We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prague for one night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel U Divadla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel U Divadla to your Saves list
Hotel U Divadla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   U Stare Posty 247/6, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic (Praha 4)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Michalovce, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Prague for one night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stay in Prague for a one day . We came at 10 am and check in time was from 14 : 00 . On the reception they gave us a room without a problem straight at 10 am . The room was nice big and bed was really comfortable.
Breakfast was rich you can choose from cold buffet or hot buffet we had a pancakes that were so delicious . Hotel restaurant is also so good and cheap i can recomanded a really good ribs .

Room Tip: The room 106 is a room in the corner with a sofa .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    109
    60
    13
    12
See reviews for
55
157
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just home from a lovely trip to Prague with my boyfriend! It was our first visit here! We arrived at our hotel 2 hours before check in time looking to just drop off our bags & return later but our room was available & we were allowed in early which pleased us! The hotel staff were very helpfull, when we were ready to go out they gave us a map & showed us exactly where to get bus & tram from & where to get off! Also when looking to do excursions they were more than happy to help us book them or give us travel information! The decor of the rooms is a bit dated but the bathroom was new & very nice & the whole place was spotlessly clean! Towels were changed daily & beds made every day too! You are allowed to smoke in the restaurant, as you are in most places in Prague! All rooms are non smoking & we couldnt smell smoke in our room! The breakfast was a bit limited but we were happy to skip breakfast & eat while we were out anyway so wasn't a problem! We had dinner in the hotel one night & it was very nice & a decent price too! The hotel is a bit out of the city centre but the tram stop is about a 7 minute walk away or you can take the bus 1 stop & get the tram! The tram journey to city centre is about 15 minutes & has nice views along the river! The trams only run until midnight so if you are getting a taxi back ask the bar you are in to phone one for you as taxi's on the street rip you off! The hotel is also happy to book taxi's to airport etc!! Overall we had a very nice stay & couldnt fault the hotel or the friendly & helpfull service the staff gave us!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Staff pleasant enough. Continental breakfast nice with plenty of choice. However would rate 3 stars not 4. Rooms lovely and warm but lack what I would expect in a four star. Like modern tv, tea/coffee facilities. Bathroom really modern and very clean. This hotel is situated in a quiet area of Branik which is about 20 mins from centre. A 10 min walk to the tram then about a 10 min ride to centre. The area is quiet and not so many English speaking, trying to buy a tram ticket was a knightmare as no newsagents had any!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and our experience was not that pleasant. On entering the hotel we were hit by a wall of thick smoke which was coming from the bar/restaurant area. This is a problem for us as we are Non smokers and hate the smell of it. We proceeded to check in and all was fine. On entering the room we had a quick look around and were pleased with the cleanliness of it. The bathroom was actually really nice, newly renovated and the room was decent enough. Although we did book a double room but we had to stay in 2 single beds. I only realised that they actually had proper double beds in the room when we got back and I looked at travellers photos. Although this was not a major issue we still would have liked what we booked for. The first night was pleasant but we were unable to have dinner because the chef had apparently gone home at 9pm although it stated they cook until 11pm. Also the smoke from downstairs was coming through our 2nd floor bedroom door. We had to purchase air freshener and place a towel at the bottom of the door to try and stop the smell, but this was not as effective, even though it states the rooms are non smoking the smell still gets through the doors and makes the furnishings smell stale. As the week went on we realised that the chef was actually sitting in the booth having a cigarette and a pint of larger when we were told he went home, even though they ordered us a pizza we were still very disappointed they lied. The next day we were wanting to go into Prague centre but as we asked where do we buy the tram tickets from we just got told tobacco shops. But never got shown where one was in the area. We also asked during the week for an excursion but it was a big effort for them to enquire for us even though all he was doing was smoking in the bar. The food in the hotel is really nice but there are a lot of flies in the restaurant. Breakfast was depressing. We went in and all the food was uncovered and flies were everywhere so not really hygienic. My partner was eating the hot sausages that were covered but I just stuck with coffee. We found a little supermarket with no help from the hotel and bought some bread and things to eat in the morning as I wasnt keen on the breakfast. The food we had in the evening was actually really nice. I had the Beef goulash and my partner had the beef, chicken and pork skewers. We found our own way to town using Prague airport Transfers who were amazing and used the trams back once we found out we needed the no:17 tram. The rest of the week went pleasant enough but on our last night we were on budget and only had 500ck left for our dinner and were unable to afford the restaurant. So we asked to order a pizza, Rauf, i think his name was, seemed offended by this and was saying the restaurant is open, but we had to explain that we did not have enough to spend in there despite us spending 2/5 evenings in the hotel restaurant. He replied with ''well pizza will cost you 350kc'' as if to say that was more expensive than the food in the hotel. I found this quite rude, eventually 2.5hrs later we received a pizza as he just didn't seem to be bothered. Also a lot of people checked in that night for the weekend and next door to us was some very noisy people. We could hear every word they were saying, but they eventually went out and we managed to get to sleep before they returned. The next morning we took everything and went downstairs to check out. The same guy was there again as he was when we checked in, he asked if we had a pleasant stay and yeah we did, apart from the rude staff and bad smell of smoke.
Overall the hotel was nice, area is a bit of a dive, but the centre of Prague is beautiful. Prague is defiantly worth a visit, but not in the Hotel U Divadla, sorry.

