We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stefanik Observatory

Stefanik Observatory
Petrin, 205, Prague 1 CZm, Czech Republic
+420 2 5732 0540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 1,243 things to do in Prague
Attraction details
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

There are good and bad points to the observatory, the staff are friendly and approach you to give you information, show you the telescopes and explain exactly what it is you're looking at, the price is low and there are fun little experiments you can do. Finding the observatories is the tricky part, as the doors were left closed with no sign as to whether we could go up or if it was 'staff only', there is a lot of information which gets too much by the end, the presentation of the information was quite amateur. Overall i did enjoy my experience and would have more so if i was in the mood to have read through more of the information and take in what it was telling me.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“History and science mix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

when i decided to visit Stefanik's observatory, i was a bit reluctant to climb the hill in the dark. No mistake there, the area is not lit as darkness is required for stargazing. Fortunately you can go up via the funicular (last stop) and the observatory is just a minute away on the left side of the stop.
the observatory has two telescope arrays: a pair of refractors and one reflector. i was lucky enough to catch a few minutes viewing the rings of saturn despite a cloudy evening.
aside from the telescopes, the observatory houses a small museum of astronomical instruments, an area dedicated to interactive optics experiments as well as a history of astronomical prague (mainly mentioning tycho brahe).
all in all a great time for stargazers.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I hadn't been in the observatory for a few years and could not remember much about it so was pleasantly surprised when I returned. The price was very reasonable (55CK) and all the staff spoke very good English and were extremely helpful and happy to answer all my questions. We went on a sunny day so were able to look through the telescopes to the sun spots and also managed to look at Venus. There was a member of staff at each telescope who talked each visitor through what they were looking at in great detail. The exhibits all had English translations as well and there were a few hands-on activities at the end. It was interesting to see how much I would weigh on different planets! I would definitely recommend spending some time in here on a visit to Petrin, though it is probably better when the weather is good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Paid 55kc each for entry and got lots for the money. We were practically the only people there for an hour so got personal tour. Got to see both the telescopes. Unfortunately it was wet and cloudy so they were focused onto the Perrin tower. But had it been nice they show you sun spots. They all speak English and the exhibits all duel language. Great little place to learn and spend an hour. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
1,329 reviews 1,329 reviews
1,120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
788 helpful votes 788 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a tiny and run-down observatory on Petřín hill.
It offers VERY little activities (especially for kids) and with unsteady opening hours you might as well give it a miss.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stefanik Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Stefanik Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stefanik Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.