We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at the Mandarin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Prague to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #23 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience at the Mandarin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Mandarin during our Prague visit and agree with the reviews that this luxury hotel is the best place to stay. The Mandarin has the best location and wonderful staff. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed getting to know the very qualified staff especially Nick in the bar and the hotel driver, Steve. You will so enjoy your stay here!

Room Tip: The deluxe suites are spacious and very comfortable and the bathrooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Branda N,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague. I would like to thank you for sharing your generous comment with the TripAdvisor Community.

Your positive comments are a great encouragment to our entire team.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in Prague in the future.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    118
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
125
413
43
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The people at the mandarin greeted us upon our arrival toured us around the hotel and made us feel so welcome. Our room was too got due to the sun coming in but with no problem and no hassle from us they immediately moved us to a better room with no charge. The bar was a lovely spot to sit with excellent service and fantastic fun drinks (signature, non alcoholic and classic drinks). The spa was also an excellent way to destress and they have many options for massage, facials, scrubs, etc. The best part of the mandarin was the location. We were close to Charles bridge but you can get away from the hustle and bustle by going back to the solitude of the hotel. An amazing experience in prague! We will surely be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Mandarin Oriental, Prague with the TripAdvisor community.

I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for highlighting the great hotel's location, the quality of the service and the relaxing treatments offered by our Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandaring Oriental, Prague soon.

With best regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Mandarin is a luxury hotel group with an amazing standard of service which is on display at their Prague location. You are treated well from the moment you arrive (no matter what time) with an ice tea and helpful (plus good looking) individuals to take your bags.

We wanted to make a last minute change from a double to a triple room whilst checking in and this was handled well by the staff. The new room was made up and ready within 10 minutes even though we gave no prior warning, great service!

The concierge was amazing, providing us with a full guide book of Prague and there to answer every single question. He was also not afraid of a little friendly conversation, allowing us to find out about life and times living in Prague by a local. Service throughout the hotel was exceptional all all times, with not one complaint. Breakfast was substantial and the bar man was exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable about the drinks menu. Gym was smallish but well set up and sufficient for me.

Rooms were extremely comfortable, with enough space for loads of luggage and clothes storage. The rooms were made up super fast, often being done by the time we returned from breakfast.

The location is great, making it easy to get to the castle and Charles Bridge is only 5 minutes walk away. The hotel is set in a little square, meaning that you are not in the hustle and bustle as you exit, instead nicely tucked away but still in a splendid location. Many restaurants located close by.

They go that little bit extra at the Mandarin to make your stay special - even placing a bookmark in my open book for me and placing it under my pillow ready for reading at night. I don't usually stay in luxury hotels, so this was a real treat for me. I felt like a princess and did not want to check out!

Room Tip: I was in one of the lower priced rooms and it was still exceptional. If you are on a budget, opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a generous review about your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague with the TripAdvisor community.

I am very delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, especially the quality of the service, the concerge advice, the hotel location as well as the room ambience.

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback. It is a great encouragement to the entire hotel team.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Prague in the future.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alentown, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this nice Hotel. We are Mandarin customers and we really enjoy the time in this wonderful place. The service and location are perfect. It is close the bridge and the Palace. We recomend it 100%.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Fan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Mandarin Oriental, Prague with the TripAdvisor Community.

It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in Prague in the future.

With warm regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This Mandarin fits Prague's intimate scale and counteracts its occasionally crowded neighborhoods. A former monastery, it's remarkably peaceful, and folds itself into the medieval city in a subtle way. Unlike the Four Seasons, which could be anywhere, and is in the thick of tourist onslaught on the east side of the river, or the Augustine, which sometimes seems a touch too Los Angeles, the Mandarin has adapted its understated almost Japanese aesthetic to Prague's mysterious spirit.
The rooms are comfortable, not dramatic, and the views are of cobbled streets, a small courtyard, and, in the tower rooms on the 5th floor, a sliver of the Prague castle. But this place isn't about views, it's about relaxing into a retreat after a full day of walking around the city.
The staff and service are out of this world; at the bar, the restaurant, the front desk, the concierge you'll find intelligent and thoughtful people. The food from room service and in the restaurant is spectacularly delicious.
The spa, however, deserves a special shout-out. From massage, facial to pedicure, you name it, it's flawlessly relaxing and expertly done.

Room Tip: The tower rooms on the 5th Floor have a view of the Prague Castle that may be limited but it is stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague.

Thank you for highlighting so many aspects of your stay, especially the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel location, the food, spa Treatments and the attentive service of our colleagues. Our main goal is to always delight and satisfy our guests.

We would be happy to welcome you back to our proprety in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I have recently gotten married and for the venue, we have chosen Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Prague. It is the best decision we could have made.

Suffice to say, based on other reviews and general Mandarin Oriental equity, this is a luxurious and truly experiential venue to stay in. It is located in the center of the city, built within a historic monastery which truly gives it a unique touch.

