We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Black Star Restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy (Black Star)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy (Black Star)
Save
You added Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy (Black Star) to your Saves list
Seminarska 6, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #460 of 661 Hotels in Prague
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Black Star Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Whilst visiting Prague for a long weekend we came across "The Black Star" restaurant and thought it represented a typical Czech restaurant. Althought it was not on our list of recommended restaurants we decided to go there for dinner that evening. It was a bad choice and represented everything bad about Prague that you read. The bill for for of us was £160.00 (2 soups/2 mussles/2 goulash/2 pasta/1 bottle of cheap wine). Without knowing they charge cover charge, tax and a surcharge on debit card payments. The food was terrible and no vegetables served despite the menu indicating otherwise. When compared to the meal we had at Augustine Hotel (5* hotel) where we paid less for a superb 3 course meal with drinks before and after. Stay away from this hotel for your own good. When we complained we were told "tough, we have a new chef and that is the way he cooks". Ultimate rip off and a bad end to a fantastic short break. We have learned our lesson and will in future stick with the local recommendations or at least the ones on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Dont stay at this hotel if it is anything to do with the restaurant, I assure you you will regret it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

II stayed at this property with friends over New Year's Eve. Its a small, apartment like complex with little to zero amenities. However, the location is great, right smack in the center. The rooms are clean (although a bit bare and lackluster in design). Front desk is very helpful. And the pricing is convenient if you prefer to spend your vacation money on useful things such as food and drinks! One tip: skip the one star continental free breakfast and go to a nearby bakery for your morning snack. If you plan to spend most of your time outside of the hotel, then, there is really nothing wrong with this property. Trust me, if it was good enough for 5 pretentious girls from Los Angeles, it should be good enough for most people :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

As a party, we stayed in two deluxe rooms, one for 3 (room 6) and one for 2 (room 4). Rooms 4 had a larger lounge area with two settees, overloooking a small side street. The separate inner bedroom was away from any potential noise of the street and we were well rested. The lounge room had an attached kitchen area next to the lounge (open plan), with a fully functional fridge, freezer and oven. There was plenty of room available. Room 6 had a separate kitchen and small in comparison with the open plan kitchen in room 4. However, it was fully functional also. Room 6's dining area was included in a bedroom area. As one of the bedrooms overlooked a thoroughfare, there was a degree of noise late at night according to one friend.
The location of the hotel was ideal - near enough to the square where there is an Easter market - and near enough to the Charles Street Bridge (Karlov).
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was eaten at the adjoining hotel - a combination of a typical continental breakfast, with with a degree of cooked food too. There is access to a computer for those who wish to book on-line for their flight / check emails, etc. Security into the building was impressive - a locked front door, leading to a locked gated door, leading to another inner 'front' door and finally, your own bedroom door (for rooms 4 and 6 at least).
I would definitely contemplate booking this hotel again due to its location and friendliness, and a reasonable price too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during winter, got some winter discount and for that money (app. 50euro) it was ok. I wouldnt pay more in high season because its not worth the money. however, the location is very central and therefore probably expensive. The room was ok, the gates were ridiculous but we didnt mind, we liked the medieval ambiance. I have to admit that all our complaines were solved immediatelly and politely. Staff speaks good english. The breakfast was very poor, cheap stuff, no taste. I was quite disappointed, I expected more from the pictures on net and references here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

I highly recommend this hotel. The location is perfect and the ambiance is unbelievable. Take a left out of the hotel and a quick right to walk to the Vltava River and the Prague Castle. Take two lefts and you will wind your way to Old Town Square. My friend and I went for 9 days for a girlfriends trip and had an amazing time in Prague and the Hotel Black Star. We had a two-level room with the bedroom and full bath on the 2nd floor and a kitchenette, living area and half bath on the first. Our outside terrace and table with chairs truly made this hotel room for like an amazing apartment.

I so miss the smiling faces, the wonderful warmth and comfort that this hotel offered and I very much miss Prague. I left my heart there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed here for a 5 nights month ago. Black Star has got excelent location, Old Town Square and Charles Bridge really just around a corner, Prague castle about 10minutes by tram. We were so surprised with a huge room ( no. 4 ) !!! It was so amazing, this is really not a typical hotel room it is like your living room at your home. Very comfortable, very clean. Unfortunately we didnt check the other rooms because they were occupied but as receptionist said, they are all the similar. Staff is very friendly, smiling and helpful - this is how the check in to the hotel after the 5h in car should look like. Breakfast serving till 10 a.m. but we did not wake up before 11 a.m. so we were going directly to the lunch :))) We can recommend restaurant „U Golema“ about 10 minutes by walk serving typical czech food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Was travelling on my own in Sep09 and first time in Prague. Found this hotel on the internet. Never regretted my choice. The service employees were very helpful. The room was fanstastic! Had a great view of the streets and the inner courtyard. Nice decor, comfortable and clean. The location is excellent! Located in between and within easy walking distance to the Charles Bridge/Prague Castle and Old Town/New Town. I had a great stay there! Would definitely book the same place if I were there again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy (Black Star)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy (Black Star)

Address: Seminarska 6, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #460 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Residence At The Black Star is a romantic 3* star hotel situated in the historical centre of Prague, only 250 metres from the Charles Bridge and just a few minutes walk from the Old Town Square. It is an ideal location right in the heart of the Old Town. The building of the Black star is proclaimed within the Prague cultural preservation which was listed on the UNESCO world heritage list in 1993. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel u Cerne Hvezdy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy (Black Star), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.