We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Merlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Merlin to your Saves list
Hotel Merlin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorazdova 331/22 | New Town, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #428 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Is ok for the price and location!
Positive: close to the center, has a nice view if you are at the right side of the building, price is also fine.
Negative: bathroom smelled like hell the first day, was probably not well cleaned or used before. We had to flush everything for half an hour to get rid of the smell.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    59
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
13
34
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed for a week on a work/pleasure trip. The location was amazing--immediately across from the Dancing House and the Vltava and easy access to tram and metro. The room was ok. Nicely appointed, but clearly Ikea and quickly showing age. The basement pub was a bit overpriced and left a smoky smell on weekends, but was convenient. The Vietnamese restaurant across the street was much better. Breakfast was fine--bread, cheese, spreads and some eggs. Easy and reliable. Do be warned that they take only CASH!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed here for a few days last spring on a tour of Europe. I booked this after seeing the You Tube of the young couple touring as I was. They were sorta backpacking vs me and the trains. I was pleased with the staff and facilities. The breakfast was a disappointment, but being from the US my tastebuds differed. The rooms were very clean. The furniture and bed were very basic. The young lady at the desk was very helpful. She clued me onto the free Tours which were outstanding. Thoroughly enjoyed the Castle Tour and the Terezin tour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Good value for money, but nothing unusual. Location could be lot better, especially if you consider that there are NO parking possibilities in front of the hotel (if you park your car will get towed). You have to go and search for a parking place, and they are scarce and costly, except during the weekends. Staff was also OK but not very nice. Basically, I was expecting more, but not bad for a 2 day trip to Prague (tourist attractions can be reached by a 20 minute walk).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leimen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Booked few days in advance a smal double bed room with a shared bathroom, because other rooms were already full. Communication was swift and without problems. Funny thing you can't pay with a credit/debit card. Cash only. So kind of curious, how the money could be withdrawn as described in the last review. The small attic double bed room wasn't anything special and you can hear the neighbors walking by as if they were walking right next to you, but overall it was very quiet and we had a decent sleep. The breakfast was great, no complaints about that at all. Would come by again if needed.

Room Tip: If you're scared of the lifts, you'll probably die in case you'll have use it up the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed from 22 to 26 agust 2013.
Plus:
great position: near to Moldava, Gehry House, Karlovo Namesti, Tram 6, 10, 17, 22 and Metro B;
big room with a beautifull view on Praga Castle;
polite staff;

Minus,
electric Kettle and cups but not the and sugar.. very strange...
You have to put the label at the door if you wantto have the room maked up

Room Tip: We stayd in room 303, very big and clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here. We felt very secure with three locked doors to get to our room though some hallmates forgot to lock the hall door. It was very clean and the receptionist was always very kind and helpful. The price was good too. No one bothered our food in the shared fridge but we had the wing to ourselves for the most part. The best part was that we had a wonderful view of the castle and the river. I'd come back here in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Ostruvek
Ostruvek
#310 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#354 of 662 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#400 of 662 in Prague
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Aplus
Aplus
#446 of 662 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Residence V Tunich 14
Residence V Tunich 14
#356 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#149 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merlin

Address: Gorazdova 331/22 | New Town, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merlin 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Merlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Merlin Hotel Prague
Merlin Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Merlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.