We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Red Chair- worth a try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Chair Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Chair Hotel to your Saves list
Red Chair Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Liliova 4, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special secret deal!
Ranked #9 of 276 Prague B&B and Inns
potsdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Red Chair- worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Hi, my impression is a mixed bag, really. The location is fantastic, very close to everything. We had a toddler with us and not having to walk long distances was crucial. The staff is helpful and our room (4 beds: a double and two singles) was nice, with simple but tasteful furniture and good beds. On the minus side: our room was not very clean on arrival, there are mildew spots in the shower, an old not too clean carpet in the room and just adequate breakfast, but not more. Still a good choice overall, as the price is reasonable.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    99
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
84
183
49
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

We were really pleased. Excellent , simple pension in historic building - immaculately clean, tastefully decorated, wonderfully warm in a snowy November week. Very friendly helpful staff, bang in middle of Old Town. Very good service collecting/returning to airport. They told us there was ten per cent discount if you book directly with them and not through an agent. Probably not a good location if you are trying to park a car - but what idiot would bring a car to this crowded old city anyway?

  • Liked — room-safe, warm, clean, tasteful
  • Disliked — stairs (though short flight)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed at the Red Chair 2 nights, the 6th and 7th Sept. Accomodation was booked through the website praguediscounthotels.com, whose customer service was good and gave us a free pickup from the airport. The hotel spans three floors and generally appeared clean and well maintained. Although the price was very resonable, the main reson to stay here is the location, after a few aimless circuits of the local area we found our bearings and with that discovered that everything was right on our doorstep. A couple of the hotel staff were a bit miserable, but the girl on the late shift was great, and didn't mind our drunken banter upon arriving back at the hotel in the wee hours (sorry if we embarrased ourselves)!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysłowice
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

I do appreciate the location of the pension. Together with my husband really liked it. Nice walking in the late night as we were very close to the old town:) Our double room were small but lovely. There is parking space and very friendly staff. Price is reasonable. I really advice the Red Chair Pension as good quality hotel.

J.

  • Liked — very close to the old town
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

I found this hotel by walking in off the street. The place I was staying in was awful and this place looked charming. I stayed here for 2 weeks. What I liked about it: great location, right in Old Town Square. Reasonable price. Clean, Quiet & Secure. They lock the courtyard doors after dark, so you have to enter through the foyer. Decent breakfast included.

The only oddities were: If you don't put the sign on the door to have the room cleaned, they don't clean it. A little strange, but not a terrible inconvenience. Also, while most of the staff were very pleasant (Mario is excellent!), there was one male desk clerk who was exceptionally rude and nasty. I suppose it's a crap shoot no matter where you go, though. All in all, I'm glad I stayed there. Also, if you stay for a long time and/or go back a second time, they give you a discount. It's a nice touch. P.S. All rooms are non-smoking.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2006

We have stayed 3 nights in this hotel. It is well located and rooms are simple but correct. Anyway we had 2 problems. First problem: they obliged us to move to an other room after the first night. The reason: we booked a twin and had a double (in fact after verification of the voucher it wasn't true!). We would have prefered to stay but they refused.
Second problem: the room hasn't been cleaned when we came back next day afternoon. The reason: the sign "please make up the room" was'nt on the door! Usely when you don't put the sign, it means you are o.k for making the room. We have traveled everywhere in the world, it's the first time we hear that!
We don't recommand this hotel, they aren't professionnal and the client is always wrong!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

We reserved a room for 3 nights at the Red Chair Pension through the internet. Their site is : (---).
The pension has 15 rooms of various sizes on 2 floors (Ground & first).
It is located in Liliova St. a VERY short walk from most attractions - Get's a "10" for location.
The rooms are simple but comfortable, very clean and look like they were refurbished not long ago.
We had a safe and a minibar in the room (although safe was not working and was not fixed during our stay).
The fee includes a nice breakfast of cereals, yogurts, toasts, jam and other spreads, juices and hot beverages. It is served in the lobby / entrance room.
The staff was very helpfull with every request (including - where to buy tickets for a Pearl Jam concert in September...). They checked out weather for us for a day trip, reserved taxis and rides to/from the airport (at a 550Kc - a very reasonable price) and offered tourists tips in general.
Many photos on their web-site.

We loved ours stay there !

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Chair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Chair Hotel

Address: Liliova 4, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 276 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Chair Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently renovated hotel located in a building dating to the 15th century. Our location to the Old town square is 300 metres – the same distance is from us to the Charles bridge. The location offers you calming area with historical attitude. We provide secure parking for cars, bikes and motorbikes as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Chair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Chair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.