We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family stay in Prague” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel u Svateho Jana

Save Saved
You added Hotel u Svateho Jana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel u Svateho Jana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vysehradska 28 | Praha 2, Prague 1200, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #398 of 668 hotels in Prague
Gdynia, Poland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect for family stay in Prague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I've stayed there with a family. They offer us 2 big rooms with one bathroom. Rooms are big and clean. Hotel is well situated close to tram station and in walking distance to city center ca. 20-25 min. Brakfast are OK but served only from 8 to 10 am. Hotel has a small parking for only 4 cars with very narrow entrance. Parking in neiberhood cost 20 EUR/day.
They DO NOT accept credit cards !!! Just on check in they want cash. If you do not have it they send you to next bank - ca. 300 m from hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in Hotel Svaty Jan in August 2011 with 3 friends and we must say that all in all we enjoyed it very much. We took a 4 person room on the 1st floor which was more than decent. 4 single beds and a small but clean and modern bathroom. The sleep quality was perfect, the beds were enjoyable and also breakfast in the morning was of sufficient quality. Every time we entered the hotel we had to buzz in, but even when we got home at 6 in the morning, it never took more than 20 seconds for the receptionist to open the door for us. The building was beautiful from the outside and the hotel was not far from a metrostop and even to the old town it was a 20 min walk only. So location wise we were very pleased. Pricewise we were also astonished because we could stay for 20€ per person per night which sounded more than reasonable for what we got.

Only downside was that website offered parking space for a reasonable price (8,5€ per day) but that there were only 4 spots which were all taken when we got there. Luckily we could also park for free nearby (next to police station) so in the end it was not a problem.

The ppl at the desk are very helpful but, as mentioned in earlier reviews, often on a break. what we didnt like as well was that we had to pay in cash when we arrived, not having crowns yet, we had to run to a bank before we could check in!

But all in all this hotel is very good!

Room Tip: First floor 4 person rooms are winners
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The employment here was a bit disappointing, it seemed they were always on break and it often took them awhile to buzz you into the building. Also, dogs were allowed in the hotel which would have been okay if they did not happen to be barking all day and night. Also, the location is not ideal, it is further than it seems from the city center. It was basically just very noisy as well, it may have been because I was on the first floor right by the lobby which echoed a lot, and I could also hear the bell ringing all night when people needed to be let in. The rooms were clean, however, and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room either in the basement floor or the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Nice small pension - great value for the money. Close to tram and metro station. Clean and spacious rooms. Very good buffet breakfast. Friendly hotel staff - they prepared us excellent take away breakfast on the check out day (it was very early in the morning). Free WiFi in the rooms and also internet in hotel lobby.

Room Tip: If possible ask for rooms on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallarate, Italy
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

we stayed 4 nights at the St John hotel with my family

the overall impression has been quite good, the hotel is quite charming and staff kind

the 4 people suite was big with two rooms and despite being at ground fllor on the road the noise was not much.

Breakfast was ok, not so much choice but some change every morning.

only addition I would suggest is for the bathroom to have a hairdryer (anyway I asked the recption guy if it was possible to get one and after 20 min he came with an hardrier to our room).

overall a nice place, not so close to the center as to walk every day but well connected by tram and metro.

I advise for people looking for a place with a local touch, not the "standard" hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebikon, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

The hotel is very near to the centre of Prague, to the old and new town. There is a metro station and a tram station.
The rooms are small but okay. There are some little things that could be improved like the shower or the temperature in the room, but the sleep wuality was okay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Easy to find , half way between Old Town and Vysehrad. 15 minutes walk to Old Town/Charles Bridge.Staff very welcoming and helpful, lent us a hairdrier and recommended local bars/restaurants and money changer.Acomodation spartan but very comfortable beds. We had no noise from trams as road closed whilst tram track being upgraded. Private and peaceful location and nearby Botanical Garden a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel u Svateho Jana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel u Svateho Jana

Address: Vysehradska 28 | Praha 2, Prague 1200, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2 , Praha 4
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #398 of 668 hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel u Svateho Jana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel At St. John is a hotel of garni category and provides an unusual opportunity of romantic accommodation with mystic atmosphere in the building originally used as a vicarage of the Church of St.John on the Rock. The building was built by architect A.Wiehl in neobaroque style in 1902 and is situated below the church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel u Svateho Jana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Svateho Jana Hotel
u Svateho Jana Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel u Svateho Jana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.