We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austria Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Austria Suites to your Saves list
Austria Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stefanikova 18/25, Prague 15000, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 663 Hotels in Prague
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed a total of 4 nights. The rooms were large and very clean. The staff were very pleasant and accomodating. I appreciated the balcony over the courtyard on which to smoke. Fresh bread and pastries each morning with cheese, ham, yogurt, liter of bottled water--great coffee and tea all in the little kitchen area. The tram and metro were close by to get into Old Town. Located in a quieter, residential area. Elevator to transport bags. Those with a car had parking--not sure if that necessitated an extra fee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
32
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Austria Suites and Hotel for 2 nights. When we arrived we were really surpriced to understand that the lady who booked the apartment for us made the reservation for 2 adults insted of 4. After that we went to the apartment which is pretty nice and clean but we were also surpriced to find out the one of the beds was a chair bed instead of a regular one which was booked. I had a horrible experience with the housekeeper who went to another apartment while the guests were there to show me what bed they can offer me instead of the chair which was in my room. She didn't know anything in English and because I was there with her I had to explain this horrible situation to the guests from this apartment. After almost 2 hours lost for this uncomfortable situation we finally were checked in the apartment and decided to check something online but...... there was no internet connection. Their username was not even visible between the WI-FI connetions. The only positive think I can say that the the apartment was really clean and spacious and we got really good recommendations for a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were stay in the hotel for 4 night at June 2012. We are the family with 2 children and had apartment with 2 rooms and bath. The room was exactly like described. same the breakfast. The hotel very close to all kinds of transport. Also we were walk by foot to many places. It very good option to stay in Prague with family (if you need place to slip and to spend some time afternoon). Some problem is the television is small and hanged high

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We agree with the other positive comments. A good size "studio room", albeit a bit sparse with no pictures etc, but spotlessly clean, with all you need on a city center holiday. We slept very well: our room (No 32) had a good shower cubicle unlike the room with tub that others describe.

Used public transport from airport (bus 100, metro to Andel then 800m walk, 45 minute total), so no point in expensive taxi, then used tram to travel about, all very convenient.

We were disappointed in Austria own restaurant, (which was empty, and seemed like microwaved food) but found excellent & busy restaurant ZLATY KLAS, near Andel, opposite Ibis Hotel), to complete a very good 4 night break

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Austria Suites was a good value for money aparthotel. It was good enough although I had been expected more due to the advertising. It has underground parking that is positive and free wi-fi too. The beds could be more comfortable especially the fourth sofa-bed. It was ok for us (group of 4 friends) but for two couples I don't think it would fit well, so better consider booking 2 rooms. The breakfast was every day on time, scheduled from the day before, but no signal for its arrival! A plastic bag was thrown on your door mat and you had to check if it was there! And don't expect any luxurius breakfast but for the price we paid it was fine. As for the personnel, we communicated with all four receptionists we met during our stay very well and they proved very friendly and helpful, except the guy that was working our first night there, Jan was his name I think. We asked him to talk with the taxi driver that brought us back that night because we were arguing about the extensive fee and the receptionist wasn't helpful at all. In generally I would strongly suggest this hotel if you are in for a low budget vacation. Tips: 1) DO NOT take a taxi back from the center!!! 2) Check carefully the exchange rates before you exchange euros into corunas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

hotel just slightly off centre, but tram in front and metro about 3 blocks away get you everywhere in no time. Hotel is very clean, with nice but bland rooms and offer extremely good value. Staff all unfailingly friendly & helpful. Breakfast is brought to room every morning, or at least part of it. The fridge in room stocks and replenishes daily, juices, yoghurt, milk, cheese, toppings for sandwiches & on the counter a selection teas, coffees & jams, honey, sugar, with cutlery, plates, glasses, cups & electrical kettle. Daily a basket of fresh bread, buns and pastries are delivered at your desired time. If I gave sleep quality only 3 instead of 5 stars like the other categories, it's because those of us accustomed to a less firm mattress might find the beds too firm and I'd wake up a bit stiff in the morning. However I was traveling solo and I used the comforter of the other twin bed in my room double folded as underlay and that was a marked improvement. Unfortunately I don't see the hotel giving out extra comforters if so needed to those sharing a room. In spite of some of the cons I mentioned, I would recommend this hotel very highly, not everyone is a "prince(ss) and the pea" (Hans Christian Anderson fairy tale analogy) like me.

