We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Veranda

La Veranda
Elisky Krasnohorske 2/10 | Prague 1 Josefov, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
+420 224 814 733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 4,249 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place is recommended by Michelin, I had superb dining experience, lamb was so soft, same as veal cheaks (we were told it has been cooked for 8 hrs) - everything was great, second bottle of wine - after opening we smelled strong cork flavour, even waiter agreed immediately with us and bottle was changed. High class dining experience, will come again. Btw if you want to have it more quiet and romantic, sit downstairs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    60
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place is recommended by Michelin, I had superb dining experience, lamb was so soft, same as veal cheaks (we were told it has been cooked for 8 hrs) - everything was great, second bottle of wine - after opening we smelled strong cork flavour, even waiter agreed immediately with us and bottle was changed. High class dining experience, will come again. Btw if you want to have it more quiet and romantic, sit downstairs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice place for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

my daughter loved coloringIn page and magnetic toys that being provided by the restaurant while my hubby and I enjoyed beautiful food! lovely atmosphere!
But be aware that their water was about 120 cze per bottle. Plus you need to book before hand!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine food charming relaxed restaurant - a first night gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We ate here on our first night. Arrived in Prague late and tired and needed some hearty food in a relaxed setting.

This restaurant was everything we could have wished for and more. Incredible home made bread - a delicious fish soup starter followed by saddle of venison for me and pork belly risotto for Madame. Though we almost spent all night looking at the menu as everything looked superb. Beautiful Rioja to wash it all down.

Service extremely friendly and attentive. We even had a stool for Madame's handbag!

Gotta say we might be back before we leave.

Thank you la veranda!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have to mention first, this is not a Czech restaurant, it's a wonderful mix of French and Italian cuisine. The cozy interior decoration makes you feel like having dinner at friend's home. Service is excellent, and the food is out of this world!
We had foie gras (since it's banned in California), squid and lamb cheek which is very unique and tasty. It's pricey, but very good.
It's located in a small alley by InterContinental Hotel. Reservation recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Veranda also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.