We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, low key hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Prague Tyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Prague Tyn to your Saves list
Hostel Prague Tyn
Tynska 19 | Praha 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice, low key hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hostel was a great choice. It is in a perfect location near Oldtown square. The hostel was clean and quiet, and the staff was very helpful. They shared local hotspots and gave directions to tourist favorites. David at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful. The only downside is that the hostel was not very social- there is a downstairs area, but not many people socialized here. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    52
    26
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
20
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I would recommend this place for the location alone, about a block off the main old town square. The hostel itself seemed so so: there was a bit of wait for bathrooms, and the kitchen is small and very overcrowded at breakfast time. There was a queue just to wash your dishes. The breakfast is small too. The room (a twin) was clean and warm, but quite small. The guys at the reception were very friendly and helpful, one even loaning us an umbrella of his own when ours broke. Given how good transport is in Prague, there might be better hostel choices.

Room Tip: I think all private rooms have shared bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had no problems finding the hostel despite fears I had for my family (esp my parents) that we had to move around with our luggages from train station to Metro station and then walking to the hostel.

The location is excellent, just off the Prague's old town square and we walked everywhere - couldn't have asked for more really.

Unlike the previous previews re: the receptionist (the rude elderly man) we encountered by 3 young receptionists during our 2 nights stay - they were all nice and helpful, and speak good English.

The room given to us (6 bunk beds room - no. 202) was nice, spacious and clean. Towels were available for free. There's a small kitchen and living room at the basement level though they do get crowded esp towards 10am, when the free breakfast is about to finished.

It's all good but the reason why I would rate it 3 stars are:
- There are only 1 female and 1 male toilet on our floor, 1 female bathroom (1 person) and a bathroom with 2 shower but it's mix, furthermore the showers in the 2-showers mix room are semi transparent and it can't be locked so I suspect it would be quite uncomfortable for many, female travellers in particular. I am only talking about 2nd floor so am not sure how the other floors are.

- The floor in our room make squeaky noise when walked on. With 6 persons in a room, there are bound to be movements (to toilet), so despite the comfortable bed, all of us didn't sleep very well.

- We booked through Hostelworld and our booking confirmation clearly stated that we are to pay in EUR. However, we upon checked in, we were told that we need to pay in Kç. And the amount quoted in Kç if converted using street conversion rate, was EUR9 more than what we had to pay as per stated on our booking confirmation. So do be aware.

Note: there's a refundable deposit required for keys. They accept any currency and will refund you accordingly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The strong point of this hostel is its position, right behind the Oldtown square in a tiny and quiet street. You are practically in the centre of the city. Otherwise is the place simple but clean with well equipped kitchen and common room with free Wi-Fi. I recommend also to check the Indian restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Located just behind the Tyn church at the old town square, this is one of the best places to stay near the city centre. And yes totally value for money. The rooms are as basic as a hostel can get, but have decent storage space and are clean. Well equipped kitchen and access to computer terminals with internet are good plus. The place is walking distance from most of the tourist attractions; you surely can save local transport money. On the flip side, the hostel has no elevators and we ended up doing stairs to 3rd floor multiple times. Travellers with heavy bags, you need to hit the gym before your Prague trip! Most of the rooms do not have much of window view and are absolutely minimalistic; not sure if it has been kept like that to add the cold-war era feel. If so, they have been more than successful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hostel claims that their advantage is their unbeatable location and they're right, unfortunately thats as good as this place gets. I should start by saying that my girlfriend and I are by no means fussy travellers, we are budget travellers who stay in hostels everywhere we go. All we ever expect is clean facilities and good service which we don't think is too much to ask. Where do I begin? We were greeted by the rudest man we've ever encounted on our travels. If you stay here you'll know what I mean, it's the balding man with glasses. How hard is it it to offer basic friendly service to your guests? Getting any information out of this guy was like pulling teeth. When we check in to a place we expect a brief rundown of facilities etc....absolutely nothing from this bloke. Took our money including a 200kn key deposit, gave us the key and that was it. He then had the hide to huff and puff when we were asking questions. Disgusting service to match the disgusting standard of this hostel. Putrid bathrooms complete with mouldy shower heads and hair tangled in the drains. If we were in Prague for more than one night we would have got the hell out of there but in the end it was just a place to rest our head! There's zero character and atmosphere, pitiful facilities, dirty bathrooms, make no mistake this place is bottom of the barrel, only book if you are absolutely desperate!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great location, very central, clean, quiet at night (in October), fully equipped kitchen, internet access, and prices are actually cheaper than on their website (for single rooms anyway) so check in advance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Prague Tyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Prague Tyn

Address: Tynska 19 | Praha 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best located hostels in Prague, located in quiet alley 200 m from the Old Town SQuare. Free breakfast, internet/wifi, linen, towels and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Prague Tyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Tyn Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Prague Tyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.