We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value and location but bit noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stary Pivovar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stary Pivovar to your Saves list
Hotel Stary Pivovar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plzenska 229/9, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #476 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good value and location but bit noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Very good and nice hotel for its price.Good location only 12 minutes by tram to Andel or 20-25 minutes to old town.One of the bad thing is that hotel is located very close to busy highway so its a bit noisy but it did not bothered me that much but for someone who has light sleep could be issue.Rooms are very nice and worm with small Tv with not much choice of channels.Only thing i was missing was a kettle to make tea or coffee.Another small issue was that during my stay it happened few many times that staff or cleaner came to my room without knocking even that i had do not disturb label on my door.But otherwise staff was friendly and helpful.Most definitely i would visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: as much far as possible from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    13
    13
    14
See reviews for
10
32
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Good But Noisy Location, Great Staff

Although this hotel is located next to a busy highway with tram stops within easy walking distance, this is a very convenient location for visiting Prague.

We did not have the breakfast that was included in our nightly rate but it seemed typical European, nothing special.

Unfortunately, during our stay there was a huge down pour and the hotel lobby flooded. For me, this was no big deal just added an interesting touch to our stay.

On the plus side, the front desk staff at Hotel Stary Pivovar was exceptionally pleasant and provided good local information about touring the city. Tram tickets are available for purchase right at the front desk.

One nice touch for us was that one of the front desk clerks offered to take care of our laundry while we out and about in the city.

If you can sleep through the constant highway noise or end up with a more quiet room than we did, staying at Hotel Stary Pivovar can be a good deal.

I know I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have now used this Hotel a few times, mainly for the location, parking and the price. As with all reviews on here, you have to weigh everything up with the price you pay. Firstly for us, we normally travel to Prague by car having played Ice Hockey somewhere in the Czech Republic. The Hotel is conveniently located a couple of minutes just off of the D5 motorway and has ample free parking, so a plus in our eyes. That said this means the Hotel is not in the city centre, though it is located on a tram route, with a tram stop 5 minutes walk away, with a trip to the centre taking around 20mins or so. The Tram however, does run 24hrs, so you can enjoy Prague as long as you want.

The Hotel has an attractive exterior with history dating back as far as the 12th century and this continues inside with the reception and bar/breakfast areas. In all of our visits the reception staff were all courteous and spoke good English. They offer a wide range of tours and information as well as the Tickets needed for the Trams/public transport sysetms. Open 24hrs the reception sells basic essentials as well as beverages and snacks. A pool table and table football are located just behind the reception and are also available 24hrs.

The Bar / restaurant area is also in keeping with the old world feel with traditional Czech decor and is a pleasant enough place to enjoy a beer. We also tried a meal from the menu on one of our stays, and while not the best food i've had in the Czech Republic, was enjoyable, if a little pricey.

With regards to the rooms. We have now used the Hotel 4 times, and we have had 4 different rooms. All have been a good size, decorated individually and have been clean and presentable with fesh towels and linen. We have never experience what other reviewers seem to have stated regarding the cleanliness. The hotel does operate the now fashionable 'green' policy whereby you are encourage to re-use towels, but should you require clean ones, just request them from reception. All rooms come with a Flat screen TV with the usual Czech / German channels (CNN is available) and all rooms have free Wifi access. The only downside with the rooms is that the outer ones that face onto the road do suffer from road noise, but this is not too bad, and we have slept soundly on all occasions.

If there is an area that could do with improvement it's the breakfast. There is only a small choice of cold meats, cheese, bread and cereal (if there is any out). If for example all the cheese has been taken, it can take 15mins for another plate to be brought out. The juices on offer are little more than very watered down dilute pop. On the up side, The coffee is fresh and surprisingly good quality, however, you are (if lucky enough to find one) given what can only be described as a thimble of a cup to drink from. We resorted to using the juice glasses instead. If anyone from the Hotel reads this, please address this area.

All in all, for around £16-£18 per person per night for bed and breakfast i think this Hotel represents great value for money. Given other peoples reviews, i'm not sure what people expect for this price range, but If you don't mind the Tram ride (which i think adds to the experience), i doubt you will find much better. We have 3 more hockey tours planned for next year and have no hesitation in using this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose an inner room or one that faces the woodland area behind the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

For the past few years I have stayed in many different hotels all over the Europe and I have never experienced such a rude, careless and ignorant staff and owner.
I understand that some things can go wrong, as long as there is someone in the property who makes an afford to address these problems.
This is my first time writing a negative feedback but I really want to warn people as this place is not worth the nerves.
Other than unprofessional customer service the rooms are very very basic, so basic that you feel like in the prison cell. The location isn't great at all. There is a tram stop nearby but the journey back to the hotel late at night isn't pleasant at all. Peace and good time are priceless, so pay few extra euro for a better hotel and let your memories from Prague be all wonderful !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Since our last visit in 2012, the standart of the breakfast buffet has gone down - it takes too long time to fill it up.

The food in the restaurant has become VERY poor!

It's food, but bad.

Beer is still good!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I had no problems with customer service like the premiums reviewers. The staff were all courteous and spoke good English. When you pay in cash thu give you a 5% discount on the room. The rooms were very large and clean. It is quite the trip to get to the downtown area though, but not a problem for me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We arrive to the Hotel around 7:30 am an they were kind enough to let us use the room since that time even though the check in time was 14:00 hrs, an we decided to pay for breakfast in advance, everything was going good until then, once in the room we notice the shower was dirty and in general we notice a lack of maintenance, I was surprised since the front desk/bar/restaurant it was very pretty. After a while we went out and talked to the Receptionist to ask her how the public transport worked and she just refuse to help us since she couldn't understand English, we even tried in a little bit of german french and spanish but it was hopeless. On the next morning we went to eat breakfast at 9:00 (since the buffet was closing at 10:00) to find out it was empty, all they ha was cereal and yogurts, some orange juice that tasted like water with a bit of orange, and some sausages with plastic around, when we ask to the Staff if they were going to bring more stuff they didn't even answer us, the tables were dirty and they were mad when we ask for a spoon to eat some cereal.

Conclusion: the staff is terrible, they have no manners and it seems like they are in the wrong business.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stary Pivovar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary Pivovar

Address: Plzenska 229/9, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #476 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stary Pivovar 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are equipped with their own social facilities with shower. Hotel guests have at their disposal a parking area for cars and buses. Breakfast is served in buffet style. Hotel also offers currency exchange and secretarial services. On request we can arrange sight seeing tours, private guides and various cultural events. Hotels has also its own taxi service. Thanks to its location, the hotel is easily accessible from the center (15 minutes by tram from the Andel shopping center in Smichov) and also from Prague Ruzyne airport (15 minutes) and from the direction of Plzen as well. Hotel guests have at their disposal a guarded parking area for cars and buses. The hotel also offers currency exchange and secretarial services. We can prepare all events according to the clients' wishes, including complete services, decorations, technical equipment and gastronomic offers. On request we can arrange for circular tours of Prague and the near environs, guided tours of the city, tickets for sporting and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Stary Pivovar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stary Pivovar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.