We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Savic Hotel to your Saves list
Savic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jilska 7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Excellent place to stay. Very close to everything. Wonderful staff. Breakfast buffet was very good as was dinner In the restaurant. The private lounges were a good meeting place for our large family group

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    264
    41
    11
    4
See reviews for
174
1,186
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Savic Hotel is in perfect location - right in the middle of old town, three minutes walk to the Astonomical Clock and the big square, but not much vehicle-traffic on either side of the hotel. My wife and I arrived in Prague on Nov 22, 2013, and stayed three nights in Savic. Lady at the reception desk was very nice and welcomed us with soft drinks and beer. We got our room on the second floor. Though the elevator didn't stop exactly on the room floor, but it was just few steps to climb. Room and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast (included with the nightly rate) was excellent - various types of bread, croissants, sausages, bacon, ham. cheese, vegetables, omelette of your choice, milk, juice, coffee, tea, fruits - you name it. Another big plus is - free WiFi.
As for the location, it is perfect for everything - Astro Clock, Charles bridge and most of the tourist attractions are all within walking distances. If we go to Prague again, we will give first priority to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Getting to this hotel from the main train station was a bit of an ordeal, but once there everything was great. We had one of the top floor rooms so there were low ceiling beams and small windows (it's a refurbed monastery I think) but it was still cool (we were there during 40degree C days), clean and well appointed. It is located in the very centre of Prague so everything was within walking distance. Breakfast each morning was great and there are lots of great restaurants very close by. I would DEFINITELY stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: My husband is about 6ft tall and he had to duck under beams to get around the room. If you're ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Savic hotel is fantastic. From check in to check out the service is outstanding. Our room was delightful, large with comfortable three quarter beds. The bathroom was lovely with a great selection of toiletries. WiFi is free. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was a magnificent spread. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but it looked good.
This hotel has a very convenient location. It is almost around the corner from the Old Town square and is a short walk to Wencelas square and Charles bridge. We caught a tram to the Castle and then walked back across the bridge to the hotel. There are also many good restaurants just a short walk from the Savic.
My daughter and I came to visit the Christmas markets in Prague and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Savic is a beautiful place. As part of it was once a monastery it still holds some of its Baroc style. All of the vaulted ceilings are still in place.
The staff are very helpful.
Breakfast was a feast, so much choice from cooked meats and cheeses to fruit and porridge.If you wanted something cooked. you had eggs, bacon, sausage.
The location of the hotel was central to the old town and most of the tourist attractions were within walking distance.
Should I return to Prague I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here mid december with my girlfriend for a long weekend. We visit prague every year and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and no request was too much hassle. The hotel is about 5 mins from old town square and charles bridge with some very good pubs and restaurants near by. Totally recommend the pub straight over from the hotel's reception entrance (u tri ruzi) although we did not eat here the food looked good, but if you like your beer then this place is quite special as its a brew pub. They make different kinds of beer but they all tasted great (recommend the vienna red) and if you want to be there whilst they are making the beer then they brew every saturday and sunday morning. I would defo book this hotel again, we got it for a good price but i would defo spend extra to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Savic from 8th to 12th December 2013. The hotel is perfectly located for easy walking (2 women in their 50's) distance of everything you could possibly want to see in Prague as a tourist; apart from the castle which is a few stops on the tram, which in itself is fun.
The hotel itself was even better than we had expected. Reception staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and very elegant and a good size. The beds were very comfortable and with nice bedding. The bathroom was very tastefully done all in marble but with modern fittings. Endless, fast flowing hot water. Room temperature was always good, warm but not too hot. The breakfast was plentiful and with a very wide selection to suit all tastes. Eggs available in a multitude of ways and cooked to order so always hot and fresh. Breakfast is eaten in what would have originally been the court yard but now has a glass ceiling and there are lots of large plants (trees in pots) to bring the outside in. All the lights are lovely with lots of crystal ceiling & wall mounted lights. All the furniture is of a very nice quality and tasteful done.

The free wi-fi was easy and very fast. The room had a good size wall mounted TV, radio alarm clock with ipod docking. A good sized desk to put a laptop on with easily accessible plug sockets.

The communal areas of the hotel have had a lot of money spent on them and are bright and very clean in all areas while still maintaining features of the original monastery.

I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague.

The only negative event that occurred was we had booked a transfer from the airport to the hotel, through the service offered by the hotel (700CZK) no one was there to meet us, we had to phone the hotel and in total had to wait 45 minutes for it to turn up. However on departing we used the same service and he was on time.

Room Tip: We were in 201 which was at the end of the corridor so no passing 'traffic'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Savic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savic Hotel

Address: Jilska 7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Prague
#23 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#26 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#26 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Savic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gothic and Renaissance building, which has in it the original ceiling in certain parts dating to the year 1319, is one of few in Prague. The Savic Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre at Old Town Square, just a few steps away, on the cobbled streets, from the famous Astronomical Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Savic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savic Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.