Room Tip: all rooms good, face courtyard so away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We spent 3 nights here as part of our bi-annual family vacation. We had booked several months in advance and requested their apartment as there was 3 adults in our party.
We found the hotel with no problem at all - there is a tram stop right in front, which is exceptionally convenient.
When we arrived we were warmly greeted then given bad news. Despite booking the apartment, it would not be available for the first night as it had been given to someone else. We were told we could be accommodated, but it would be in a standard room. After deliberation and a considerable amount of effort on the hotel's part (they offered to relocate the guests in our room, when they returned to the hotel and the lovely housekeeping staff offered to come back at whatever time that was to clean the room for us) - we agreed to just check into the standard room and swap the next day. As a concession we were given a 10 Euro discount for the inconvenience, which was greatly appreciated.
The lady at the front desk (who, I'm sorry, her name escapes me) was wonderful. Incredibly helpful, informative and always a pleasure to deal with.
The standard room was great (and right next door to the room we originally booked). The wifi worked a treat and as there is no air conditioning we were given a fan to help circulate the air. There is a small kitchenette (no cooking facilities, except a kettle) with a bar fridge stocked with orange juice, milk, cheese and yogurt. For breakfast a lovely lady delivers (at a time of your choosing) fresh breads and pastries for your enjoyment!
Apart from the beds, the room is furnished with simple yet functional furniture - tables, chairs etc. The bathroom was spotlessly clean (although the shower was tiny - but then again they all are in Europe!), along with the rest of the room.
The next day we stored our luggage while we explored Prague and swapped rooms when we returned later that afternoon.
The apartment was exactly as described - there is a bedroom which gave everyone in our party some much needed privacy. The bathroom was large with a huge soaking tub, although the shower was a hand nozzle connected to the main faucets - it makes for uncomfortable showering when you have to hold up the water!
The wifi in the apartment is terrible with constant interruptions to the service and there was no fan in the room, which made the room substantially hotter of an evening. All of that could have been forgiven if we didn't feel like we had been nickled and dimed to death - the hotel charges 2 Euros a day to use the room safe - which is nothing more or less than you would see in any Best Western hotel - that was a little disappointing.
Keeping the balcony door open was a good idea until we could hear every little noise from the courtyard below!
The hotel is a is a decent distance to most of the old town attractions, however if you don't mind the walk or the tram ride, you are in luck.
There is a huge shopping center about 2 blocks down which we didn't explore. As for meals, the Austria Restaurant serves delicious food at an exceptionally reasonable price. I can't recommend it enough. Also, there is a small hole in the wall about a block down which serves take away kebabs - don't let the hole in the wall fool you - the kebabs are lovely!!
We did have a small glitch when we checked out - we only used the safe during the first nights stay - when we changed rooms we didn't use the safe there. The gentleman who checked us out (and who also gave away our room the day before we arrived) didn't present us with the bill for verification prior to charging the card they had on file. So when we were presented with the bill we saw we had been charged for the safe on the second and third night. We mentioned this and he spent nearly 15 minutes on the phone trying to figure out how to refund the card - in the end we gave up and said it didn't matter, we would just wear the charge.
All in all we had a good stay. There were a few inconveniences, but then again there always are when you are not staying in your own home. We just rolled with the punches and enjoyed our stay in this incredible City.
I can also say we left out iPods, a netbook, iPhones, cameras, lenses and cash while we were out exploring the City - not one of them looked like they had been touched when we returned. We felt very comfortable with the housekeeping staff. I can't say enough about the lovely ladies who make up the housekeeping team.
Oh, the hotel also sells travel cards which is really convenient - however they don't sell stamps.

Room Tip: If you have 3 or more people, book the apartment, it's worth the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Praha 5
Barcelo Praha Five
Barcelo Praha Five
#107 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#92 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#213 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Praha 5
Akcent
Akcent
#186 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Praha 5
Central Hotel Tiepolo
Central Hotel Tiepolo
#302 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Suites

Address: Stefanikova 18/25, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Prague
#213 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austria Suites are in a newly restored Palace Austria. Even if the location of the building is on a busy street, all suites are quiet as they are facing the atrium of the palace. The suites are convenient for business clients and tourists. The attractive location of Palace Austria next to the shopping mall and business centre Anděl and near all major sights of Prague is another benefit and reason to stay here. All spacious and comfortable suites are equipped with private bathroom, hairdryer, safe, phone, TV and internet access, kitchenette with refrigerator, some with balcony. Microwave on request. Breakfast service and fresh bread delivery daily included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Austria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Suites And Hotel
Austria Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austria Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.