We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming hotel in he center of the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence U Cerneho Orla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Residence U Cerneho Orla to your Saves list
Residence U Cerneho Orla
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Mostecka 11, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 348 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
zurich
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Very charming hotel in he center of the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This was a great hotel, less than 3 minutes walk from the Charles street bridge and close to metro stations and tram stops. This was perfect for me, as I wanted to be on the bridge for sunrise each day. Be aware that it is in the center of a very touristy spot, so expect street noise late (might be quieter on the back end of the hotel, but the view out the window is great).

Staff could not have been nicer, perfect English and some nice tips for exploring the city. It is an old and creaky building and there is no lift, so if you have a lot of luggage request a room near the ground floor. Great decor and a comfy room, the bathroom was gorgeous. They also provide a laptop computer with free internet access, which was appreciated.

I am happy to recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again if I come back to Prague.

Room Tip: if you like a quiet room, ask for one not facing the street. Easy to reach by public transport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
89
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kosice, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed here for one night, whereby I slept like a baby. My room was orientated into the street and I didn´t hear any noise. Possible reasons could be I stayed there in january, when it is not that crowdy and I was too tired :)

Beds are comfy and the room was very nice, bath spacious.

Will stay here definitely also next time.

Receptionists were ok, helped with everything I´ve asked. They even stored my luggage while I went to the city centre after check out. Waitress at the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff was warm, so helpful, funny and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The rooms were clean, and a good size. The rooms with windows can be noisy at night with the after bar crowds and the rooms without windows are not air conditioned but are very quiet. The breakfasts were amazing... with a variety of egg dishes, croissants and other pastries, cheeses, fruits. There is no elevator here but again the staff went out of their way to help with luggage. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows to street can be noisy during busy tourist season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This was by far our favorite hotel on our recent European trip. Among the highlights:

-Perfect central location steps from Charles Bridge
-Hotel has charming character and decor - it feels historic but is kept in pristine condition
-Restaurant is fantastic, and includes free breakfast (breakfast is made to order from a wide menu, not buffet style)
-Staff is extremely friendly and helpful - and go above and beyond to help and make guest feel welcome


We stayed in the attic suite - which offered lots of space, charm, and an unbelievable view from the balcony! The other rooms looked great too though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

the hotel is spotless but old. the restaurant is to die for. great czech food and very nice service

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I have just returned from a 2 night stay in this hotel with my Girlfriend. We live in the Eastern part of the Czech Republic. I am from the UK and my girlfriend is Czech and she was really keen on showing me Prague. She booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. Ive travelled all over the world and I have to say that this hotel was one of the finest ive ever stayed in. EVERYTHING about the hotel is perfect-the location, just seconds from Charles Bridge, the way the hotel looks inside and out. The service from the reception was fantastic and the girl who was on the desk all weekend was so helpful and professional. The room was beautiful, clean and to be honest we didnt want to leave. The hotel is full of interesting artefacts in the rooms and in the hallways such as old guns,swords and crossbows. The breakfast which was included was unbelievable-everything fresh and cooked to order, served by friendly waiters plus it filled us up for most of the day. The service in the restaurant also was great. I could not fault this hotel and I would recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: Be friendly to the staff at reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washinton DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Hotel is in a great location in regards to Charles Bridge and is an easy walk across to where many other attractions may be situated and is only a 7 minute walk to the closest metro stop. If you want to be near the center of attention with less noise and great price, this is a perfect find. However I say this with a disclaimer. I stayed here from a Sunday through Wednesday and it is my belief that if it had been on a weekend, sleeping may have been a little tougher with noise outside from night walkers and people bar hopping. We did not encounter any problems with noise while staying here except one night where some drunk girl was locked out of somewhere and was screaming to be let it in, but I would think this can happen anywhere. More importantly, most walkers at night are on the other side of the bridge, so this location was great with less noise then the most of the places I seen along the main path of attractions. We walked to anywhere we wanted to within 10-15 minutes tops. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and pleasant to talk to, rooms were clean and freshened daily. The Breakfast was good. Unlike most other places it’s not a standard continental breakfast nor it is a quick buffet setup. You can order between 4 or 5 different choices of breakfast meals. I would recommend to anyone under the age of 50 and without small children if you want to be close to the center of attractions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence U Cerneho Orla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence U Cerneho Orla

Address: Mostecka 11, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 348 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence U Cerneho Orla 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated on the Royal Route along which Czech royalty would approach Prague Castle and offers excellent access to all of the city's bars, restaurants, shops, museums and art galleries. Explore the beautiful, historic sights of this wonderful city and relax in this peaceful hotel. Visit Prague's Old Town Square and its famous Astronomical Clock, the city's castle or just shop or enjoy a drink in one of the city's many bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence U Cerneho Orla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence u Cerneho Orla Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence U Cerneho Orla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.