We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City Bell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel City Bell to your Saves list
Hotel City Bell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belgicka 10 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Vinohrady & Vrsovice)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #470 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

terrible terrible terrible. we were in a family room: the bathroom was divided in two parts one with the shower and one with the wc. the wc room was like a storage room and it was difficult also to stay standing. the other part of the bathroom was really dirty with the tubes external to the wall. both the "bath-rooms" has not a normal bath floor..there was a sort of adhesive in plastic which looks like at normal floor but unfotunately it can't be wash like a ceramic floor...bleah! the bedrooms had very old forniture, even the trash bin was old and battered...the floor (fitted carpet) was dirty with a lot of spots and the curtains were dirty and had spots like blood. the breakfast was really poor in a little room.Staff is not kind and efficient, I asked to change my towelsbut they didn't it; if you finish toilet paper they forget to give you it again. One positive aspect: the hotel is in strategic area of prague with 2 undergrounds near it; there are also a lot of local and restaurants with convenient prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citybell, Manager at Hotel City Bell, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Hi Frabott, I'm sorry that you don´t like our hotel. But I can not agree with everything you wrote here, because our reception is available non-stop, and is ready to solve any problems that arise. If you did not like the room was enough to say at the reception desk and I believe that everything will be solved immediately. In any case, all the defects pointed you out that we removed in one week. I was really surprised by your assessment, because when you look at the other reviews, our guests were happy and our aim is to make our guests feel even better. You can see other reviews in our hotel, the hotel is very popular among tourists. And for several reasons, our rooms are cleaned daily, staff are a lot friendly and helpful, our rooms are large, spacious and comfortable, the hotel is in city center and yet in the quiet street, the prices for the rooms in our hotel in the center of Prague are resonable for everyone who wants to visit Prague and survive nice days in Prague. Photos that you have given here are totally different as is in reality.
Thak you - Hotel City Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
15
16
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Can't beat the price, but I went off season. The towels were paper thin, the beds very hard, the shade and wLls very dirty, no wifi on fourth floor. Room was very spacious, and just a few blocks from the green line.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

This is a very basic hotel with the minimum of choice at breakfast. While the wireless internet works in the reception area the plug for the cable was hard to reach in the bedroom and when the cable was connected to my laptop it didn't work.

The room was large and comfortable but poorly lit at night. It was bright and well lit during the day with large windows on two sides.

A big bonus was the restaurant opposite. (Hlucna samota s.r.o.?). It was absolutely brilliant. The hotel was quite a walk away from the nearest metro station.

The credit card machine wasn't working when I was paying the hotel bill so I had to pay in cash.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We travelled to Prague in May 2009 and had great time both in Czech Republic and in City Bell Hotel. The staff were really nice on the arrival, helped us to our rooms and offered late refreshments from the reception. The rooms were just as you might expect from 3 star - nice, clean, very spacious and cozy. What was definitely 5* was a location - in posh residental area and only 5 minute walk from metro station.
Highly recommended!
(REMEMBER TO STAMP YOUR TICKET BEFORE YOU ENTER THE METRO STATION!!!!)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

The Hotel City Bell offers good value for money, although the rate we booked at had apparently "changed" when we checked out and paid due to currency fluctuations between the Korun and Euro (extra 15 pounds). Maybe check this before you confirm your booking.

The room was huge - on the top floor with 4 windows overlooking the beautiful streets. The shower wasn't particularly hot or powerful but it didn't bother us. Breakfast - meats, cheese, breads was good to fill up on before a day of sights!

The best thing about the Hotel is the location - quiet and out of the way meaning local bars and restaurants (there are loads of them) are very cheap, 5 minutes to the tube and trams (just a couple of stops into the centre).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

This hotel really lived up to the reviews, it is a gem of a find . Location is excellent as it is in a quiet residential area yet near to a metro and tram station. Lovely, cheap bars and restaurants around and the hotel gives an excellent breakfast. Staff exceptionally helpful, we had trips organised for us which cost much less than the tour companies and were tailored to our group of nine. Only tips, if you like a big towel take your own and a mini kettle if you like a cuppa in the room. Have fun we did!

  • Liked — space in rooms, location, breakfast
  • Disliked — only small thin towels in bathrooms but we took our own
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

Having never been to Prague before we were a bit concerned when we got off the metro system and started walking down a quiet, deserted street. When we got to the Hotel City Bell, however, we were very pleasantly surprised as we were greeted warmly by Vladimir, the receptionist. He was very, very helpful throughout our 7 night stay.

The hotel was very clean with huge, huge rooms (ours included a hallway)! The only very minor complaint was that the shower head was on a cord and not attached to the wall.

Breakfast was great. Internet was free!

The hotel is located 10 minutes from the nearest metro station, Namesti Miru. It takes 5 minutes to get to Vaclavske nam.

One tip - if you get stopped by ticket inspectors on the bus, particularly from the airport, just walk away!!!

Highly recommended hotel.

  • Liked — Location, size of rooms, very helpful staff
  • Disliked — Shower head
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#455 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Abri
Abri
#369 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merlin
Hotel Merlin
#428 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
La Boutique Hotel Prague
La Boutique Hotel Prague
#307 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Praha 2
Amadeus
Amadeus
#396 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#327 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Bell

Address: Belgicka 10 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #470 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Bell 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel City Bell is a cheap budget hotel in Prague with a family atmosphere, offers comfortable, quiet and cheap bed and breakfast in Prague. The hotel is located close to Wenceslas Square and the Central Station. It is an ideal accommodation in Prague choice for families with children, group of friends or couples. In close proximity, that is a few minutes walk from the famous attractions of the Prague - Wenceslas Square, the National Museum in Prague, Vinohrady Theatre, Prague's historic Old Town, as well as metro / tram stop Namesti Miru / IP Pavlova. Near the tram station Namesti Miru - direct line without changing the Prague Castle. The hotel is very popular among tourists and popular accommodation in the center of Prague. Guaranteed perfect holiday in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel City Bell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Bell Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City Bell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.