We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic apartment with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prague City Apartments Residence Masna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Prague City Apartments Residence Masna to your Saves list
Prague City Apartments Residence Masna
Masna 5, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 550 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Basic apartment with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited Prague in April. We asked for a pick- up service from the airport- had to walk with our bags to the car which was parked at the open car park opposite the arrival hall. Lucky it was not raining.

Was taken to Karolina, the main reception to check in before we were dropped off at the apartment. Fast check-in and then dropped off at the apartment, which is less than 10mins away by car.

There is a flight of stairs just right after the main entrance of the apartment, so had to carry our bags up as there is no separate reception/ concierge at the apartment. Not really used to this but I guess this is common in Europe. Once you reach the top of the stairs, there is a tiny lift (think can fit a max of 3 adults with 2 small bags) which you can take to your respective floor.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 5th floor (which I think is the highest floor although there is a flight of stairs after the 5th floor where the common telephone is located). Very basic furnishing- comes with a double bed (ie. two single beds joined together), sofa, tv, dining table, microwave & washing machine. Did not use the washing machine. Great view of part of Our Lady of Tyn Church from the balcony. Very limited English channels on tv though. Pillows were a bit too soft for our liking.

Apartment does not have an air-con/ ceiling fan so had to ask for a table fan. May be warm during summer. Would be good if they had an extra side table in the room for the table fan. We found the lighting in the apartment, toilet & bedroom to be too dim.

Despite the shortcomings, the location is great- within 5 mins walk from the eateries, Old Town Square & Pariska. James Dean Cafe is around the corner, good breakfast place. Bohemian Bagel Cafe is just opposite- we found the food too oily & burnt for our liking. There is a Japanese restaurant, Yami just next door -serves great sushi & soba. There is also a convenience store 2 doors away. It is about 15 mins walk to New Town area (Namesti Republiky) & Palladium Mall form the apartment (provided you don't get lost), so close to everything. There are also several good pubs nearby.

The apartment is cleaned daily and towels changed daily- so no complaints there.

On the last day of our stay, we asked for the transfer service to the airport. As we were supposed to check out by 11am and airport transfer was booked at 12.30pm, the main reception arranged to pick up our bags from the apartment and keep our bags at Karolina while we did some last min shopping. We were happy with this arrangement. We were told to meet the driver at Karolina by 12.30pm for the airport transfer as they don't have a pick-up service from the apartment.

On the last day of our trip, as we were walking towards Karolina for our airport transfer, we noticed that police had sealed off most of the roads leading to Karolina-we realized that there had been an explosion earlier. When we called the main reception, we were promptly told that they will arrange to meet us and take us to the driver. Marcela arrived to meet us about 10 mins later and explained that the driver has to detour due to the road closure- was assured that our bags had been collected by the driver. Marcela then took us by foot (about 15mins) to get to the area where the driver was. We were glad that we were not late. Kudos to Marcela.

We think that the ambience in the apartment could be improved (eg. lighting, better pillows, additional side table etc). Overall, we were happy with the service provided.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    46
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
65
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were very happy to stay in the Masna Residence. We were traveling with two other couples, and each couple had a studio. I felt that the staff really wanted our experience to be a positive one. A broken pipe in one of the apartments we had previously reserved caused a change in plans, and these people could not have been more gracious. If I return to Prague, I will return to Masna Residence. The location is wonderful, and we could walk everywhere. The apartment was spotless and really had all that a person could need. The clothes washer was a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our 3rd visit to Prague. Accommodation was exactly as specified. There were no negative surprises, nor any disappointments. The entire staff: from internet communication personnel, to transport drivers, to reception staff, to caretakers, and to local telephone advisers; all were very cordial, professional, and efficient. As far as we are concerned, there is not a better choice for quality and pleasant accommodation in Prague.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was taking holidays in Czech Republic and stayed at Residence Masna from 31 May to 4 June 2013. Residence Masna is located in a quite street in Old Town Prague and is close to many activities, restaurants, bars, and cafes. The facility and furnishings are adequate. The staffs at prague-city-apartments.cz are friendly and responsive. I have been to Prague several times and I enjoyed my stay at Residence Masna the most. I am planning to return in July 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SlimMalteser
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you are looking for reasonable accommodation at a reasonable price, Prague City Apartments delivers. The facilities were good and all requirements were met - indeed, they thought of everything. And the service itself and the staff were excellent - they do, indeed, seem to care about "doing it right". Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location within a few minutes walk to Old Town. Tram and metro stations, as well as mini market nearby.

Great service all around from the reservations team with prompt responses. We were delighted to find an already made crib and sofa bed for our girls upon arrival, esp needed after the long flights to Prague. Our private Airport pickup was complementary and drop off is 500CZK.

Apt is cleaned daily, and other conveniences include kitchen, refrigerator and washer inside the apt.

Highly recommend this place especially for families traveling with children.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My luggage was whisked to the apartment after I checked in, while I strolled there through the old town. The apartment is in an old block, clean and well maintained. It is spacious and well equipped. I had a problem with the TV and a broken lightbulb, both were fixed instantly. The room was comfortable and quiet. Prague City Apartments also arranged a transfer to the airport at a reasonable rate (21 EUR). My only negative point is that the room overlooked other apartments and was quite gloomy. Maybe a room at the front of the building would be better. I would definitely use Prague City Apartments again, the service was outstanding.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the front of the building where there is more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prague City Apartments Residence Masna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague City Apartments Residence Masna

Address: Masna 5, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 550 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Masna is a completely renovated 19th-century building. Thanks to its ideal location close to the Old Town Square, all prestigious sites in the historical center of Prague are easily accessible from there. This residence offers 21 comfortable studios or one-bedroom apartments, which include a fully equipped kitchenette and living-dining area, and a private bathroom. A satellite television, DVD, Hi-Fi and internet access are a matter of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Prague City Apartments Residence Masna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Masna Prague
Residence Masna Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prague City Apartments Residence Masna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.