We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The ICON Hotel & Lounge

Save Saved
You added The ICON Hotel & Lounge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   V Jame 6 | Nove Mesto, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book directly and SAVE...
Ranked #57 of 668 hotels in Prague
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The people at ICON totally understand what hospitality is all about. They're kind, understanding, speak great english and are always willing to make your stay a little bit better. Their service is what made this great hotel a fantastic experience. Thank you.
Apart from the service there is:
Free Wifi
. Good location. Beautiful building. Best beds ever! Breakfast very good and you can order a fresh selection of cooked food for free, and it is served until 11 at night! Good for long sleepers. Absolutely great! you won't regret this!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    498
    193
    27
    7
    0
See reviews for
56
411
51
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in November and had spent a while online trying to find the perfect hotel for us - and we found it in the Icon.
The hotel is ideally located in a quiet side street not far from Wenceslas Square and is only about 10-15 minutes from the Old square. It proved to be the perfect base for our city break and meant that we could walk everywhere rather than having to negotiate public transport!
The rooms are a decent size, nicely kitted out with a very comfortable bed and big bathroom. The staff were also excellent - providing us with a friendly welcome and any information that we required. The breakfast provided as part of our stay was also great - we had the choice of any variation of cooked breakfasts as well as cereals, croissants, juices and hot drinks.
Also, try the Italian restaurant next door - great food and unbelievable value!
We would thoroughly recommed a stay at the Icon and will definately stay there again if we return to Prague.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

3rd stay in the Icon and again a great experience. The only Hotel I stay in Prague...

The Hästens beds are amazing... Whisky Sour in the bar was well mixed... Spa was a bargin with the 20% discount and friendly staff...

I Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is my second stay at this Amazing Hotel. This time I stayed for four nights at the beginning of December and I really had a wonderful time.

I stayed in a deluxe room since the Manager of the Hotel Mrs. Renata was kind enough to offer me an upgrade of my room due to the fact that there was some noice in my reserved room due to construction works in nearby buildings.

The ICON Hotel & Lounge is a trendy Hotel with great modern rooms with all amenities and it has a perfect position for exploring Prague since is located just a few minutes from Wencesias Square and Old Town.

The Staff of the Hotel is outstanding and one of the biggest assets of the Hotel in my opinion. Lukas, Renata and all of the staff of ICON are always there to help with a big smile on their face.

The ICON will definitely be one of my first preferences for a Hotel in Prague when I return back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed here over Christmas with my wife who suggested we stay here and after reading guest reviews and the hotel feedback i assumed i had a pretty good idea what to expect unfortunately i was disappointed and here is why.

The hotel room was smaller than expected, compared to other hotels that i have stayed in (prague) also i don't think the air con in the room worked at all as we had to leave the window open at night to stay cool.

Internet access is available on each floor, i would suggest using the wired connection in the room instead of the wireless, I was told by reception that both wired and wireless are the same internet speed...I work in I.T and they are not.

The beds are average, I know the hotel boast about the beds but they are just average unless your used to sleeping on a bed of nails you wont notice too much difference. our bed linen (pillows only) was changed once in 5 days. (no doubt if i'd asked the hotel to change for it they may off).

The corridors are dark and do have a designer feel, but from inside the room they echo and every sound is amplified and makes for a sleepless night.

This hotel breakfast is available from 7 am to 11 pm, the staff are happy and could pass for hotel guest in their attire.. that's not a bad thing in my opinion, breakfast choice is just ok.

Tea & Coffee varied fruit juice, pastries & cereals: pancakes, sausage bacon and eggs are available on request (you will get just 1 sausage and 1 bacon rasher though).

The hotel staff on reception changes frequently and we were never challenged entering the hotel by a new member of staff on reception, the staff i dealt with were very helpful and willing to help with any questions.

The hotel is located 5 mins walk from Mustek metro and probably 15 min walk to the famous astronomical clock tower. good location but you could walk past the hotel door as the hotel signage is a scrolling electronic display.

