We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic basic accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hana's Bed & Breakfast

Hana's Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hana's Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hana's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Starodejvicka 6, Prague 160 00, Czech Republic (Praha 6)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 348 Prague B&B and Inns
Halifax, NS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic basic accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Hana's in late Oct. Her hospitality and the room coupled with the low price made this a jewel of a find. The place was a bit out of the city but the main tram line is a 2 minute walk and it takes you right downtown or you can hop off at the Metro (subway) and get around that way too.
We stayed in the Upstairs room which was very clean and comfortable. There was a small kitchen and the fridge had some reasonably priced local beers and bottled water. The breakfast was simple but delicious and at less than $25 per person per night you can't go wrong.
Hana was kind enough to sell us some transit tickets which got us downtown and there was plenty of brochures for us tourists.

Prague is one of the most beautiful cities we've been to in Europe. Charles Bridge and rest of the old city are 15 mins away and Prague Castle is only a 10 min tram and then a 10 min walk.

We plan on going back to Prague again soon (this time we'll also go to Budapest too) and we'll try and stay at Hana's again.

Thanks Hana for all your help.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

Highly recommend this B&B.

Although this accommodation is not located at the centre of Prague, but just around 20 mins from Hana's B&B to city centre.
This accommodation is quite near to airport.

The guestroom is really spacious, include the toilet and kitchen.
Both the guestroom and toilet are clean and tidy.

Breakfast is included and really FULL.
The owner, Hana is a NICE & FRIENDLY owner, she prepare the breakfast for us and care about our trip and help us call AAA taxi (Since we have to leave her accommodation at 4am and get the flight at 6am). Her husband is really nice too, wake up so early and make sure we get on the taxi.

Highly recommend anyone travel to Prague and stay at this accommodation.!

Do email to Hana. She reply and answer the enquiries so quickly/



The detailed info:

Address:
Starodejvicka 6, 160 00 Prague 6, Czech Republic

[--]

Telephone: (420) 2243 14965
Fax: (420) 2243 24885
Email: hana@hanaseflova.com

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in the larger apartment and really enjoyed our experience there. The location is a bit outside of the city (not walking distance) but it is easy to get into downtown Prague in a matter of 15 minutes via tram/subway. The apartment was huge, clean, and very comfortable. We were able to do some laundry, which was a very nice perk. The only complaint I have is very , very small. There were no soaps/shampoo, etc provided for the shower so just make sure to have your own with you. We typically travel with shampoo/conditioner but usually count on having a bar of soap provided. No worries if you forget, there is a store close by that sells everything you need.

  • Liked — Size, value
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

If you want to experience Prague like you live there, stay at Hana's. I can't explain how wonderful everything was. I found here site ([--]) and was a excited yet somewhat skeptical (because of the price). Thanks to the others who gave such wonderful reviews that eased my mind! We stayed there for a total of 6 nights and had a wonderful time.

Hana and her husband were both very nice. The food was perfect. (Make sure to check out the little local place a block away, the best food of our trip and I love the setup... hint, look for the kitchen...)

We did all public transportation. No need for a cab at all. (If you want a pretty but long walk, you can hoof it to Prague Castle - you go through a wonderful neighborhood). Everything is easily accessible. Just by a transport pass when you get to the airport.

My one mistake - I didn't realize how far back Hana's is from the main metro station though and didn't read her directions on her page (so we walked it with luggage, doable but not all that fun). If you follow these simple directions, it's not bad at all (we did the reverse to get back to the airport with no problems):

First you take the bus to metro stop at Dejvicka ("David-ska") then "transfer to any tram going up Evropska [back the way the bus came - go down into the metro station and back up the other side of the street - or just cross the street], go three stops to the Borislavska tram stop and walk back 1/2 block to Starodejvicka." At that point you turn right (only direction can go) and walk down the hill. On you way up, Hana's place is on the left.

With public transport it's 15 mins in or out of town and a very easy trip.

If I could live in Prague, I would live there. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gumnor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

I stayed at Hana's B&B for three days in May 2007. The two-bedroom apartment that I stayed in was very spacious, close to the tram, and relatively quiet. Even though the apartment is not in town, you are less than 15 minutes away from the old square via tram and subway which is easy, inexpensive, and safe. The only problem that I had was that the wi-fi signal was very weak in the lower level apartment that I stayed in. Hana is working on the problem and it should be fixed by now. That said, it is the best value in Prague!

  • Liked — The size of the apartment.
  • Disliked — The weak wi-fi signal.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

Great place to stay. The apt's are very big and can accomadate up to 6 people. Great location for fast trip into center of Prugue. Tram and met are so easy to use. Hana is a wonderful woman who goes out of her way to make sure you are happy. This has to be one of the best deals as far as Prague goes.

