We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A&O Prag Metro Strizkov Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of A&O Prag Metro Strizkov

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added A&O Prag Metro Strizkov to your Saves list
A&O Prag Metro Strizkov
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Decinska 1, Prague 180 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Fortuna Luna)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #449 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A&O Prag Metro Strizkov Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was very disappointed during my journey in this hostel one week ago. Most of all employees at the counter could not help me at all and I could barely understand them. I asked to clean the room I was sleeping, because it was smelling REALLY BAD and nothing happened during the 4 days I stayed. Then, since I'm member of the ADAC Club I was suposed to get 12% discount plus a welcome drink. When I arrived I only got 10% and nobody offered me anything. After I read again the profits of my membership, which I wasn't 100% sure but remember somehow, I wanted to talk to the manager, who never showed up, like almost during the weekend. At the end I asked an employee at the counter about my free "welcome drink" altough I was leaving and had a soft drink.
I've stayed in an other A&O Hostel in Nurnberg and everything was better. Another negative point is how to get to the hostel. When I arrived to Stizkov Station, I saw some guidesignes to get to the hostel: don't trust the last sign because it makes you get confused. If I would go to Prag I would better stay near the Old Square, paying a little more, but saving the train ticket, which actually, added to what I payed at the hostel, would cost almost the same.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Prag Metro Strizkov, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Juan,

thank you very much for your feedback!

Your comments are highly appreciated, as we are constantly striving to improve our services and meet our guests’ expectations.

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Prague.

We apologize for the unsatisfactory cleaning you experienced in your room during your stay.
At A&O, we place a great emphasis on cleanliness, so the rooms are cleaned on a daily basis.
The irregular cleaning was reported to our external cleaning company and we will continue to monitor this issue, to ensure that it will not occur again.

I have also forwarded your complaint to the hotel manager, she will inform her employees again how the ADAC discount works.

As you have written a feedback ticket to our central customer support as well, we have also responded to you in both ways.

We hope you appreciate our efforts and look forward to welcoming you again at A&O HOTELS and HOSTELS.

Kind regards,

Your A&O Customer Support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    23
    12
    8
See reviews for
12
17
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

In my experience this was the absolute worst stay I have ever had in a hostel period. I was not expecting a 5 star hotel for the price of a hostel, however it was very expensive to stay at this place. The beer was more expensive at the hostel bar then any restaurant we visited in the city center and the breakfast was not worth the price paid. Not mention the hostel is very far away from the city center and it is not easy to get back to the hostel at night time. We did not feel safe in this area where the hostel is located and there is absolutely nothing to doing in the area. My recommendation is... do not waste your money on this ugly money hungry hostel. Find a place that is closer to the city of Prague.

Room Tip: Find another Hostel closer to the city of Prague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Prag Metro Strizkov, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Andy,

thank you for your honest feedback. We're sorry to hear that you didn't seem to like your stay with us. Our prices depend on the category you've booked. Naturally, the hostel standard is very low-priced and our 3*** hotel standard is comparable with any 3*** hotel in Prague.

You are, of course, right noting that our beer at the bar costs a bit more than in Czech restaurants/clubs. Prague is known to offer beer even cheaper than water. It is therefore difficult to stay competitive in the hotel industry. You may ask other hoteliers and they would tell you the same.

Nevertheless, we appreciate your comments and take it to heart.

Our location is very handy for business people and groups as they prefer the proximity to the fair and congress centre and the space within the building for larger groups.

We have put a lot of effort into renovating the whole complex; the rooms and service are outstanding, also the beergarden with entertainment facilities in summer. The outside look of the building is not yet A&O standard but will be in 2014. To us, it is the comfort within the hotel that matters first.

In February, we have had a special deal where we've sold each room for only 5€. No matter if single, family or multi-bed room. We would like to dissociate ourselves from your argument of being 'money hungry'. Our accommodation is as fair-priced as most other Prague hotels and hostels.

We'd love to have you as our guest again in one of our other hotels and hostels in Germany and Austria. You will see that we offer a very central location (almost always next to the central train station) and super prices.

Thanks again for your feedback!

Kind regards,
Your A&O support team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We paid 25 euro for a night, i am a person who stayed in 4 star hotels, hostels, even in cheap motels and did not die....this time we were on o low budget. My boyfriend and i were very pleased with our staying, the bed was great, the location was ok, we took the subway wich we quite enjoyed and were in a few minutes in the center of Prague. The food was not the best but we do have to understand that you can t get caviar for the price you pay. The staff was great, especially one of the concierges, very helpfull, he even took the time to draw us a map as i have very bad orientation skills...the only thing i did not like at all was the fact that the shover cabin's drain was full and the water could not run down so the whole showering procedure was awfull...we had a great time overall, we stayed for 4 nights and everybody was super friendly to us and we had a lot of fun. Once more, i would like to point out the fact that this is a 2 star hotel, not the Hilton's, you pay around 25 euro for a night not 400 so do not expect to find the royal chamber but be sure that you'll find great people who like to help if you know how to treat them right...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Prague has an abundance of hotels and in low season, when fewer tourists venture to the Czech capital, there are many good deals to be struck. Therefore normally there would be no point in selecting this hotel quite some distance away from the city center. But in February of 2013 they celebrated completion of extensive redecoration of the rooms and advertised an offer we just could not refuse. Now that we stayed there we might even come back when they are not offering super-special deals
.
The architecture of this high rise building is everything but beautiful. The facilities in the rooms are very basic. There is no television in the room, and if I remember correctly there was only one electrical socket in the room to recharge your mobile or camera batteries.
The window arrangement was highly unusual. They could not be opened, so that the only fresh air into
the room could be let in through the door from the corridor. Yet, despite double glazing in the cold winter of 2012/2013 there was a constant draught from the windows. Luckily the radiator worked and was strong enough to keep us warm. The beds were new and comfortable. There are two lifts, so that usually you do not have to wait too long, even though one of them may be blocked by guests with lots of luggage in or out of it. Shower and toilet are in two different rooms so that you do not block your partner when having a shower. Both these rooms go off a little corridor which is separated from the bed room by a door, meaning that there are TWO doors between the beds and the outside corridor, which makes for good noise insulation fom other guests in the hall outside on their way between the lifts and their rooms.
Breakfast is very good, with an enormous variety of things to chose from. Juice is closer to real juice than to the coloured water that many other establishments dare to offer to their guests.
All members of staff that we met were extremely friendly and helpful.
Contrary to other remarks here we never felt unsafe when walking the short distance to the Metro station.The trip from the Metro station Strizkov (on line C) to the city center takes less than 20 minutes.
If you want your own toilet and bathroom for a comparatively low price then go for this hotel !

