We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terezin and Jewish Quarter of Prague--not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wittmann Tours

Wittmann Tours
Novotneho Lavka 200/5, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
420-603-168-427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 243 Tours & Activities in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jewish guiding service
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Terezin and Jewish Quarter of Prague--not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently had the good fortune to see both the Jewish Quarter of Prague and Terezin with Wittman Tours. Both tours were excellent but in different ways. Terezin tour was led by a former resident of Terezin during the Second World War. Besides being able to,tell us about life there first hand, he regaled us with sad stories, humorous stories, and educational stories about his life and about life in Terezin and other concentration camps he had the displeasure of living in. The tour was not rushed, there was time for questions and time to see all that should be seen.
The Jewish Quarter Tour was led by a woman who had learned of her Jewish roots and had turned that into a fulfilling academic and personal endeavor. She helped us understand the place of Prague Jewish History within the larger Prague history. We visited all the best sights. All questions were answered knowledgeably. Both tours belong on every visitor's to-do list.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    24
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Interesting but dry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We took the tours of the Jewish Quarter and Terezin, and while our guides obviously knew their facts, their presentation left a little to be desired. It felt as if both were reading off a script, and their delivery was monotone and dry (and they often struggled with English). During the Jewish Quarter tour, we would stand uncomfortably in one place for long periods of time, listening to the guide give the history of that particular site. It would have been better to walk more and receive little chunks of information along the way, rather than trying to digest it all while standing in one spot. We did learn a lot, though, which made the tours worthwhile.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent tour of the Jewish Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We toured the Jewish Quarter with Jonash, who was extremely knowledgeable, dedicated and respectful. His tour was in-depth, informative and thought-provoking. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beer Sheva
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you are planning a visit to Terezin, use Wittmann Tours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Terezin is just to big and spread out to consider visiting on your own. We were advised to use Wittmann Tours and we are glad that we did. Vida, our guide, was very well informed and has a family connection to the Terezin tragedy which made the tour even more meaningful. The tour was not rushed and we had time to try to take it all in.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maale Adumim
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best tour company for Terezin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Upon the recommendation of friends (and other Trip Advisor reviews), we signed up with Wittmann Tours for our day trip to Terezin. This is not an easy trip to make and we wanted to go specifically with a Jewish tour company. Vida was our tour guide. We couldn't have asked for anyone better or more appropriate. She shared her personal history with us which made her perfect, and perfectly knowledgeable, for this tour. Not much more to add: Highly recommended. We don't have any experience with them with their other tours, but they're #1 in our view for Terezin.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wittmann Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wittmann Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wittmann Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.