We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a cocktail or two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barock

Barock
Parizska 24, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
+420222329221
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,094 of 4,243 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $20 - $132
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Czech, Café, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great for a cocktail or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Tasty cocktails, relaxed atmosphere, live music and a good vibe. Not cheap at 700Kc (£21) for 4 cocktails (we had dinner and a bottle of wine for less in Prague!), but a lovely place to spend some time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    50
    21
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“As Wonderful As Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Last time in Prague some four years ago, I discovered Barock while window shopping one evening on the oh-so-fashionable Parizska (Paris Street). A wonderful dining experience at the time merited a return visit when I was in "The Golden City" last week.

Delighted to report nothing has changed, other than restaurant space having been downsized slightly due to a recent change in configuration of the building.

Food is as marvelous as ever and continues to feature an inventive, Thai influenced continental menu. For those who want to dine the way the locals do, Barock also offers some classic, traditional Czech entrees that are certainly worth a try. If who enjoy wine with lunch or dinner, there's a more than ample international list of fine selections to choose from.

Wait staff is friendly, charming and helpful. Restaurant is well known for attracting international movie stars and fashion personalities who can often be seen dining there. This chic, atmospheric spot remains high on my Prague dining "A" list and is highly recommended.



Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Place...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We found ourselves a little gem here and loved the vibe and the atmosphere. Service and food were good. A bit disappointed when we went back the next day and on querying the expensive bill found that the a glass of Prosecco was priced at £10! This tainted our visit so we never went back again. Real shame as we loved the place but just felt that we had been taken advantage of and it left a sour taste.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had dinner here with my girlfriend and another couple of friends. We were greeted by a couple of friendly waitresses and shown to our table in the nice and small room in the back. We had a small dog as well and the waitresses gave us a quite table (although all tables were rather cramped in the tiny space available in that room).

The food was all in all very good: I had fois gras (which is to die for); Argentinian stake (very good but not excellent); Tiramisu (excellent). Red Wine (I think it was the Montepulciano). All of that plus water was roughly 40 euros, which is excellent value for money.

The atmosphere is very nice and trendy. Unfortunately, the waitresses gave the table behind us to two rather loud families with 4 kids - that totally ruined the atmosphere. Considering that there was enough space in the larger front room, I honestly think this was a mistake by the restaurant management. They could have thought twice before putting loud children in the same room with grown-up couples trying to have a quite evening.

In any case, I strongly recommend this restaurant. We tried several others during our stay and this was by far the best value for money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

booked a table here the last time i was in Prague and was very impressed with both the food and the staff. We were greeted by friendly helpful staff and enjoyed a lovely meal in very chic surroundings. All in all a memorable experience and I will certainly go back next time I visit Prague

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barock also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Barock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.