We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value would stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galileo Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Galileo Prague to your Saves list
Hotel Galileo Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bruselska 3, Prague 12000, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Stretford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Value would stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here in December as a short break, whilst there were many reviews about the hotel you can never be sure until you stay there.
This hotel was just outside the old town but only 20 minutes walk into the centre of the old town, location was excellent.
The staff were brilliant and the breakfast was good.
Our room was huge and very nice, we would definitely stay here again.
The only downside was that our room was by the road where the tram ran and it was noisy after 6am

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road where the tram runs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuzanaHlavacova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for staying at Galileo Hotel Prague and sharing your experience about the hotel.

It was a pleasure for me to note, that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were highly satisfied with our facilities and service provided.

Looking forward to your next stay and wish you Merry Christmas

Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    213
    50
    15
    8
See reviews for
62
287
23
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was part of 'package' from Citrus Holidays(useless liars!) via Travelzoo and we were placed here, as the original 'deal' hotel was full. So glad it was, Marco was so welcoming and gracious. For some reason, Citrus had got us a room with two singles, Marco, in a flash, changed this to an apartment with no extra charge. Wonderful. Wifi available in rooms, bed very comfortable and warm and so much room. Tram service was a stone's throw, restaurants everywhere(a Prague theme, as we discovered) or a nice walk down to Wenceslas square etc. A must would have to be the duck in Deminka restaurant, just down the hill. loose fitting trousers a must. For anyone who uses Travelzoo, avoid Citrus Holidays like the plague. Basically lied about changing flight prices, tried to put us on one that landed at 21:30! and then said it was £50 extra each to move to morning flight on a Sunday. Was actually cheaper than the original flight!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuzanaHlavacova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Traveler,

thank you very much for staying at the Galileo Hotel Prague and posting such a nice review on Tripadvisor.
It is pleasure for me to note, that our spacious rooms and our staff t met your expectations, although you were originally booked in another hotel.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Galileo Hotel Prague again.
Kindest Regards
Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Marco! The perfect gentleman met us with a huge smile! Nothing was too much trouble for Marco, he helped with every enquiry we had. He helped us with maps, sorted the airport transport, everything was excellent. We will definitely be returning to Prague and would stay again at the Hotel Galileo. the rooms were absolutely spotless and the breakfast on the top floor was a bonus. Keep up the good work Marco - you were brilliant. And if you were the face of Prague - everyone would visit your beautiful city.

Room Tip: 4th Floor - on arrival Marco just said that we had been upgraded - how chuffed were we!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuzanaHlavacova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Traveler,
thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Galileo Prague and posting feedback on Tripadvisor.
I was pleased reading, that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied by service provided.
I sincerely hope that our team, especially Marco, will have a chance to welcome you back at the Galileo Hotel Prague in future.
with best regards
Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luvia, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

A friend recommended Hotel Galileo and I´m very glad I listened to her suggestion. Hotel was great, room was big, especially bathroom was very spacious, staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is in walking distance from the city centre and we walked a lot. It was very quiet and peaceful in the hotel, and the breakfast was delicious and there was plenty to eat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuzanaHlavacova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Galileo and for taking the time to shared your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our good location, breakfast and service provided .
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.

With Best Regards from Prague,

Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Bought a package deal with hotel and flight. Chose Hotel Galileo from visiting their website and reading reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of city center. There is also a tram on the main street nearby. The location was great because it was in a quiet residential neighborhood away from the busy tourist center. There was enough choice at breakfast for those not used to eating certain foods at this meal. A bit tricky to find the breakfast room on the first day but once found it was a large, pleasant room with a view over the roof tops.
Room and bathroom were clean. Staff friendly and helpful. There is a free shuttle from the airport to the hotel every 2 hours leaving from EXIT 2 on the first floor of the airport building. This turned out to be a bit tricky because we were just told to go to Exit E so naturally we headed for the exit on the ground floor. As a result of this confusion we missed the shuttle and decided to wait for the next one. You can book a shuttle ride back to the airport for a fee of 150 CZC or 8 euros. The ride from the airport to the hotel took at least 30 minutes.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuzanaHlavacova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Allow me to thank you for staying a at the Galileo Hotel Prafues and for sharing your experience.

I very much appreciate that you have taken the time to review your stay, as it is a great opportunity for the entire Galileo Hotel Prague team to monitor their performances in order to maintain high standard service.

On behalf of all the Galileo Hotel Team I send you my best regards and hope, that you will visit us again.

Best Regards
Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hotel Galileo in Prague was nice. The rooms were large and remodeled, the maid service was good. The front desk staff was decent, but nothing special, except for the Italian employee (I believe his name was Marco), he was an excellent worker, very willing to tell us about places we should visit, hours of operation, costs, etc. The other employees were not too fond of giving us tourist information. The hotel was not centrally located and the nearest commercial area was a 15-20 minute walk. The breakfast service was amazing! Not the typical bread and coffee breakfast, but full service with eggs, sausages, potatoes, sauces, and all kinds of pastries, meats, cheeses, etc. Loved the breakfast! The mattress seemed to be a little old and worn. The pillows were very thin.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front street have a nicer view of the surrounding buildings but might be a little n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuzanaHlavacova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for staying at the Galileo Hotel Prague and for posting your n positive review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to learn that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed our breakfast .
I hope we will have a chance to see you in Prague again!
Greetings from Galileo Hotel Prague staff , especially from Marco and all the best.

Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nice big, clean room for relatively small price. Staff very friendly - close to Tram and Metro. Great pub just opposite called U Webru which is run by two crazy brothers :-) Fantastic shopping Centre called 'Palladium' - Equal to any large shopping centre in the UK. About 3 miles away but only a few stops on the Metro.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuzanaHlavacova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Traveler,

thank you for staying at the Galileo Hotel Prague and sharing your thoughts about your stay.

I was pleased reading, that you enjoyed your stay with us .

I look forward to welcoming you back at the Galileo Hotel Prague in the near future.

Sincerely Yours

Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Galileo Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo Prague

Address: Bruselska 3, Prague 12000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#111 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#181 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galileo Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GALILEO hotel is situated in the Vinohrady historic residential area of the centre of Prague. It has been renovated with care recently, so that our guests can enjoy a stay in the magical atmosphere of the golden city in elegant, comfortable surroundings. The hotel is served by public transport stops close by (underground and tram) and the famous Wenceslas Square is only 10 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Galileo Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galileo Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.