We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this hotel !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The ICON Hotel & Lounge

Save Saved
You added The ICON Hotel & Lounge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   V Jame 6 | Nove Mesto, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #61 of 668 hotels in Prague
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I loved this hotel !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I visited Prague from Greece in February and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights ! From the moment I entered the hotel I felt really welcome .Great modern spacious room and above all very very clean. Front desk staff always willing to help and give info,maps and make all the transfer arrangements I asked for in a very good price . In general the hotel staff is the kindest I've ever met ! Loved the room, the food and the drinks !!! ! Hotel is central, quiet and safe. This hotel made my stay in Prague unforgettable ! If I ever go back I would definitely stay there. Don't even hesitate booking it ! It's totally worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    509
    199
    27
    8
    0
See reviews for
56
419
51
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a couple in this hotel, very good rooms although a bit small and stuffy, good beds and soft towels.

Breakfast was good and had lots of options and you could also order a hot breakfast, good location amongst the many shops, good restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a lovely hotel! Stayed here during the Christmas periods with my girlfriend and we had the loveliest of times.

The hotel was in a great location. It was clean and modern. The staff were very kind, attendive, polite - and refreshingly 'casual' (not suits, just jeans and colourful jumpers).

The breakfast was also very nice - don't be afraid to keep asking for more (in my case, pancakes!!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel in a perfect location in Prag! Excellent service from the staff! They helped us with booking taxi and gave us a great tour on the map, where to go, eat, see and so forth. The breakfast was great caus u could order precicelly what you wanted, eggs bacon and so.
The rooms were luxurius and clean. Beds were great!
The only minus was the doors to the room. All noice from the hallway went straight through. That was really bad. Had to sleep with earplugs. Sounded like the people walking in the hallway was in the room. Allthouhg they gave us earplugs in the reception!:)
Over all a great stay! Defenetley recomend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent hotel in a quiet street close to the new city. Very friendly staff - when we arrived one of the managers was nice enough to give us a "tour" of the room and point out where everything was located and gave us some great suggestions for things to do in Prague. Room was spacious and very comfortable. The all day breakfast was an added bonus - and the food was very good. Nice tapas bar connected to the hotel. Good wifi connection. All in all a wonderful stay. I cant find one fault.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Icon Hotel and overall had a very enjoyable experience.
We loved the design of the hotel, our standard room was fine, bathroom clean and contemporary. Not brilliant toiletries and could have done with a bathrobe but just a personal thing.
The receptionist on arrival was very friendly and efficient, she gave us a map and marked on there points of interest, restaurants she recommended and tram stops.She then took us up to our room and showed us all the amenities, we especially appreciated the fingertip sensor safe.
We had room 303 which was street side, the temperature was fine as we had the heating off most of the time.
small niggles - alot of noise in the early morning especially, from the street so it may be an idea to ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard instead? Also the soundproofing is not great and we heard people talking next door on our first night, but i put my earplugs in and slept ok.
Loved the breakfast every morning and you can choose off the a la carte menu all day if you want so no worries that you may miss breakfast if you had a heavy night before!!
We also had a meal on our first night in the hotels restaurant where they serve tapas, very enjoyable and reasonably priced too.
Definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 6 nights for an Easter break. There are a lot of good points to this hotel. I think I have never had such an warm, friendly and efficient welcome from the reception staff. In fact whenever we had requests, such as booking restaurant tables, nothing seemed too much trouble. Our deluxe room (301) was comfortable (especially the bed), with good features such as fingerprint enabled room safe and ipod dock (through the TV), good free wifi.

The design of the hotel and the rooms is great - very contemporary. In particular, the bar lounge has a cool feel with good quality club lounge music and is great for cocktails, and the tapas they serve there. It appears to attract locals as well as hotel guests.

The breakfast was excellent each morning - wide selection of cereals, fruit, meats and cheeses, pastries as well as a la carte eggs, pancakes and omelettes all within the b&b price. Again helpful serving staff.

The hotel is also in a great location, set in a generally quiet side street - 5 minutes walk from Wenceslas Square and the edge of the old town. On the Sunday morning (after a late night), we did have a problem with some workmen breaking up furniture right outside the hotel with a sledge hammer at 7 am in the morning but, the receptionist went out to ask them to be quiet when we called up so we couldn't ask for more from the hotel.

I would love to give this place a 5 rating but cannot for two main reasons: almost every night except Monday, a thumping beat noise which appeared to be coming from a club was audible all night until 5 am in the morning. It was not very loud and I tended to fall asleep through it but loud enough to keep you awake sometimes if, like my partner, you are not able to "zone out" from it. It did not worry us enough to complain but we did ask on departure where the noise was coming from. The receptionist said that he had not had any other complaints but noted that there was a club next door (not related to the hotel) had recently reopened. He said that he would take it up with the club. He said that our room was on the same side as the club, so perhaps the rooms higher in number (302 - 307) might be less affected. If you have the option, rooms closest to 307 probably are ones to aim for if this problem persists.

The other problem we encountered was that the room got far too hot. Being winter (still) and very cold out, the hotel's heating / aircon system was switched to only heating. It was too hot particularly at night. Reception said that all we could do was turn the heating fans off completely. The room was still too hot and we had to get into a routine of opening the window for 10 minutes before going to bed to let the cold air in - and sometimes opening it for a few minutes during the night when the heat got too much again. Given that I am a person who normally feels the cold, this is not just a personal preference issue. Having said that, this is a problem presumably only in the cold winter months but it really does need to be fixed.

One final thing - please upgrade the shower gel - I have had better in a number of budget hotels - it is not good when you struggle to get the gel even to lather up.

Putting all of this together, we had a good stay but it would have been perfect if they sorted out the temperature and get the club to turn its music way down / off at a reasonable hour.

Room Tip: Choose a room on as high a floor as possible and further away from the basement club (say 304-307)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICONSales, Director of Sales at The ICON Hotel & Lounge, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review on your recent stay with us at The ICON Hotel & Lounge.

We got in contact with our neighbour regarding the noise that was disturbing you, so thank you for your feedback in this matter!

We are very happy that your stay with us has been pleasant and that you have pointed out and valued quality of our service. We are also happy that our handmade Swedish beds as well as technical in-room gadgets attracted your attention.

The staff of the restaurant will also like to thank you for the positive feedback on the breakfast as well as tapas and cocktails in our ROOM restaurant.

Once again thank you for the time to write this review and for expressing your overall satisfaction with your stay.

We hope to have a chance of welcoming you and your partner back at The ICON Hotel & Lounge one day in the future!

Best Regards,

Lukas Hula
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The ICON Hotel & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The ICON Hotel & Lounge

Address: V Jame 6 | Nove Mesto, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
#51 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#60 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The ICON Hotel & Lounge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ICON Hotel & Lounge redefines hospitality in Prague. Our small design and hip hotel is probably the most personal hotel in Prague and definitely the only one with a sense of fun. We have all-natural handmade Hästens beds in all rooms, free internet, biometric safes, MP3 connections, coffee making facilities, luxury linen and lots of smiles. Unique is the all-day breakfast which is served a la carte from 0700am till 1100pm in our hotel restaurant ROOM. The ICON - service with a sense of fun... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The ICON Hotel & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Icon Hotel And Lounge
Icon Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The ICON Hotel & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.