We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel by any stretch” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antik City

Save Saved
You added Hotel Antik City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Antik City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mala Stepanska 13 | Praha 2, Prague 12000, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 666 Hotels in Prague
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a 4 star hotel by any stretch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night, and the information we received said a 4 star hotel, free internet and breakfast. Our disappointments so far: No air conditioning in a 4 star hotel, no fitness center, room feels like a dungeon, ugly decoration, not that good location, poor bedding, unfriendly and intrusive staff...
We would not recommend this hotel to anybody who is planning to have a 4/5 star pleasant, romantic, and memorable experience...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    43
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
73
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is located near the city centre, on a quiet street. The room was big. The hotel is a bit dated: the rugs and furniture have seen their best days. The bed was big and good though.
In the toilet there was an air conditioning that was on whenever the light was on. It made a terrible noise! Breakfast was ok.
Overall a nice experience but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is 10 minutes walk away from the city centre and therefore is quiet. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms spotless and the breakfast more than adequate. Would also recommend the Pizza restaurant 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We found this great value of a hotel from the agent in the information station at the bus station. It was charming, nicely located, clean, with helpful staff who can book tours, excursions and guides.

A small boutique hotel that we would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The receptionists were very nice and smiley and even though we were supposed to get the room at 14.00 (it was about 13.00 when we got there), they said we can go in as the room was ready. The hotel itself was a beautiful, small, intimate and beautifully decorated boutique hotel at a very good location (only 7 min walk to Weclas square and a 2 min. travel by tram and/or metro to all the major attractions). The rooms were small but sufficient for a couple like us who needed only a place to sleep. The bathroom was very clean and comfy, towels were changed every day (although the sheets were changed onky every other day). Breakfast was a rich buffet that consisted of omletts and cold-cuts, various granolas to choose from, pastries, various hot and cold drinks and even a special bread for toast and a toaster! Everything was delicious and once again the atmosphere was warm and intimate.
Great stay, will definitely recommend everybody :)

Room Tip: We followed the advice of others here on the site and asked the travel agency to give us a room not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel is fine. It's clean, the rooms are of decent size and it is quite central. The problem, unfortunately, has to do with the guests. A lot of tourists, particularly American tourists, seem to make this hotel their home base for drunken vacations. I was staying there with several business colleagues on different floors and we all experienced the same situation. The staff is overwhelmingly nice at the hotel and they are certainly not to be blamed. I'm not quite sure what could be done about it, but it is something to consider.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Antik for 2 nights in October. As we found special offer the price was really atractive in comparison to other hotels. Hotel Antik is located few steps from metro station and in walking distance from Vaclavske Namesti. It's a charming boutique hotel with nice decor. The room was big enough and clean with comfortable bed. The only inconvenience was a bathroom that would need some refreshment. The shower was too small. The breakfast was varied enough to find sth for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antik City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antik City

Address: Mala Stepanska 13 | Praha 2, Prague 12000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 666 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antik City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Antik City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antik City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.