We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap..?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Terasa U Prince

Terasa U Prince
Staromestske Namesti 29 | Hotel U Prince, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
+420 737 261 842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,116 of 4,272 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: French, International, European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: The rooftop terrace of our U Prince family hotel has been voted by various guide books and magazines as one of the most impressive rooftop restaurants in the world.
Europe
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tourist trap..?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Sat down for a cold beer one evening, and soon realised this plase most likely loves to use this GREAT location for what you can call below average service.

Ok food and a stale, warm beer for to much money, served with no smile what so ever!

Many places in Prague can give you a beer and a hot plate of food, the best ones will even give you a great service while their at it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    296
    171
    125
    173
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“All about the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Look around you - you are right in the middle of the old Prague town square right opposite the astronomical clock. In such a city centre location expect middle of the road quality and service and relatively high price. The U Prince delivers exactly that and actually the food is better than you might expect and by London or Madrid prices not too bad value either and the service OK.

Get yourself a table on the 4th floor roof terrace around an hour or so before sundown and just take in the view and the atmosphere - fantastic!

Pay 23 euros for a steak main course and 5 euros for a starter or dessert. Pints of Staropramen around 2 euro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice view, bad service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just got back from there tonight and This was our worst service experience in Prague. I was told that I needed to see the terrace and have a couple of drinks, so we decided to go tonight. It was about 10:00 PM and it was not very busy. As soon as the server found out that we were just having drinks, he became turned off. We got our drinks and the last time we saw him and we were there for an hour. If he would have checked in with us it would have been a size able check for 4 people having drinks.

Nice view, but thats about it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ice cream scam at hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I bought ice cream at the hotel's stand. While they advertise one price, they add hidden charges for the paper cup! When I pointed it out to the manager he was rude and defensive, and showed me it s written in tiny letter that tree is an extra charge for the cups. These kind of hidden charges are common in prague, and even if the amount is small it is worth complaining and fighting back. The ice cream was also tiny and below average.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and not bad dessert but the rest...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place really has nice location with the view on astrological clock, one of Prague's must see things, and desserts are OK but the rest was really terrible...
First of all: the most noisy point in whole place was... waiters stand. They had such fun with each other that we could barely hear our own thoughts. Having 7-8 waiters standing idle by the stand and having fun during evening hours... guess there is something seriously wrong with resource management here. And you can't even "send them a message" by not tipping cause it's included by default...
Second: they serve probably the worst beer in whole Czech Republic. Actually calling it beer is an offense to this wonderful beverage. I consider myself as beer expert consumer and I can honestly tell that I've never seen so much water in small glass of what it suppose to be "golden drink". Enough said that first time for a very long time I didn't drink whole glass and considered writing to Staropramen to perform some quality check here as it's serious black PR for them.
Third: brightest point-> tiramisu was fine. Not best ever, but far from worst as well.
All in all: look for the better place, I'm sure it won't be hard.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terasa U Prince also viewed

 

Been to Terasa U Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terasa U Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.