy. I honestly have never been to a worse restaurant and, partly due to my indigestion induced rage, I'm unable to form the words to articulate just how unpalatable the food and the restaurant itself were. Avoid.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a great trattoria in Prague. Please dont be put off by how it looks from the outside! I can promise you you will have great food, wine at an excellent price! On entering you go down to the basment where the trattoria is located. Although comfortably quiet the food was outstanding, a wide range of starters and fish and meat. The owners are italian so the food was great. If we are back in Prague we will def come back here to eat. The price is great paying about 45 for 2 people including starters, main and wine including a bowl of fruit to finish. Come here for a truly Italian quiet meal with a loved one - very romantic!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Cicala also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Trattoria Cicala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Cicala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.