We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're young and not looking for fancy but pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Chili Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Chili Prague to your Saves list
Hostel Chili Prague
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Pstrossova 7/205 | Prague 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #249 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Bratislava
1 review
“If you're young and not looking for fancy but pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you are let's say on a sort of road trip, than the is the place to stay. Lot's of young people from all around Europe (World). And as the title says, if you're not looking for fancy, but a clean space to lay your head down trough the night, this is the right place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    46
    58
    25
    69
See reviews for
6
29
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Heard a lot of bad reviews about this place and when we walked in they seemed to be vindicated. The receptionist wasn't too welcoming, plus we were hit with a 5 euro key deposit each which wasn't mentioned on any site. The kitchen was absolutely filthy, nobody washed up after themselves, and the dishwasher was broken/too full or dirty to be used, I don't know. However, the rooms were fine. Beds were ok, and the rooms were a little bit dusty but for the price you pay for a room here, surely that's to be expected. Great place to meet new people and just hang out. Really close to Karlovy Lazne, biggest club in Europe apparently (although it's rubbish...), and all the other popular nightlife locations, especially the tourist bar crawls. The showers weren't too good, and the carbon monoxide alarm kept going off one of the showers on our floor which isn't good in anyone's books. Nevertheless if you can get over the near-death experiences, great place to go, would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were grand we had a ten bed dorm and the beds were grand it was close enough to the old square twenty mins to walk it. And not to far from a metro station. the WiFi only worked in certainspots and although they had computers to use for free they were very slow. The staff seem friendly enough they did have luggage storage but you had to pay for it past two o'clock. There was only one shower per half a floor me and my friend shared to save time. Other than that it was grand had the basics but prob wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed in a double room, which had a dirty floor when we arrived but otherwise was fine. The door handle fell off every time we closed the door, though, and the toilet and shower/sink room were really bad. Lights on the staircase were either permanently off or on some sort of three-second on/off automatic timer. Service was alright but we arrived downstairs to check out 7 minutes after the checkout time and were told we couldn't check out until the next person arrived to man the desk. Waited twenty minutes then the guy who was off duty and had been smoking outside brusquely gave us back our deposit, no clue why he couldn't have done it right when we got there, and lacked any sort of customer service throughout the thing. It's not bad for students but the dirt cheap includes the dirt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed at this hostel in Dec 2011. 1st thing, the hostel like everyone else said, is pretty diffucult to find and as you can see from the photo, its literally located like a hole in the wall. Its also located beside a U-turn roundabout so its damn confusing to find if you're navigating the place along the streets. I mean, you wouldn't expect a hostel to be located at the end of a road right? Although cheap, seriously you pay for what you get. Theres only 1 toilet per apartment, which has about 3 rooms containing 8 people so its around 24:1 toilet. The pictures the give on this website are completely misleading and I can only say the 1st 3 photos are "real", i.e the exterior photo and perhaps the 2 photos of the reception. All the other photos as you can tell, are clearly posed and photoshopped. For some strange reason, there were many construction workers staying at the hostel with us too. Sure I'm all for cultural integration during my visit but this comes a bit too close to comfort. The rooms remind me of ww2 movies (they are pretty old and dilapidated) and I'm quite sure they're been around since the 40's and ww2. There are better and nicer hostels around for only a few euros more. Only go there if you're on an extremely tight budget.

Room Tip: For your health and hygiene's sake please choose another hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hostel is not at the city center or close to major sight-seeing/attractions. We found that common bathrooms are not adequate in relation to number bed facilities/roomns available on the same floor. Maintenance of facilities are not up to the mark. Common kitchen and internet enabled desktops are available. Struggled to lift luggage to top floors as there are no elevator/lift.

Room Tip: If you are aged or not good at walking long distance then this is not for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed at the Hostel Chili with a group trip for two nights. Briefly - it isn't very clean, all areas (except for the breakfast room) seem to be in a bad state of repair, communal toilet & shower room were dirty and smelly, 5 double flights of stairs with no lift. I simply couldn't wait to get out of the place and would NEVER, EVER go back!
Only good points were it's location, the wine bar opposite and the helpful reception staff.
As I was booked on a tour I don't know how cheap the rates are but I wouldn't stay there again if they paid me!!

Room Tip: Book in anywhere else BUT the Hostel Chili!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Chili Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Chili Prague

Address: Pstrossova 7/205 | Prague 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Chili Prague 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Chili Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Chili Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.