We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel City 5

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel City 5 to your Saves list
Aparthotel City 5
Vltavska 11/667 | Praha 5 - Smíchov, Prague 15000 , Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free laundry in the house
Ranked #6 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Northen Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were in Prague with my daughter.I found this amazing place on TripAdvisor & it was exactly as good as everybody says.Great host, great value.We were on the top floor, it was really quiet.
Friday morning I went to the farmers market( one block from hotel),got us some fresh bread, pastries,raspberries,blueberries,plums .We had a nice breakfast on the cute tiny balcony ( made tea in the room).This market is amazing:breads, cheeses, sausages, fruit, vegetables,gifts.I wish we had more time- I'd cook.
We used hotel's transportation from the airport- highly recommend.But as soon as we knew our way around- we always used public transportation or walked.Safe neighborhood.
Thanks, Kristina for being such a helpful host.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    83
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
205
445
55
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

On our last day in Prague, my kids asked if we could get flowers for Kristina, the hotel's owner. That's how much they liked her, and the hotel. Kristina's enthusiasm for Prague was infectious, her manner open-armed welcoming, and her eagerness to ensure we had a wonderful, happy stay was obvious at every step. We had a one bedroom with a very comfortable fold out sofa in the living room/kitchen area. The room/apartment was very large, including lots of space to stow luggage and clothes, big windows that opened to the street below, and a nice bathroom. All was spotless. On the main floor, a fun, packed kids room kept the kids busy and occupied while I finished a cappuccino or planned our day in the cafe part of the hotel. For 4 euros, the breakfast was a delicious bargain. the safe, the wifi and the tv all worked great. Beautiful 20-25 minute walk to old town center. A Metro stop just a block or two away, as well as tram lines. Lots of restaurants nearby, two big supermarkets and other stores in the mall. we walked everywhere, very safe neighborhood. Quiet at night for sleeping. Hope we can return one day!

Room Tip: Tell Kristina what you need, emailing her is a breeze. She will listen and take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

What can I say about Aparthotel 5 that hasn't already been said?

Kristina is an extremely helpful & friendly host.
The building has a fantastic location (steps away from metro/bus & shopping mall).
The rooms are large, comfortable and clean, honestly felt like home.
The price can't be beat for the value.
You aren't going to find anywhere else in Prague with this much character, it felt like living in an actual apartment building and being apart of a small community.

Why are you still reading? Just book the apartment already!!

Room Tip: Ask for a street view to people watch & please eat at the restaurant next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a really great place to stay in Prague. A bit out of town, so it is quiet and with excellent transport links into the centre of town. Kristina knows everything you need to know and delivers a wonderful welcome and service, with a huge smile and fab coffee to boot. The breakfast is simple and tasty and good value. rooms are bright, large and clean. What more could you want? If we are in Prague again, we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Due to a hotel booking mix-up hubby and I were left with no hotel in a city we have never been to before. Thanks to TA we found Aparthotel City 5. We sent the hotel a last minute email inquiring on a room availability. Our email was promptly answered by Kristina herself, luckily she had a room available for our stay. We arrived at the hotel next day, a bit early in the morning, and was greeted by Kristina "Hello! Hello! Welcome! How do you want your coffee?" Talk about a warm welcome! We immediately felt at ease and knew right away we made the right choice.

The room we had was quite spacious and had more than everything we needed. It was simply furnished and very clean. The Wifi was good too. We availed of the hotel's free laundry service. Just talk to the laundry manager. Who else? Kristina! Every morning we were served coffee of our choice. Breakfast was plentiful, bread, pastries, fruits, yoghurt, cereals and Kristina's famous ham and cheese toasted sandwiches.

All the high ratings given to this hotel is truly deserved. We will be recommending this hotel to our family and friends visiting Prague. Thank you Kristina for making our Prague experience extra memorable! You're definitely one of a kind!

Room Tip: Since the hotel is located along the main road, it tends to be a little noisy with the traffic. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

You know that you are special when Kristina calls you a regular customer. This was our second stay and certainly not our last. We love Aparthotel because Kristina is just so wonderful. She is really a great hostess. She makes an awesome ham and cheese pannini and coffee to your liking. She is so helpful so that you get the most out of your trip. This was our neice's first trip to Europe and Kristina went out of her way to make her feel special. Outside of Kristina the hotel itself is in a great place. We stayed in the apartment just like last time, hopped on the metro to get to all the fabulous tourist destinations and came home each night feeling like we were at home. When we go back next year we will stay here again. We love it.

Room Tip: Buy your metro tickets from Kristina. Tram 12 will take you to the Charles Bridge and the Castle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I think this is the first 5 star review I've given on TripAdvisor. I felt compelled to write this review because of how wonderful Kristina made the experience for my wife and I during our brief two night stay in Prague. Her energy, enthusiasm and love for Prague were infectious. She oriented us with a map and all the major areas to hit during our stay. She gave me my first meal in Prague--a Staropramen beer and a chocolate donut (somewhere, Homer Simpson is jealous)! She just made us feel welcome and excited to see and experience Prague and its people. Really, if she ever wants to quite the hotel gig, she needs to be hired by the Czech Board of Tourism.
This place is conveniently located just outside the Andel metro stop. We did get a little disoriented as there are multiple exits from the metro. TIP: If you exit and are next to a bus terminal, keep walking in the direction of the buses until you reach the intersection and you'll see the street you need to be on (Vltavaska); otherwise, if you exit and are next to a mall, you'll need to head in the opposite direction of the KFC for about 2 minutes until you reach said intersection.
As others have said, this place is about a 15-20 minute walk to the Old Town/Charles Bridge area as well as the Prague Castle/Petrin Hill. Not as central as some people may like, but great for helping to keep off the pounds from all the food/beer you'll be consuming. It's also a quick 10 minutes to the Vysehrad area which is supposedly known as the most romantic area in Prague and has some great views of the city. You'll also find a Tesco supermarket on the ground floor of a shopping mall not even 5 minutes away.
The room was one of the larger ones we enjoyed during our six city tour of Europe, with plenty of room for our two large luggage. The room had a little fridge and kitchenette and the bed was suitably comfortable.
Public transportation is readily accessible given the proximity of the metro stop as well as the various street trams that will take you towards town but, honestly, the area is so safe and walkable that you should save your money for souvenirs/food.
At the end of our stay, Kristina was able to exchange our leftover Krowns into Euros for us as well as hold our luggage after we checked out since our train didn't leave until later that night. She really is as great as everyone says she is.
Save yourself some money and stay here--your wallet, your belly and your mind will thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel City 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel City 5

Address: Vltavska 11/667 | Praha 5 - Smíchov, Prague 15000 , Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#5 Family Hotel in Prague
#12 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family apartment hotel APARTHOTEL CITY 5 is located very close to the modern administrative-commercial center of Prague 5 "Zlaty Andel / Novy Smichov", approx. 50m from the metro station Andel. Aparthotel City 5 is fully reconstructed four floor house with a lift. All apartments are furnished in a modern and elegant style. All the equipment is brand new. There are different apartments for 2 - 6 clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aparthotel City 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel City 5 Prague
Aparthotel City 5 Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel City 5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.