Room Tip: There is a highway on one side of the building. If you are sensitive to traffic noise, ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here with my partner for four nights. Close to the metro so easy access to the old or new town. The walk to and from the metro is not very pleasant dark streets, always felt unsafe when walking back to and from the metro. The hotel was very basic. Rooms were in need of some care and if not updating new curtains / carpets / beds at the very least! The hotels atmosphere was very gloom and we did not feel safe, one night we came out of the lift to our floor and the lights were out luckily are room was facing the lift so keeping the lift open for light was the only way we could see, light switches did not help. Breakfast was not nice luckily we did not pay extra for breakfast always cold and not a lot on offer at all ! We did not expect a lot when we booked this hotel Because of the lack of stars but this hotel I would give it less. Also we were requested to always hand our key in at reception when ever we went out, which we never did as the hotel never had staff around so anyone could get hold of the key behind the desk. The plus of this hotel I would say the wifi only connected in the cafe and the man at reception for guidance. We would defiantly pay more next time to ensure a more secure and looked after hotel. Tickets for the metro have to be purchased from a machine inside the station and make sure you have change as the women in the shop does not speak a word of English and to get change or try and speak Czech does not make a difference in her response. Other than the hotel our stay in Prague was amazing and enjoyed it and would defiantly stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Prag Metro Strizkov, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Bella,

thank you for your feedback. Of course, we'd like to take the time and reply to your comments.

I'm afraid, we cannot really make the Prague Metro look nicer, safer and more multilingual. So sorry for the trouble but unfortunately this is beyond our powers.

It is interesting that you felt the hotel atmosphere was gloomy as A&O has painted and re-designed the whole inner complex using bright colours according to the hostel chain's high standards. It might be an unusual feeling being a guest in such a high building, we understand that. We will, of course, forward this matter to the hotel manager.

A&O's "all-you-can-eat" breakfast is always cold. The choice of yoghurts, cereals, breads, cheeses and assorted cold meats along with the salad buffet and fruits is A&O standard.
We do understand that you are probably used to British breakfast standard with bacon, beans and eggs.

Thanks for appreciating our free WiFi in all public areas.

A quick note to our key system: A&O is going to replace the keys with key cards in the near future. The reason you were required to hand in your set of keys is that, in case you loose them, anyone would know where to go and could break in your hotel room. So, this procedure was merely for safety reasons. We have a lot of young guests who travel as a group. They somehow tend to loose their keys more frequently than our other guests.

We're hoping to see you in one of our hotels and hostels in Europe again.
Sunny regards from Prague,

Your A&O Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koping, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel located in the northern parts of Prague had a lot of bad points to talk about and that´s just the reality. But you can´t expect a lovely standard when you pay around 20 euro/night for a double room. We stayed there with our floorball team and we didn´t have any big demands so I felt that we left this hotel pretty grateful after all.

The breakfast is not much to talk about, the rooms isn´t very comfortable and it´s very far from city centre but you can go by Metro to the "Muzeum" station in just 15 minutes.

If it was possible I would have graded this hotel to 2,5.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

we paid 25 euro for a night, i am a person who stayed in 4 star hotels, hostels, even in cheap motels and did not die....this time we were on o low budget. my boyfriend and i were very pleased with our staying, the bed was great, the location was ok, we took the subway wich we quite enjoyed and were in a few minutes in the center of prague. the food was not the best but we do have to understand that you can t get caviar for the price you pay. the staff was great, especially one of the concierges, very helpfull, he even took the time to draw us a map as i have very bad orientation skills...the only thing i did not like at all was the fact that the shover cabin s drain was full and the water could not run down so the whole showering procedure was awfull...we had a great time overall, we stayed for 4 nights and everybody was super friendly to us and we had a lot of fun. once more, i would like to point out the fact that this is a 2 star hotel, not the hiltons, you pai around 25 euro for a night not 400 so do not expect to find the royal chamber but be sure that you ll find great people who like to help if you know how to treat them right...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A&O Prag Metro Strizkov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Prag Metro Strizkov

Address: Decinska 1, Prague 180 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Fortuna Luna)
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #449 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A&O Prag Metro Strizkov 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, seekda GmbH, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your A&O Prag Metro Strizkov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Luna Hotel
Fortuna Luna Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A&O Prag Metro Strizkov, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.