  • Liked — price/service
  • Disliked — took awhile for hot water to heat up.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights early in October 06. We found the place under Hana's own website while looking for a lower priced accomodation in Prague.

It is located about half way between the airport and Prague city, on the way into town. The area is in a nice , leafy suburb and just a short walk ( about 500 metres) down a street from the main road and tramline into Prague city. There isn't any entertainment or shops in the immediate area but that makes it a very nice quiet location.
It cost us 300 CZK (czech crowns) to get a taxi from the airport to Hana's. Exactly what Hana told us over the phone to expect. The driver was very courteous and helpful and only charged us what was on the meter.
The taxi company was "AAA Taxis". We later used them for our transfer to the train station on departure and with the same excellent service.
( 300 CZK = 18 AUD or about 14 USD. )

This B&B is an old but well maintained private house owned by Hana Seflova and she lets out several of her rooms. Actually, more than just rooms, we had an entire apartment to ourselves consisting of 2 large bedrooms, a fully equiped kitchen ( frig, microwave, all appliances, crockery / cuttlery etc ) a washing machine, drier, bath and shower, WC, and a nice sized TV room with dining table and extra beds.
The first time in travelling thru Europe that we have had the luxury of having an entire room to just lay open our suitcases!

The rear window looks out onto Hana's own garden which has fruit trees and a veg patch & lawn.

A continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning by Hana before she goes off to work herself. Consists of the usual European platter of sliced cold meats, cheese, cold hard boiled eggs, some form of fruit or yoghurt, HEAPS of bread rolls, butter and jam and tea or coffee.

A feature of this B&B which really pleased us was it's quiet location and security.
It was just like staying at a friends house. Hana gave us our keys ( set of 3 ! ) and made sure we locked all the doors and front gate to her place when we went out. A bit like Fort Knox at first, but we soon appreciated it when we where able to leave all our valuables and things in our bedroom each day. We had no qualms about leaving our passports and excess money and expensive gifts in our bags in our bedroom. Nobody ever came in.
Great in Prague where we had heard so much about pickpockets and personal security. We never encountered any situation which bothered us at all, even though we were contantly on the alert!

Just up the road a bit from Hana's, towards the main tram stop, is a little store or mini supermart. Has funny opening hours but it has most things you might need.
On arrival (Sunday afternoon 4pm) we took a 10 min walk to stretch our legs and bought some things like washing detergent, pegs, fresh milk, some choc bars, fruit and a bottle of cheap Czech red wine for 80 crowns ( $5.00 AUD ) which was surprisingly, very good! The prices are all in CZK and no one in the store speaks English so it helps to learn the basic "Please and thank you" and have a little currency converter written out.

To get into the main centre of Prague you simply walk up Hana's street 500 metres to the main road. Turn right and go down about 300 meters to the tram stop and jump on the No. 20 tram. It will take you 20 - 25 mins into Prague thru the old city walls of Mala Strana and from there on you can get off anywhere and find your way around with a map.
Hana will give you a good briefing on arrival as to the towns layout but you will need to work it out for yourself.
We got lost several times, but then, hey, that's part of the fun of exploring a new city.

Just a few tips:
Take note of a good landmark near the return tramstop so you can get off at night if returning home late. Looks very different at night and dark. We used a well lit set of buildings and some shop signs about one stop earlier.

The walk up to the tram stop from Hana's is a bit uphill and slightly "arduous" so if you have difficulty walking please consider this.

There is a very small wine bar cum restaurant just around the corner (about 3 mins walk) at which we had a satisfactory meal on the night before we left. Saved having to go into town after packing up. Hana will show you where it is.

This is not a place for you to stay if you want a noisy party. There are plenty of those sort of places in Prague city for that. Hana's is, as I said, like staying in someones nice quiet private home. Therefore, it is not suitable for young backpackers and teenagers looking for a rave.

All in all, this was a great find in Prague and we would like to keep it a secret because of the cost. However, Hana was so nice that we feel we owe it to her to write a good review of her B&B.

All the best to you Hana, we really appreciated your warm hospitality and nice home. Thank you, we really want to come back soon. We LOVE Prague.

Adrian & Mary
Australia.

  • Liked — Quiet location, plenty of room, own facilities, security.
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check you are on the right tram in Prague.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hana's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana's Bed & Breakfast

Address: Starodejvicka 6, Prague 160 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 348 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hana`s Hotel Prague
Hana`s Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.