We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. I loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Horse House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Golden Horse House to your Saves list
The Golden Horse House
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Uvoz 8, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 566 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Moscow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect. I loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Hi guys:)
i was not sure re this place since i have read all reviews about it on TripAdvisor:), BUT...
I was absolutely pleased with everything in this hotel. !!! Thanks to Alex and his friendly way to run business!!
Well, the hotel is all clean. Beds (at least mine, on 3rd floor) are 100% comfortable. I even jumped at it to feel who could find it not so comfortable:). Mattress is about 25 cm high and reasonably strong:)
Yes, you have possibility to smoke:)
Yes, it takes 7-10 mins to get to Charles Bridge by foot;steps leading to The Prague Castle are right over the corner (pass 2 more houses).
If you want to relax in a park, you climb the hill a bit (will take 4-5 mins) and you are in Petrzhin park, near Strakhov Monastery and Loretta place.

I would not recommend this place for people with disabilities or couples with small children (especially in prams!), since Golden Horse House IS on the hill.

It is alright to walk up and down the hill daily and you are getting used to it very soon (in fact landform slope is not extreme:)), but i have seen a lot of Mums and Dads struggling with their kids in prams (obviously going to get to the Castle..)

The last notice is that there is a small and nice pub right the next door to the hotel. I was sleeping with windows open so at some nights i did hear sounds from this pub.

Good news is that : if you have your windows closed all be ok:) (maybe apart from those who live on the ground floor...);
secondly voices of guys enjoing themselves in this pub are heard from 10 pm (this is when they probably are already done:)) till about 12 pm... not more. and not every night:)

TV is working, sattelite, ca 20-30 channels (i have found only those in German lol..)
Small kitchen island includes fridge, electric cooker (upper panel), sink, plates, cups and all one needs for cooking. Plus electric kettle.
You can order laundry service, etc..
VERY GOOD VALUE for money

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
16
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
312 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The beds aren't too clean if you lift up the mattress but no bugs just dirt and some food. However it was only 60 euros a night. The room is clean but you are not provided with fresh towels daily and your room is not made up which i didn't like. You are provided with a breakfast which includes warm eggs and cereals, meat and cheese.

You are situated right near the castle and only a few minutes from the famous charles bridge and the john lennon wall.

To be this close to town it's an amazing price none the less.
However there is no lift in this place so it's hard to carry heavy luggage up many flights of stairs.

The beds are very hard here as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This place used to be a hole in the wall deal in the early 2000. Now, the owner has become money hungry and has a regular habit of overbooking the rooms and telling the guests at the last minute to move to other rooms upstairs where the quality is compromised. The rooms on the first and second floors are the best. Rooms on the 3rd or 4th floor are lesser in quality as the floors and the wall are not as solid as the first 2 floors. The kitchens are very small and not recommended for claustrophobias, but it has all the necessary things to cook.

The breakfast lounge is managed by the other business owner charging 5 euro for a breakfast which is basic, but overpriced for the locals. The location is great if you can hike up and down. So you need to be active and healthy. Public transportation is not so close, but need to walk 150 meters up or down the hills. Overall, the value is not that bad, but you might get bumped to another room, if there is a group of tourists who want to pay more. So your reservation may not be honored sometimes. Otherwise, some guests love this place. About 25% will hate this place and won't come back like myself.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We spend 3 days with my boyfriend in Prague and we were quite happy about the accommodation. The house is very cozy, quiet, clean, location perfect - but overpriced comparing to other parts of the town, there were computers with internet on every floor, nice breakfast in the morning with fresh pastry. The room was avarage, Tv only in german, basic equipment, but with certain style. No sigh of smoke at all. The only problem was our bed. The mattress was horrible! Hard and low quality- some cheap ikea stuff. if you dont like hard matress, dont choose this pension. The house lady was a bit distant but polite and helpful. For that money (47 euro) it was a good value. however, Prague is absolutelly amazing! beautiful and mysterious.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaizyB
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

The Golden Horse is a 16th Century House converted into a B&B. The accommodations are very simple but it is clean and the location is fantastic. It is situated in the old part of the city within easy walking distance of everything and close to embassies and expensive hotels. It is not really romantic and there are no real services to speak of but for solo travelers or travelers on a tight budget, it is a great place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

The location is excellent, the rooms are quite average. If you are non-smoker, do not come there. Somebody smokes in the premises (might be personnel), the smoke comes up and penetrates the rooms, if you are non-smoker, be ready to get a disgusting smells.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

I used to like this place. It is cheap, in a very good location and gives you all the basics (a good-sized room, ensuite bathroom, even a kitchen corner). However, I have just had a rather disappointing stay:
The room was okay (well, had a funny colour scheme, but no problem). The price seemed right (50 euro a night in what for Prague is the beginning of the high season). Free and well-functioning wi-fi. The TV didn't work (remote control was broken and the buttons on the set were so worn out they did not click) but who cares, in Prague. However, during my stay they rented two rooms above me to 4 English lads. Not the aggressive lager lout types, but noisy anyway. Would shut up when told to do so, but only until the return from the next trip to the centre. Spoilt my stay, I moved out, losing the 50 euro I had paid in advance for the last night (they insist on advance payment). The front desk guy shrugged his shoulders, 's-- happens'.
I will not return. There are places in Prague that quietly discriminate against groups of young Brits, and it's a good policy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Hradcany & Letna
Residence Green Lobster
Residence Green Lobster
#149 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda)
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#35 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Horse House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Horse House

Address: Uvoz 8, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 566 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Horse House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Golden Horse House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Horse House Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Horse House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.