We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice Apartment House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alice Apartment House to your Saves list
Alice Apartment House
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Sokolovska 30 | Praha 8, Prague 18600, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great location and value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I recently stayed here for 3 nights with 2 other friends.

We found this apartment on trip advisor as there was a promotion to get an apartment for the same price as a room. We decided to take this offer and were able to get an apartment with a double bed and a single bed (3 people) for the same price as a regular room. The apartment appeared to have been completely renovated and was in great shape! The beds were EXTREMELY comfy, quite possibly one of the best sleeps I've ever had in a tourist accomodation. For the apartment it cost 75€/night without breakfast, but breakfast was not necessary as we had a complete kitchenette.

The bathroom in the apartment was quite big and the shower was amazing. We didn't have problems with hot water except for the one day all 3 of us wanted to shower one after another but I find this to be normal.

A 1-minute walk from the apartment is a BILLA grocery store and the metro. It is at this supermarket that we were easily able to buy food in advance to cook in our apartment and therefore save money on constantly going out.

The service was great, they were very helpful and provided us with many maps and advice for Prague.

The location itself is quite close to the centre and if you do not want to take the 1/2 stop on the metro, the old town can easily be reached in a 10-15 minute walk. It is also located right beside the main bus station which is helpful for those who arrive by bus companies such as Eurolines.

Room Tip: Look online to see if there is a promotion with trip advisor to get a better room at a cheaper rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceNuslova, Manager at Alice Apartment House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear guest, we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our accommodation. Thank you for nice review, it made us feel even more excited about our jobs. Please visit us again on your next trip to Prague. Alice Apartment House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This property located not far from the main city centre. City centre is a 12-15 minute walk. It is very reasonably priced. We got a serviced apartment with a street view. Rooms should be carefully picked and basement rooms should be avoided at all costs.

Staff is friendly, they guide you around for each and everything you request them for.

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms in all cases
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice A, Manager at Alice Apartment House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate if you choose Alice Apartment House for your next stay in Prague, and we promise not to give you a basement apartment provided that you let us know in advance. Have a nice day!
Staff of Alice Apartment House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Me and my partner arrived at the hotel and were greeted by a very friendly attendant who sorted us out very efficiently with no problems. The hotel offered good exchange rates on your euros which was very handy for us given we had just arrived from Germany, The Room/ "apartment" was through several locked doors within a complex of others which certainly gave a feeling of security to the whole place.
Though fairly near the town centre, approx. 8 mins walk, the walk was not all that pleasant and the streets were not particularly welcoming especially at night. This was instantly forgotten upon arriving in the market place however.
In terms of the room, we were upgraded upon arrival, presumably due to the time of year. Given this the value for money became excellent as we gained a very clean and well presented en-suite. Unfortunately the "double bed" was in fact two beds pushed together, this is fairly normal in many hotels, however, others do not have a hard wooden edge between the beds which is not covered. The mattresses were firm which was nice, and the feather pillows were very comfortable.
We had initially asked for a kitchen, and it would have been a disappointment to find our kitchen was in fact a fridge and a kettle if it weren't for other experiences across Europe showing similar creativity in their room descriptions.
The room was completely wooden, Despite all this it was very clean. Glancing at other apartments during cleaning times showed that some had fully fitted kitchens and were indeed rather luxurious.
Smelt of cigarette smoke, especially in the hallway but also in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and me were staying with Pension Alice for 4 nights at early Sep.

Good thing:
1) Convenience: so closed to metro station, coach station, eating places, supermarkets..etc it provides excellent accessibility to all attractions to cope with traveller's need.
2) Nice service: Staff were very friendly and helpful.
3) Good sleeping quality: we were given an apartment at the quiet side, the bed is very clean and comfort therefore we could sleep very well during the period of stay.

Can be improved:
1) Hot water supply: was a little bit not stable
2) Condition of apartment: we saw from the Pension's web site was very new but was a bit aged.

Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

After reading a previous review from a Canadian single woman traveling alone, I booked an apartment for 14 nights without hesitation. I was given room F. I only stayed one night and cancelled for an extra night penalty. I needed an apartment because I wanted a kitchen to cook my meals and this seemed perfect for me.

The staff was helpful and friendly; the night shift employee was maybe too friendly, not professional and smoking in the lobby with his friend using the hotel computer and making comments that made me uncomfortable.

The Free wi-fi internet in the apartment was useless with almost no signal and the hotel was not even full. With only one bar most of the time this was not acceptable for somebody needing to stay in touch with home and work online.

I could hear the trams going all night and could feel the vibrations so I didn’t sleep very well although the bed was clean and comfortable. Even if away from the big crowds, it was still very busy and too crowded for me with people rushing in and out of the metro and trams.

The kitchen was well supplied with a stove top, microwave and a kettle but missing a can opener and I was given a camping style one. The chairs in the kitchen were stained and the kitchen windows were not sound proof and I had to use headphones while cooking because I could hear people talking in the courtyard; the sound was echoing on the brick walls and made it sound like they were louder. The blinds in between the two windows were hard to pull and didn’t go all the way down so it was not very private.