We booked our taxis from the airport to the hotel using the Prague Experience website, £22 e/w cheaper than booking through the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICONSales, Director of Sales at The ICON Hotel & Lounge, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear user of TripAdvisor,


We are very sorry to hear that your stay at The ICON Hotel & Lounge did not meet your expectations.

As we value our client's opinion, let me address the main negative topics of your review to clarify those to our future clients:

Room Size - rooms in standard category cover some 22-28m2 which is clearly stated on the hotel website. If the guests prefer larger rooms they can opt for DeLuxe room or Junior Suite

Air-Conditioning - it is true, that air-conditioning is switched off during the winter season. Czech Republic lies in the mild climate zone and therefore we use heating during winter time and air-conditioning during summer time. There is an individual temperature control in each room of our hotel which allows our guests to set the temperature within certain limits.

Beds - company Hästens, which has provided our hotel with beds have been producing these since 1852 and during these years have really build up a reputation of one of the best bed manufacturers in the world. Of course that their products will not suite everyone, but we are glad that many of our guests have decided to buy their own Hästens bed after they have stayed with us

Bed linen - our housekeeping is changing the entire bedding every 2-3 days, it is absolutely impossible that the bed linen would not have been changed during a 5-day stay. Of course that our guests can request for a more frequent service and we will be happy to provide such without any extra charge.

Corridors - as you mention, the corridor lights are dimmed on purpose - it really makes the, normally boring, corridors look better, funny and more welcoming. The echoing is very much reduced by the thick carpets which are placed in all corridors

Breakfast – we are happy that in general you liked our breakfast. Our breakfast works on an all you can eat basis – that means you can order the hot choices as many times as you like. If one sausage or one slice of bacon does not fill you, feel free to ask for another, our breakfast staff will be happy to help. All cold food which is available at our breakfast buffet is kept in a cooling fridge or served on ice. The cold buffet is being replenished several times during the breakfast and quality of food is monitored frequently by the breakfast staff. If our guests do not like the offer we have on the buffet, we will be happy to prepare fresh cut for them within a minute.

Signage – our hotel wants to be a discreet place in the city center, that is why we do not have red carpet, bellboys and flags waving above our door. If you know the address, you can not miss us.

Airport Transfer – we can arrange for a safe and reliable airport transfer service for as low as EUR 29,- for a private limousine / one way. This price is directly comparable with other providers of the same quality service.


We thank you for your feedback and hope that I have addressed all the main issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for five nights over xmas, the hotel is way to hot its so uncomfortable we turned the tempreture of in room and opened window and still to hot. The walls are so thin we could hear a baby crying all night. Breakfast was just ok they need fridges to keep the food in as it was warm and warm ham and cheese is not nice. The staff were nice and its in a good location but thats it . We will go back to our usual hotel next time andels which you caint fault.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICONSales, Director of Sales at The ICON Hotel & Lounge, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor users,

Writer of this review has shared same room as the one who posted the following review "Nothing Special...Just Average".

We encourage all users to see our feedback under that review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our stay at The ICON Hotel was pleasant; the staff was very attentive and friendly (particularly the wait staff in the restaurant). Our room was very clean and had an incredibly comfortable bed. The location of the hotel is excellent; there is some street noise, but not so much that it was a problem. When we return to Prague we will return to The ICON.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The ICON Hotel & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The ICON Hotel & Lounge

Also Known As:
The Icon Hotel And Lounge
Icon Hotel Prague
Address: V Jame 6 | Nove Mesto, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Prague
#47 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#76 Family Hotel in Prague
#97 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The ICON Hotel & Lounge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ICON Hotel & Lounge redefines hospitality in Prague. Our small design and hip hotel is probably the most personal hotel in Prague and definitely the only one with a sense of fun. We have all-natural handmade Hästens beds in all rooms, free internet, biometric safes, MP3 connections, coffee making facilities, luxury linen and lots of smiles. Unique is the all-day breakfast which is served a la carte from 0700am till 1100pm in our hotel restaurant ROOM. The ICON - service with a sense of fun... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The ICON Hotel & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The ICON Hotel & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.