Room Tip: Make sure it's a double bed and not 2 single beds pushed together. Maybe ask for 3rd floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hotel was lovely but area was a dive we had a perfect honeymoon said in hotel bar was open every day except mon yet we arrived sun and wasnt open nor was it open any day till thurs other than that a very nice stay

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Accommodation 4 nights in Prague, really enjoyed in Hotel, the service is kind and caring, the hotel staff is wonderful and nice, breakfast ok, but not suitable for a hotel of four-star hotel is located a bit far from the city, but there are excellent public transport. Room they gave us was really small. Neighborhood is very quiet and nice, there are many small shops around.There Brewery beers near the hotel, there is a supermarket in the parallel street, which is really cheap. Has a very nice neighborhood pub at the end of the street. Nice hotel, but needed a good overhaul and cleaning of the carpets in the rooms

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We went to Hotel U Divadla for 2 days because we bought vouchers on Groupon. We were absolutely pleasantly surprised. The staff was extremely friendly and thoughtful.
We arrived at the hotel after a long roadtrip around midnight. As we were very tired, we hoped, that everything would go smooth - and it did! The receptionist greeted us very friendly and immediately explained everything to us. The hotel has a secured parking lot close by which you have to pay for €7,- per night. They also have public parking in front of the house.
Our room was quite small but nice. The bathrooms are excellent and have those lovely towel-heaters.
Our deal included breakfast and one dinner. When we got up in the morning (just in time not to miss the breakfast that is from 7-10) we were pleasantly surprised by a wide variety of hot and cold food as well as cakes and cereals, juices and quite good coffee.
The best was the dinner: Katharina was serving us the most delicious meal. (the dinner meals are 'chef's choice' which means you cannot choose from a menu). All 3 courses were absolutely delicious and the service was very fast.
When we were checking out on Sunday, Katharina was at the reception and helping us with our luggage and allowed us to leave the car in the parking lot until we would leave. She was incredible in taking care of us and telling us everything we needed to know.

Location of the hotel: The hotel is about 20 minute tram ride away from the town center. It's a beautiful tram ride because you go next to the Vltava the whole time.

If we go to prag again, we would definitely go back to Hotel U divadla!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#105 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf Depandance
Hotel Golf Depandance
#163 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Iris Hotel Eden
#287 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#143 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Union Praha
Hotel Union Praha
#268 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#148 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Divadla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Divadla

Address: U Stare Posty 247/6, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#88 Family Hotel in Prague
#149 Business Hotel in Prague
#152 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#199 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Divadla 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious hotel with family atmosphere located in a calm area close to the Prague city centre (cca 15 min by tram) - all that and much more is provided by hotel U Divadla. Our prices will pleasantly surprise you. Art nouveau style gives this Prague's hotel charming and romantic atmosphere. It is an ideal place to arrange private celebrations as well as business meetings. Advantage of this four star hotel is family atmosphere and personal approach to our clients. Many satisfied guests from the Czech Republic as well as abroad come back thanks to high quality of accommodation, restaurant and cafe services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel U Divadla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Divadla Hotel
u Divadla Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel U Divadla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.