This hotel is not as polished and shiny as they make it seem. It looks way better on the website and on the pictures. It’s not easy when you can’t see the place and you have to book online which is why Tripadvisor is very useful but not everyone has the same taste, standards, needs or expectations. Many factors can make for a good or bad experience. Mine with Alice (Penzion Alice) was an average one and like I said previously I never regretted one bit cancelling for a penalty. I had been offered to stay in another hotel for a better price in a better location with better amenities and I had to make my decision quickly. Please look at my other reviews in Prague to find out which hotel I chose over this one.

I am posting this review because I made my decision to book this hotel based on a Tripadvisor review. I would not go back to this hotel unfortunately and could not recommend it. If you still want to go, I suggest booking straight with them and not through an agency because if you ever want to cancel once you are there, it makes things complicated. I had booked with Venere.com and they were impossible to reach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice A, Manager at Alice Apartment House, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
We are pleased you had chosen Pension Alice for your stay in Prague. We are glad that you decided for our accommodation, and we are so sorry that you were not satisfied. Reservation for your stay was mediated by Venere.com accommodation portal for a period of 2 weeks. When we received your reservation by e-mail, we chose to book for you apartment "F" on the first floor.

Pension Alice is an accommodation facility which was established by gradual reconstruction of the original gallery apartment house. In the inner part of the building there is a terrace where you can sit and chat with friends.

Internet coverage is provided through Wi Fi via two transmitters. One of them is located in the basement and the other is at the top of the house. Therefore it is possible to select through which transmitter, Alice 1 or Alice 2, the signal is stronger. We would like to point out that our accommodation provides high-speed Internet coverage using the latest technology. As a result, even one signal point is enough to ensure flawless internet reception. Moreover, there are two computers that are connected to the Internet in the lobby, and their usage is complimentary for our guests.

Regular passage of trams as well as any other traffic is normal due to the location of Pension Alice in the city center. If someone is bothered with the noise of trams, it is possible to change the apartment for another one on a higher floor where the apartments dispose of special noise-proof windows. In case of accommodation during Easter holidays it can be assumed that the house will be full of guests and for someone it may be noisy.
Can/bottle openers and silverware are parts of the equipment in each room or apartment. However, it may happen that it will be lost or stolen, and therefore if anything is missing in the apartment, a guest can contact the reception desk. We will be happy to complement the missing thing. So far, no one has complained about the opener to be a "camping style", because it is fully functional and therefore serves its purpose.

When the traveler checked in I was at the front desk. The traveler liked the offered apartment "F" and all was in accordance with her expectations. I was very surprised when I was announced the cancellation of her reservation. If the traveler was for any reason dissatisfied with the accommodation, we could offer her another apartment.

Upon notification of cancellation at the front desk, not to mention without giving any reason, we charged a fee according to our cancellation policy, i.e. 100% cancellation fee was charged for cancellation on the day of accommodation.

The fee was charged according to our conditions and the traveler was acquainted with this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The location of this penzion is very convenient – very close to an underground train station which makes it easy to get there. Once you’re there it’s about a ten minute walk to where it starts getting busy and maybe around 15 mins to the main tourist area. We walked into town every time and then if we ended up fairly far away at the end of the day we just hopped on a train back.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming – the gentleman who checked us in brought us up to show us our room and carried my luggage for me as well. (One point to note: no elevator – this is actually fairly common in Europe) The room had a kitchen in it which we weren’t expecting so that was brilliant. We cooked dinner here every evening and brought it downstairs where there were picnic tables in a courtyard in the middle of the building. The only thing is cooking in the room made it even warmer which was tough when there was no air con.

Our bathroom was across the hall (which other guests use) but it was private and could be locked. It was a really nice bathroom – very big and clean and the shower was very good. It was inconvenient though to have to cross the hallway which others guests use before and after a shower.

The only problem we had with this penzion was that it had no air conditioning. Not being used to hot weather, we decided air con was a priority for us in prague. When we booked using hrs.com, this property came up in the list of those with air con. This isn’t really Alice’s fault, however, so as long as you’re not expecting air con then you won’t be disappointed.

What I’d recommend to a friend going to Prague would be to check out how much places cost in general and their locations at the time they want to go and if Alice comes out cheaper then it’s definitely great value.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alice Apartment House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Apartment House

Address: Sokolovska 30 | Praha 8, Prague 18600, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alice Apartment House 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your stay in Prague we would like to offer you our family-styled Apartment House. We are located in the city centre very close to the underground station Florenc. The building is a reconstructed courtyard 3 gallery apartment house from the 19th century. It is only short walk to the main Prague attractions. We offer a variety of accommodation including small and large apartments, rooms and dorm beds, which are suitable not only for single travellers and couples, but also for families and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alice Apartment House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice Apartment House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.