We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Prague to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 662 Hotels in Prague
mumbai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I had gone with my family which consisted of a baby of 2 years old also and we had the most memorable time in this hotel.

it is a very quaint little hote( just like the city!) tucked away in one of the many lanes of the city.

the concierge was exceptionally good and we had a great meal whenever we asked them for suggestions.

they took care of al the baby needs also very nicely.

they were quite tolerant of our reaching for breakfast nearly at the end of the time and gave us good vegetarian options. they made some dishes specially for us for breakfast.

I would indeed love to go back here :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague and for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community.

You and your family of three made an excellent choice staying at Mandarin Oriental, Prague. It was a real pleasure having you as our guests. Thank you for highlighting our hotel’s wonderful and serene location, attentive and professional service of my colleagues and our delicious vegetarian menu options.

We were delighted to make yours and your family’s stay exceptional and look forward to welcoming you back in our ‘little jewel’ soon.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    109
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
115
371
41
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I want to thank the staff for a great vacation, especially Gilles and Pavel who worked the concierge desk. They planned our schedule each day and it was perfect.Rooms were comfortable with great bath products in them. Great location. I had a service in the spa that was fantastic! Grat bar area.

Beautiful property

Room Tip: Melon ball martinis at the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review of Mandarin Oriental, Prague.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at our “little jewel”. Our concierges Gilles and Pavel were thrilled to make your stay exceptional and honored by your generous compliments.

Again, thank you for highlighting how much you had enjoyed your stay including the attentive service, superior rooms and excellent location.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Prague.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Mandarin Oriental was Excellent on all counts. The people were so friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and spa was outstanding. The restaurants that the concierge recommended in town were all excellent and the directions perfect!
The workout facilities were very adequate and equipment was new. The breakfast buffet was delicious and offered a variety of cuisines. The bar area was lovely, we had friends who stayed at "another" hotel come for drinks, they were VERY impressed! thank you all at the Mandarin Oriental Prague, we'll be back! The Slamas

Room Tip: They let us visit 2 rooms upon arrival to see which would work best for us, which was very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Slamas Family,

Thank you for your truly generous review of Mandarin Oriental, Prague. I am delighted to read that our hotel exceeded your expectation.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed our superb amenities including our outstanding guest services, expert concierge and spa staff. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed our fitness center and our impressive cocktails at our Barego Bar.

Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Prague.

Best wishes,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

What a fantastic property in a great location close to bridge , castle and all the action. We had a fabulous experience at this Hotel and will be back! We could easily walk to the bridge to buy Jewery and art from local vendors. Also many great restuarants within walking distance. The concierge had great recomendations for food and also a boat ride on the river and the canal. If you drive a fine Automobile then you will love the safe and secluded underground parking right at the Hotel. All in All a wonderful property and experience! We highly reccomend it and it is on the AMEX list of fine Hotels.

Room Tip: upgrade to a room with a patio that opens to the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague and for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the superb location in the very heart of Mala Strana and the outstanding services of our Concierge. Also thank you for highlighting our convenient amenities such as our secure and secluded underground parking.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and I hope to welcome you back at our “little jewel” again soon.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had the privilieg to stay at the Mandarin and it is just perfect in every way. Location was great, within walking distance to most of the touristic places. Room was perfectly organized and clean. Amenities were Mandarin`s standard, which means very good quality. Front desk was extremely helpful.
I would definitely come back! Congratulations for the excellence in service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Fernanda,

I am honored to read your generous review of Mandarin Oriental, Prague and thank you for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community.
Also, thank you for highlighting our hotel’s wonderful amenities, superb location, excellent service standards and our relaxed and comfortable rooms.

It was a great pleasure having you as our guest, and I look forward to welcoming you back to our ‘little jewel’.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My daughter and I spent 4 nights here. A converted monastry, and really has to be seen to be believed how well it has been renovated. Best hotel I have stayed in. Service impeccable. All the staff so helpful and the room with its own terrace was heaven. We were lucky with the weather so a little stroll into the centre was charming. The concierge was so helpful as we wanted to visit a local town and he arranged everything for us. The hotel also has an unusual outdoor terrace as you enter the courtyard which is very pleasant. I could find no fault.

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms have their own charming terrace with table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Jayne,

Thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague and for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community.

It was a pleasure having you and your daughter as our guests. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the superb location in the very heart of Mala Strana and the outstanding services of my colleagues. Thank you also for highlighting our unique historical ambience.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Tucked away from the crowds and a stone's throw from the Charles Bridge is the Mandarin Oriental, Prague. The style of this luxury hotel can be described as understated elegance, rather than something more baroque or opulent. It's spotless, and the staff seems to run as well-honed team in all areas of the property.

We stayed in a two-room suite on the fourth floor with a plan that included breakfast each morning. They make a mean cappuccino, and the buffet seems to offer something for everyone. Even during this busy time in the summer, the only time we notice the other guests was at breakfast. Otherwise, it felt like we had the place to ourselves.

Our suite was thoughtfully appointed down to the radiant-heat towel racks in the bathroom and Manufactkura bath products selected for my two children. The kiddos were also welcomed with locally made wooden toys, popcorn, and chocolates (which I swore to them were meant for me). The legendary service of the MO franchise is exemplified here.

Above and beyond... I had the misfortune of having my wallet pickpockteted en route to visit the castle. I was pretty shaken-up when we came back, and the staff were so caring and gracious, first helping us get the police report filed at the right station. Then, the manager sent a handwritten note with chocolates, a bottle of (much-needed) wine, and a gift from the spa. Wow.

Speaking of the spa, it's a blissful oasis with excellent MO service. Built in an 14th century church and monastery, the floor has a cutaway area with glass over it, and you can see some of the parts of the building that remain. Book early if you want a late afternoon or early evening appointment, and, of course, give yourself a cushion of time to enjoy some tea and glossy magazine afterward. Spa prices are reasonable for the quality of the service.

Lastly, if the impeccable service, beautiful spaces, and the sacred history of the grounds are not enough to bring you to the MO, the WiFi here is Wicked Fast. We come from Silicon Valley (land of ubiquitous access), and this unlikely haven in the Czech Republic has WiFi speeds that blow away our pricey home-business lines. (Yes, we brought eight different devices and speed-tested the connection, as Hubby had a bit of work to do each day.) Business travelers, movie-watchers, and rabid online shoppers will certainly appreciate this.

Room Tip: We found the two-room suite to be a good value for our family of four. Ours was on the 4th floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review of Mandarin Oriental, Prague. I am delighted to read that our hotel exceeded your expectation. Prague is truly an outstanding city and Mandarin Oriental, Prague, by its renowned reputation as one of most luxurious hotels, harmoniously reflects every aspects of such magnificent location and unique atmosphere.

Thank you for highlighting our kid-friendly hotel setting. Our “little fans” and their comfort during their visit at the hotel is our priority. It was a pleasure for me to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, including our beautifully designed rooms and all the amenities and the superb secluded location in the very heart of the Prague’s historic center. Moreover, I am pleased to read you had a chance to experience the relaxing ambience of our spa.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and I look forward to welcome you back in Prague shall your travels bring you back to our magnificent city.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#24 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#35 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, modern Asian and European delicacies in Essensia restaurant, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.