We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Chair Hotel

Save Saved
You added Red Chair Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Chair Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Liliova 4, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special secret deal!
Ranked #6 of 259 Prague B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Lovely place, so central, co clean, with a satisfying breakfast served in the entrance hall. We stayed in a 4 beds room that was huge. Absolutely recommendable.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    86
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
79
162
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wherever I May Roam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

The Red Chair Pension is a cute little place right in the heart of the "Stare Mesto" or Old Town Prague. A few short blocks west is one of the most famous views of Prague- the Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle over the Vltava River. Virtually every major attraction in the city is within a moderate walk.
The Red Chair is very small, with maybe two dozen rooms. We stayed in the top floor, which was rather warm- we could feel the heat rise as we went up the stairs. The small air conditioner in the room was, I believe, actually more of a swamp cooler, and didn't provide much comfort on the hottest days we were there. However, the staff was quite accommodating and provided fans to help keep us comfortable.
The breakfast buffet was ample (by European standards). There were a number of different breads available, along with meats, cheeses, yogurt, several cereals, milk, juice, and snack bars.
The staff was quite helpful, and were quite willing to assist us with making plans, and even helped to make phone calls to book reservations for dinner and events on our behalf.
I will definitely stay there again the next time I visit Prague.

  • Liked — Fantastic location, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Lack of real air conditioning made hottest days uncomfortable.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

On the plus side the location is good, although I didnt like returning late at night, alot of cobbled dingy backstreets which I found unnerving. Price was very reasonable. It isnt somewhere I would stay if I was able to have afforded something better. Accommodation very clean but rather basic, breakfast was okay. The staff I found were friendly enough but didnt go out of their way to make you feel at ease. I wouldn't stay again. It wasnt that bad but if I'm going on a trip I like a bit of luxury so for me it wasnt the best choice.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

This is a safe bet hotel. Stayed May 2008- 2 rooms, 3 nts. 7th trip to Europe.

Pros: Good location, very clean, modern up-to-date interiors, decent continental breakfast. The basics!

Cons: Do not believe they will pick you up at the train station (unexpected taxi ride $55), Noisy room on street side, bring your own soap/shampoo if staying more than one nt (they will not give you more), you will not fit in the bed or be covered by the duvet if you are taller then 6 feet, cold front desk service by male staff. Never met Mario who offered to pick us up at the train station.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cold staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potsdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Hi, my impression is a mixed bag, really. The location is fantastic, very close to everything. We had a toddler with us and not having to walk long distances was crucial. The staff is helpful and our room (4 beds: a double and two singles) was nice, with simple but tasteful furniture and good beds. On the minus side: our room was not very clean on arrival, there are mildew spots in the shower, an old not too clean carpet in the room and just adequate breakfast, but not more. Still a good choice overall, as the price is reasonable.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

We were really pleased. Excellent , simple pension in historic building - immaculately clean, tastefully decorated, wonderfully warm in a snowy November week. Very friendly helpful staff, bang in middle of Old Town. Very good service collecting/returning to airport. They told us there was ten per cent discount if you book directly with them and not through an agent. Probably not a good location if you are trying to park a car - but what idiot would bring a car to this crowded old city anyway?

  • Liked — room-safe, warm, clean, tasteful
  • Disliked — stairs (though short flight)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed at the Red Chair 2 nights, the 6th and 7th Sept. Accomodation was booked through the website praguediscounthotels.com, whose customer service was good and gave us a free pickup from the airport. The hotel spans three floors and generally appeared clean and well maintained. Although the price was very resonable, the main reson to stay here is the location, after a few aimless circuits of the local area we found our bearings and with that discovered that everything was right on our doorstep. A couple of the hotel staff were a bit miserable, but the girl on the late shift was great, and didn't mind our drunken banter upon arriving back at the hotel in the wee hours (sorry if we embarrased ourselves)!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Chair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Chair Hotel

Address: Liliova 4, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Chair Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently renovated hotel located in a building dating to the 15th century. Our location to the Old town square is 300 metres – the same distance is from us to the Charles bridge. The location offers you calming area with historical attitude. We provide secure parking for cars, bikes and motorbikes as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Red Chair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Chair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.