As part of the Wedding experience we stayed in the Lazar suite, which was absolutely beautiful and certainly one of the most beautiful rooms we have ever stayed in.

The service for the stay itself is truly superlative. In case it is a hotel you can afford, I cannot imagine that you can make a better choice than staying in Mandarin.

However, the special bit which we'd like to refer to is the amazing service that the hotel has provided for us in context of acting as a wedding venue - before, during and after the wedding. From the first plans 6 months prior to the event, the staff was extremely helpful, helping us with all the details of the arrangement, enabling us to see the venue multiple times, adding recommendation and their previous experiences and even participating in the tasting menu to make sure 100% of our feedback would be captured! Already this was well beyond expectations.

During the event itself, which from the hotel side went flawlessly, again, the level of service was superior. From Tomas as the event manager to every single one of the staff participating, everybody was extremely pleasant, helpful and 100% dedicated to making the experience unforgettable for us as the newlyweds and our families in attendance.

It must also be mentioned that the food was amazing. All our guests complimented us on the menu. It can certainly be said it was the best tomato soap I have ever eaten by far.

Finally, after the wedding itself was done, the staff happily helped us with taking all the wedding decoration we wanted with us, on our terms, with flexibility that we are definitely not accustomed to in context of after sales service.

As result of all of this, we remember our wedding day as a smashing success and Mandarin Oriental as its venue as one of our best decisions. We are even meeting another couple that decided to get married in Mandarin Oriental Prague last year as they are coming to Prague to celebrate their wedding anniversary in the same place where the whole thing started. I am not aware of many hotels that command such fierce loyalty or go out on behalf of their guests with such dedication.

In conclusion - especially if you are choosing a venue where you also seek to celebrate something and not only to stay a few nights, I cannot recommend this hotel high enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your marriage and best wishes for your future together!

Thank you very much for such a generous review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you choose Mandarin Oriental, Prague as your wedding venue and that this choice exceeded your expectations. It is a real pleasure for me to read that we helped to make your Weeding Day unforgettable and unique. Please rest assured that your positive comments were shared with the entire hotel team. A feedback like yours is a big encouragement for us.

Once again, congratulations to your marriage and we hope to welcome you back at Mandarin Oriental, Prague in the future, perhaps for your wedding anniversary.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We made our reservations through American Express and knew nothing about the hotel before we got there. We were five people... myself and my husband and our three grown daughters. We all saw this as a trip of a lifetime.

We had decided that for our first visit to Prague, which only lasted two days, we wouldn't worry too much about money, but would focus more on enjoying our experience. So you won't read anything here about value for the money or whether anything was expensive or inexpensive.

We were greeted by a driver at the (very lovely and clean) airport by a driver from the hotel who spoke perfect English. The short drive to the hotel in a comfortable van showed us a bit of countryside, but didn't prepare us for the beauty that is Prague. That surprise was still to come!

The hotel is elegant in a minimalist style. We were told that it is housed in a former monastery, but we saw little evidence of that. We loved the outdoor patio/bar at the front of the hotel, where the food and service were wonderful. My husband was particularly fond of the cigars conveniently for sale in the bar inside, and the ability to smoke them on the patio. The hotel was far from empty but for some reason, we always felt like we had the place to ourself.

The hotel is very well located. Our rooms were very quiet, and yet we were just a short walk to the Charles Bridge, many restaurants, and great shopping.

We had two rooms that were spacious and beautiful. The bathrooms were huge, the complimentary shampoos/lotions/etc. were lovely and plentiful and the beds were comfortable. We particularly loved the down pillows which were remarkable!

Some of us indulged in massages at the hotel's spa. Those of us who got a regular body massage were very happy with the service. The special 'Bohemian Meadow' massage was very expensive and probably not worth the extra expense, as the massage was minimal in exchange for use of expensive and sweet-smelling lotions and potions. But overall, our spa experience was wonderful as well.

The concierge was VERY friendly and helpful. Our drivers (we had a few) were lovely people and a pleasure to be with. Our last experience was that we forgot our AMEX card at the hotel. The hotel's bookkeeping personnel were very conscientious, communicating with us immediately, locking our card in a safe and then sending us a photo of the card cut into four pieces to assure us it was destroyed.

Overall, we were very pleased with our experience at this hotel, we felt very welcome there and when we return to Prague, which we hope to do, we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your generous review from your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague with the TripAdvisor community.

I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, especially the rooms, the hotel location, the food and the high quality of our service. Your positive comments are a great encouragement for the enrire hotel team!

Your comment regarding your Boheamian Meadow treatment is well taken indeed, thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our "little jewel".

With my warm regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
#16 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#10 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#22 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#10 Business Hotel in Prague
#13 Family Hotel in Prague
#22 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#25 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, an inventive selection of delicious Asian dishes and mouth-watering cocktails at Spices Restaurant and Bar, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.