We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Czech inn is a mixture of hotel/hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Czech Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Czech Inn to your Saves list
Czech Inn
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Francouzska 76, Prague 101 00 , Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Czech inn is a mixture of hotel/hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

The staff is excellent, they are really polite, and willing to help. Some of them speak native Spanish which was a nice surprise. We stayed in a private double room. The room was quite nice with a lot of nice architectural design details. The rooms do not have TV nor telephone but since the Czech inn is a hotel/hostel we were not expecting to have them. The hotel has free WiFi, the signal in the rooms is not really good but in the lobby and bar works without any problems, and also all guest get 30 minutes of free internet in the kiosks that are in the lobby, this was really useful because I was able to the online checkin for my flight back home and print my boarding ticket in the hostel practically for free.

The location of the hostel is really good two tram stops from the metro (about 10 min walking), I went from the airport to the hostel and took me 45 minutes. From the hostel to the city-center of Prague or to the Castle you can take the tram 22 (57 during the night). One problem we found is that the hostel is so close to the street that you can hear the tram passing, this could be a bit annoying for people with a light sleep.

We stayed 5 days and one day we had problems with the warm water. We reported to the staff and they fixed the problem and gave us a couple of free beers to compensate the inconvenience.

They have different program for each day of the week, while we were there they we projecting in the bar the football and the atmosphere was quite nice.

They take quite serious the security, the room was equipped with a safety box for example, and your card/key only entitles you to take the lift to your floor, so people can not be just peeking or hanging around the hostel if they are not staying in that floor.

We liked the hostel a lot, and I would recommend it without doubt.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    125
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
89
84
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The room is as stylish and modern as on the website. And the space is very large! And the balcony is very nice!

But...
1. When we checked-in the room after PM 15:00, the clean staff was still cleaning the room! The front desk staff even didn't mention about this!

2. If you want to borrow the hairdryer at the front desk, to pay deposit of 200CZK is not a bit issue. But there are only TWO hairdryers in the hostel!! Can’t believe this! We just stayed at Wombat’s in Vienna few days ago! They have plenty of hairdryers for female travellers!

3. We booked the apartment with kitchen, but the microwave is out-of-order!

4. Not sure if the hearer or other equipment in the room was broken, you can hear the huge noise in the room at midnight!

We have booked four nights there, but we only stayed one night and decided to move out. This is nice for the style with the budget, but not definitely recommend for the honeymoon!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

This place rocked. My husband and I got a private double room and it was beautiful. The decor is great, it is super clean and the staff are very nice and helpful.

Right near a tram stop and we rode the 22 tram everyday!!! We stayed here for 5 days and it was in more of a neighborhood - we felt like we got to know the real Prague, not just the Old Town.

Bar downstairs was cool and convenient. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba/PR Brasil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

If you have a lot of bags you have to get metro station and a train to get to the hostel.
but overall the restaurant is good and the breakfast is delicious!!! The only thing is that there is not many options to eat out on foot at night near the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Beautiful and clean hostel. Stayed in a private room on the 4th floor, great size and the room included it's own on suite with towels and toiletries. The room also had a kettle which was a bonus! This place had a lot of great conveniences including it's own bar with TV's,breakfast ( at an extra cost), internet access(15 mins free!), ATM and they sold tram tickets. They also accepted Euro's and Crowns which was convenient. We opted for the breakfast on the first day which was great and went right until 12pm. The only complaint I would have is the Tea and Coffee was only replinished in the room twice. We would have bought our own but expected it to be replenished daily as they did on the first few days. On looking at the Map it looks far from the city centre but it is a short walk, or an even shorter tram ride for the lazy days!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

A uni friend and I stayed in 12-bed mixed dorm in October 2010, and mostly enjoyed our stay. The hostel was fully booked, otherwise we'd have chosen an all-female dorm. Since they are smaller (I believe 2 € more per night/per bed) they are more expensive, which is too bad since I believe that hostels should offer all-female accommodations at the same price as their cheapest bed in order to provide women with a more comfortable stay without them having to pay more for such comfort and security.

There was a really obnoxious group of (male) 7-8 American students studying abroad in Europe who were in our room for the first 3 of 4 nights - drinking and smoking in the rooms, sitting around in their underwear, being gross, and coming home from the bars at 4am loud and drunk - basically, completely proving why I always choose to stay in all-female rooms whenever possible. Staying with guys I know is one thing, but taking the chance of having exactly that type of traveller in a dorm is not something I prefer to do. My friend and I were the only two girls in the room, and while we didn't feel unsafe we definitely didn't feel comfortable. As the hostel was full, there was nowhere else to go unfortunately.

The beds themselves were comfortable, warm and clean. The room was likely clean at one time, but the guys in the room were filthy and the room didn't appear to have been cleaned since they arrived (before we did). The bathroom was clean and there was always a shower available. Earlier mentions of the shower being the push-button kind and the squeaky beneath-the-bed storage lockers are correct, but as the other reviewers said, neither is enough to prevent me from staying again in the future.

The breakfast, which you can pre-pay for (less money) or pay the day you want it (roughly 1€ more), wasn't worth it in my opinion.

As other reviews have mentioned, the hostel is rather far from the main train stations. Since we didn't have much luggage and were going to buy 24-hr metro tickets anyways, once we figured out which trams to take to get there, it wasn't a problem at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

There's not much to say besides the fact that for the price this hostel is incredibly awesome! Beautiful rooms with sinks/mirrors/table/chairs. Amazing showers and spotless bathrooms. There's a nice little bar on the main level with cheap happy hour and food in the evenings which almost makes up for no guest kitchen and no large chill-out space. Since beer is cheap and the bars so super hip it's perhaps a blessing in disguise that there's no comfy space in the hostel that tempts you to hang out there all night. It's only a short tram ride or 15 minute walk to the Old Town Square. Stay here and you certainly won't regret it! ps. the staff is beyond helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Czech Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Czech Inn

Address: Francouzska 76, Prague 101 00 , Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Czech Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yes, you can afford to sleep in style and comfort! Czech Inn is a pioneer of modern design, hybrid hotel, hostel and apartment accommodation - truly offering something for everyone - and blending the comfort of a hotel and the social vibe of a hostel. The modern design and ultra-comfortable furnishings have created quite a stir in many publications such as The New York Times, The Guardian, The Washington Post, Hotel Design, Lonely Planet, Let's Go, Elle Magazine... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Czech Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Czech Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Czech Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.